We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
MN
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

We were arriving at hotel very late on a Friday night, actually ended up being early Sat morning. When I called to let them know this so they didn't give our room away, the front desk lady asked if we would like a late check out.....that was very thoughtful & appreciated. My kids were thankful for the late checkout, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MnRichfam
ManagementBrookings, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, we have a polite staff and want all of our guests to feel welcome. We will address the issue with the lifeguards, thank you for letting us know. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, and we look forward to you staying with us again...

Chattanooga, TN
Reviewed August 9, 2016

Our children LOVED the indoor water slide and welcome cookies in the lobby. I loved doing laundry while they swam. Breakfast was above average with a great variety of hot and cold selections and fruit. Our room was comfortable and clean. I have no complaints and would gladly stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TN20something
ManagementBrookings, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this review

Wow, we love that your family had such a great stay with us, and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. If your in this area again we do hope you'll stay with us again.

Lake Preston, South Dakota
Reviewed July 4, 2016

This is a wonderful Holiday Inn Express. We are spire elite members and so we stay in Holiday Inn Express hotels often through out the year. We had a family get together occasion at this facility and we were over the top impressed with their customer service. Melissa as manager is so willing to help with any guest's needs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gamajackson
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Not sure if this is because the hotel is renovating, but we got a room with no refrigerator, no microwave, no usb ports to charge our devices and found out too late that the water slide has very limited hours. We overpaid for the amenities we received.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiggerstripes
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this review

Dear Tiggerstripes, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We apologize you were not fully satisfied with the room accommodation during your stay. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations...

Lenoir City, Tennessee
Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile

I was visiting my son in Brookings and stayed overnight at the HIE. I did not have reservations but was able to walk in and get a room with two queen beds. Had no problem and the registration process. The room was clean. (There is a bit of wear and tear in a few areas in the hall but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky J
Pine City, Minnesota
Reviewed November 23, 2015

Hotel lived up to the Holiday Inn standards, clean room/bathroom, comfortable beds, nice pillows, hot shower. We didn't need more than that. Staff was pleasant and room was quiet. Didn't use the pool so no comment on that, just needed to add characters to meet the 200 minimum for the review.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
North Dakota
Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

Breakfast was different than other places I have stayed. The cinnamon rolls were warm and weren't scary in a plastic wrapper like at other places. They also had a pancake machine. One reviewer said there was no bagels but I saw them. The bathroom needs a fan. Fans are good for noise cancellation because you can hear things through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LilofromND
Herrin, Illinois
Reviewed September 9, 2015

Hotel is very convenient for visiting the area. Staff is very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was very good. Room met our needs and was very clean and comfortable. Did not use pool area, but it looked great with large water slide!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mw5five
Memphis, Texas
Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile

We stopped off at Brookings at Holiday inn express. We stayed there because they had a waterslide. Beds were great and the rooms were nice The pool was a little small but the slide great the only problem is my seven year old couldn't ride it because he was two inches too short (required height 48 inches) and no exceptions....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
Calmar
Reviewed August 2, 2015

I had a 2nd floor room; furnishings neat and clean. I was pleased that the refrigerator was quiet; I've had rooms where they are annoyingly loud. Bed very comfortable. Lobby area cheerful. Check in fast and staff very polite and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcia O
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brookings hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brookings
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings
0.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Brookings, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Brookings
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#7 of 9 in Brookings
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Brookings
Days Inn Brookings
#8 of 9 in Brookings
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come enjoy the beautiful Brookings Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located right off Interstate 29 at exit 132. Brookings, SD offers a small town environment with a big city feel. Brookings is home to South Dakota State University, Daktronics, 3M, Larson Mfg and Rainbow Play Systems. While in the area visit these local attractions: Swiftel Center, Larson Ice Center, McCrory Gardens, S.D. Art Museum, State Agricultural Heritage Museum and Laura Ingalls Wilder home- 1 hour from Brookings. After a long day of traveling let us find the perfect room for you. Whether you are looking for a standard room, a whirlpool suite or a business room featuring an over-sized desk, free high-speed Internet and a king size bed, let our friendly and professional staff assist you in finding a clean and comfortable room that will best suit you and your family. Enjoy your favorite television programs on our new 32' LCD televisions with cable HD channels. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool or slide down our 137' water slide, or reserve one of our whirlpool rooms for that special occasion. Our water slide is only open Friday evenings, Saturdays and Sundays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Address: 3020 Lefevre Dr, Brookings, SD 57006-4700
Location: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Price Range: $124 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brookings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brookings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brookings
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Brookings staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Always choose the top floor, backside away from traffic, away from elevator and ice/vending machines.”
 of 5 bubbles 353brucep, Nov 23, 2015 | Read review
“Has elevator mid hallway so rooms towards the ends are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles marciao409, Aug 2, 2015 | Read review
“Not the first floor by the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles DanielleDurham_NC, Feb 3, 2015 | Read review
“Get a room away from the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles vacationhound25, Dec 7, 2014 | Read review
“This area, right off the interstate, has a number of hotels. But the area is rather quiet and not much of a view. I think just about any room would be fine.”
 of 5 bubbles burnsomaha, Jun 21, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay