We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Red Roof Inn Sumter

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Sumter
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Centreville, VA, United States
Reviewed October 6, 2016

What the hotel website does not tell you is that the property is in the middle of an apparent rehab. This rehab is probably one of the most poorly executed projects that I have ever seen. Despite having 2 very distinctly separate buildings, the rooms that are being updated apparently have no rhyme or reason and both buildings are being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed March 16, 2016

It smelled like cigarette and mary jane smoke, it wasn't smoke free and had no air fresheners. The bath tub was filled with dust and what appeared to be ash.Which gave me an uneasy experience, the washrooms also smelt like old urine. There also blood on a counter in one of the rooms. Whatever you do don't stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam H
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I travel 45 of 52 weeks a year. This was one of the WORST hotel experiences I have EVER had. I had a reservation. I arrived after 10 pm, and had to conduct the transaction through a "Service Window". The person I talked with was friendly enough. Upon entering the room, I was IMMEDIATELY disappointed. The carpet looked so dingy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lady_woodworker
KJ B, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sumter, responded to this review

Dear lady_woodworker, Thank you for sharing your experience with us in 2014. My apologies for taking so long to respond. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently updating some of our rooms with new carpets and painting. Regarding the bug issue, we are located in the South and due to...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was one of the only hotels that allowed pets in Sumter without charging +$50 per pet so we decided to give it a try. The person in the main office was very nice. We got the last room on the bottom floor and it was a very nice room. Very clean and spacious. The only thing that my fiance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea L
KJ B, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sumter, responded to this review

Dear, customer I am so sorry your stay in our hotel not good . I am apology for this inconvenience . I was so happy if you let us know on front desk. So we could try solve our problem.Thank you very much sharing your thought Manager kj

BEECH CREEK
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Room was clean and comfy... Close to Shaw AFB and places to eat... Cant beat it for the price.. Was quiet, room was a non-smoking room and smelled great.. Front desk was helpful and courteous.. would recommend this motel to any traveler...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RUSSELL H
KJ B, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sumter, responded to this review

Dear Russell H, Thank you for sharing a traveler review on our site. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean and quiet rooms, friendly service, and great location. We hope that the next time you are in the area that you stay with us again! Regards, K.J.-GM Americas Best Value Inn and Suites-Sumter, SC

new york city ny
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel twice and the first time was not so bad but the second time was horrible. The people in the room next to me was loud and rude. I called the front desk and complained and finally they went over to speak to them. The noise quiet down which was good but the rooms are not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cherylNew York ... g
KJ B, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sumter, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl New York, On behalf of the staff and management of Americas Best Value Inn and Suites, I would like to personally apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay. Our #1 goal is to ensure that each and every one of our guests have a enjoyable experience. Unfortunately, we were not able to meet your expectations. If...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed May 8, 2012

For the money spent it was a nice stay. The breakfeast bar could have been better, but again like I said for the money spent it was not bad at all. Location was great you have acess to all the restarunts and the main hwys.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank odres
Management response:

Dear odres, Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location to several restaurants and clean/comfortable rooms. Should you ever return to the area, we would love the opportunity to serve you again. Regards, KJ-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Sumter, SC

Ridgeland, SC
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel in Sumter, SC. My first stay was excellent but I thought it was a fluke but they are the real deal !!!! The room was very clean, comfortable, modern. The bed and bedding was excellent, the air conditioner was top notched !!!! The front desk clerk (Family owned Business)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smthchlt29936
KJ B, Owner at Red Roof Inn Sumter, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed it and certainly look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you, Management

Sumter, South Carolina
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We recently moved to Sumter and needed a hotel to stay at for a few weeks that would accept a dog. This hotel offered a weekly rate but charged an additional $10 per night for the dog. I admit I did not request a non-smoking room but upon entering the room the stench was so bad it burned my lungs....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mycookie54457
KJ B, Owner at Red Roof Inn Sumter, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for sending us your comments regarding your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not make you happy. It is our policy that we charge every guest a pet fee of $10 per night. We have done some work to our property and hope you will give us another chance if you are in...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sumter hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Sumter
Hampton Inn Sumter
#1 of 19 in Sumter
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 19 in Sumter
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Sumter
Super 8 Sumter
#9 of 19 in Sumter
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 19 in Sumter
73 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sumter
2.8 mi away
Mount Vernon Inn
Mount Vernon Inn
#7 of 19 in Sumter
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located between I-20 and I-95 off of Highway 521 the Red Roof Inn Sumter is a budget friendly hotel for business and leisure travelers. Many shopping and eating opportunities are located within one mile including Sumter Mall and many restaurants. The hotel is also located nearby to many local attractions including Sumter Exhibition Center, the Sumter Opera House, Palmetto Park, Dillon Park, Crystal Lakes Golf Course and Swan Lake. The hotel is also just a short drive from Morris College, Sunset Country Club, Sumter Airport, Shaw Air Force Base, The Links at Lakewood, and Beech Creek Golf Club. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Sumter

Address: 1211 Camden Hwy, Sumter, SC 29153 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn and Suites)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Sumter
Price Range: $58 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Sumter 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Sumter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Sumter staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Filthy and unkept”
  • Blow dryer provided -- old and did not work. Dangerous condition of electrical outlet next to si
  • Condition of desk chair in our room. Worn and very dirty.
  • Condition of refrigerator and microwave -- refrig was not working on check in.
  • Newer sink and counter top, not cleaned at check in, I couldn't clean it myself either.
  • The sleeper sofa in our room.
  • Outlet above bathroom sink...
 of 5 bubbles 270valerieh, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
“A no smoking room.”
 of 5 bubbles 122liamh, Mar 16, 2016 | Read review
“Don't book one.”
 of 5 bubbles lady_woodworker, Jul 25, 2014 | Read review
“If you are just looking for a nice room no extras this is a good place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles odres, May 8, 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay