We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Black Hills Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Hills Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 91: English reviews
Start your review of Black Hills Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

Gotta remember what you are paying!! Clean rooms at a super price. Sometimes half of what just a super 8 charges. Breakfast good. One of the few hotels that have a pool in the area. Will stay again. It is on the trolley route as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianmasset
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

Hotel was ok beds were very uncomfortable. The pool was not very clean and hot tub was not very hot more like warm. The rooms are extremely small and can hear everything but staff was very nice. The scenery was absolutely beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review

The rooms with two beds are OK for two people or a couple with a couple younger children. Many times with four adults, the rooms do seem small and oftentimes we do not recommend for four adults. The pool is cleaned daily or more often if necessary. During slow times, the hot tub does take a half an hour or...

Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

If you are on a very tight budget this might work. The rooms are small but clean. The beds are very uncomfortable. There was not a flat screen tv in our room. The showers are extremely small. The downtown shuttle does make it to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review

The Black Hills Inn and Suites generally has some of the lowest rates in the Deadwood market area. Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms being clean. The comfort of the beds is a personal preference. Many people like a firmer mattress, which most of our beds have. The trolley service has been erratic the last couple years due...

Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

Called to make them aware of the posibility of bed bugs, something bit me, more than one night and more than one time. They were instantly defensive, and i was told not to spread that information. I looked up Bed Bugs everything fits, without going back and catching them I can not be sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had an unfortunate experience while touring the Black Hills on your motorcycle. Unfortunately your assessment is incorrect since we have people that live and work at the hotel and have not seen or been bothered. More likely your bites were the result of something that got into your clothing while you were on your bike....

Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

Clean, no-frills hotel. Friendly service, simple breakfast and simple rooms. Perfect place to stay if you're only in your room to sleep/shower. 2-3 minutes ride/drive to downtown Deadwood. Didn't try (or even look at) pool area, so can't comment on that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigha K
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

Rooms were 2 double beds and extremely small! There was bugs in the bathroom by the pool. The pool was not monitored by the cameras because our sons witnessed two people being intimate in the pool... Very disappointed!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Not sure how you were able to tell there were bugs in the bathroom because our cameras showed that your son did not even go in the bathroom. Also, not sure how your son could have seen someone being intimate in the hot tub when from his position from camera footage showed he could not have even seen the hot...

Prince Albert, Canada
Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

Great service! Staff was friendly and very helpful. Rooms were nice and well taken care of. Hotel is secluded and quiet while still being a close enough traveling distance :) my family will be back again this year!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacie T
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed February 8, 2016 via mobile

The room was small, beds were not comfortable and breakfast was just some cereal. It was not worth the money. I should have spent the extra $30 and stayed somewhere else. The rooms could use an upgrade as they are very old looking. They even still have old style tv's. Not a place to stay more than a night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marvin N
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Rooms with a single Queen are adequate and compare to others of same type, rooms with two beds are OK for two people or a couple with one or two younger children. We do not generally recommend for three or four adults and that is what we tell folks who call to make reservations. Continental breakfast is at least 3...

Reviewed January 24, 2016 via mobile

What a terrible experience. Here's a list of reasons I'll never stay again: mold in shower, unable to control heat setting, there was no one at the front desk all night, beds are hard, sheets are so old they're see through, pillows are flat, only 1 electrical outlet worked in this tiny room, ceiling was falling down, broken vending, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carleen H
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hotel is dated but is kept clean. No mold in showers, all electrical outlets work. Many small hotels do not have 24 hour coverage at the front desk. Vending machines were recently changed and updated. Your review is grossly exaggerated.

Gillette, Wyoming
Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

Nice place, but very outdated. Friendly staff, nice small pool area. Bed bugs were bad as the old spiderwebs in each room. My reservations were never received, but good thing there was an open room. Not a big breakfast, just cereal, toast, bagels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MendozaVal
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.6 mi away
Thunder Cove Hotel
Thunder Cove Hotel
#21 of 24 in Deadwood
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Deadwood Dick's
Deadwood Dick's
#20 of 24 in Deadwood
240 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
#19 of 24 in Deadwood
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Hills Inn & Suites is a motel located in Deadwood, SD. For easy access to Downtown Deadwood, Casinos, Fine Dining and Historical Sites, the Deadwood Trolley offers service. The Black Hills Inn & Suites offers a Free Continental Breakfast, Complimentary WiFi with Internet access, a heated Indoor Swimming Pool and Hot Tub and a computer for Guest use. The Black Hills Inn & Suites offers clean, quiet rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Hills Inn & Suites

Address: 206 Mountain Shadow Lane, Highway 385 South, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: $41 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hills Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Black Hills Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hills Hotel Deadwood
Black Hills Inn And Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Black Hills Inn & Suites staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Black Hills Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The best view might well be the rooms near the bridge and stream. One can open the bedroom windows and listen to the stream running by.”
 of 5 bubbles dorans433, Sep 23, 2015 | Read review
“don't book a room here”
 of 5 bubbles midnite46, Nov 3, 2014 | Read review
“Choose a room in a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 29catherinem, Jul 16, 2014 | Read review
“Noise is not noticed even in bike week”
 of 5 bubbles 774terryw, Jan 29, 2014 | Read review
“There isn't really a bad room and what's great is that it is entirely NON SMOKING.”
 of 5 bubbles ValerieS531, Sep 27, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question