We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
114 Bradford Blvd, Santee, SC 29142-8931
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (42)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (5)

About

#5 of 15 hotels in Santee
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
3.9
Value
3.9

Clark's Inn is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Santee, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

In addition, as a valued Clark's Inn guest, you can enjoy a pool and free breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

While in Santee be sure to experience local oyster favorites at Captains Quarters, Clark's Inn and Restaurant, or Wilbur's Cocktails & Supper Club.

If you’re looking for something to do, Smith's Super Store (0.4 mi) is a nice way to spend some time, and it is within walking distance of Clarks Hotel.

Enjoy your stay in Santee!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
252Reviews10Q+A43Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 88
  • 83
  • 32
  • 22
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
PWR wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We travel between FL and MD often with our labrador. We typically stay at Best Western, Red Roof, etc. Our last overnight in Santee was wretched! This time, we thought we'd try Clark's Inn. Loved it!! We were in a separate building where pet people go. Clean, quaint, roomy, very pet friendly, nice walking area with bags provided, coffee in the room, and dinner in the restaurant was WAY better than our typical fast food in the room. Lovely dining room, glass of wine, wonderful fried chicken and roast chicken dinners, apple crisp and ice cream... 😋 The gift shop is a little pricey but beautiful. I did manage to purchase a couple of things. 😉 They are still not serving breakfast, but our bag to go was more than adequate - delicious apple muffin, apple, juice, granola bar. This is our place from now on! Sorry I didn't take more pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anthony R wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The food is overpriced, you get no rolls, bread, salad included with your dinner entree! Have eaten here many times before and we received great bread, cornbread, butter etc, this time nothing! I ordered seafood platter at $28.00 was not impressed with the taste! Would have rather gone to Cracker Barrel a walk away from the Clark’s Inn
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JD wrote a review Mar 2022
Lancaster, Pennsylvania8 contributions3 helpful votes
Clark's has always been the place we stayed and dined to/from FL. This stay will be our last. First, the room had an unpleasant odor. The ice maker was broken. No breakfast served, just a "go bag" full of junk food. Covid- I get it. But I think some businesses use it as excuse to cut services, yet raise prices. Spent close to $200 in restaurant for dinner, and they did not have any rolls to accompany salads. Food was mediocre, and very salty, for prices. Will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clark's Restaurant, General Manager at Clark's Inn
Responded Mar 15, 2022
I am very sorry that your stay at Clark's was not up to your standards. I would like for you to call the inn so we may investigate the room you stayed, because a report of an unpleasant odor was not brought to our attention and we certainly want to check that out. Our ice maker is not and has not been broken. The reason for a breakfast go bag is we are still unable to get enough workers to be able to serve breakfast and we are constantly working on trying to get more employees to work so that we can open for breakfast, we are certainly not the only business that is having this problem, it's on the local and national news daily about the labor shortage, so we are certainly not trying to make any excuses, it's just the facts. Did you alert your server that your food was not what you expected because it is our policy to certainly get our guest another dish of their choice if what they ordered was not what they expected. If you will call the inn and give us the information of which room and tell us what you ordered to eat so we can follow up on that as well. I'm very sorry for your experience, and would like to discuss this with your further. We certainly want our guest to be satisfied. I look forward to you calling and leaving us your number so we may discuss this further. When you call, please leave your name and telephone number that we may reach out to you. Thank you and we wish you safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alberta B wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My husband is handicapped, and we made reservations for a handicapped room. There were no accommodations in our room for him. We repeatedly called for a shower seat…! The office staff said, “ I have called, but we can’t get one!” Our last stay at The Clark’s Inn!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not book if you need handicapped accommodations!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Clark's Restaurant, General Manager at Clark's Inn
Responded Mar 8, 2022
I do apologize for this inconvenience. We are currently in the middle of a remodel and the chair could not be located. Please call the motel 803-854-2141 and leave a message and a member of the team will call you and make this situation right. During covid it was removed and most guests had been bringing their own stool. I do apologize and please call and we will certainly make it right. We hope you will try us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack O wrote a review Jan 2022
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania24 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked a room at this place. It was the worst experience we ever had! When we book our room, we asked for a king room which included breakfast for 2 people. The agent that booked our ro room said ok but they we no longer offering a breakfast at the restaurant. They would provide a bagged breakfast to go. We proceeded with the reservation. Cost $128.00 per night. We checked into the inn on Saturday 1/16. After the check-in was completed, she handed me 2 bags stating there were the included breakfasts. What a joke! In the bags we the following. An apple (which was tasteless), a pre-bought peanut butter cookie, a 6oz bottle of orange juice, and a store bought muffin! Totally ridiculous!!! They only provide in room coffee which was terrible! There web site made no mention about the fact that they had done away with the restaurant breakfast! I believe this is FALSE advertising! We went the two the restaurant for dinner. Our meals were good and the service was ok. We checked-out on Sunday 1/17 and continued on our trip. We looked into our credit card account and we reviewing our charges and saw the charge fir the hotel room. There was also an additional charge for $40.50. We did not recognize what this charge was for. I call the hotel and spoke to an agent to inquire about the charge. He asked us we has a pet. We did not. He asked if we ordered room service. We did not. He told me that he would have to refer this issue to the the hotel manager (Kitty) to review and took my phone number so he could leave a message for her to review and call me back. Later on that morning the agent called me back and said that he did had pulled our account and told me that the additional $40,50 was a charge at the restaurant bar. He additionally told me that it was signed for by Danny. Neither wife or myself are named Danny. I called again on Tuesday 1/19 to inquire about the status of the incorrect charge to our credit card and asked to speak to Kitty.. I was told she was not in. I asked when she would be available to discuss this issue. The agent told me that she did not know when she would be in. If she really does work there she very poor communication skills! This person is supposed to be the hotel manager! As of today Clarks Inn has not called us back. We would not ever stay at this hotel or dine at the restaurant again!!! I would not recommend this business to anyone! With all that is going on in the world regarding business needing customers, this type of customer service is very poor.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Don't stay here! Very poor service! Poor cable TV reception as well! Rooms were outdated!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clark's Restaurant, General Manager at Clark's Inn
Responded Mar 8, 2022
I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused, but this was investigated and a member of our team did call and let you know there was a hold put on your credit card that should have fallen off by now. Your bank is in control of that. However if the charge has not yet fallen off, please call the front desk at the inn 803--854-2141 and leave a message and we will track it down again and I will call the credit card company to call your bank and see what has happed. Please understand that our organization has people in places that you may not always receive a call from the manager but an appropriate team member may be handling your situation. Again I apologize.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DrLeoSpacemann wrote a review Jan 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Food was flavorless. Overcooked. The "pub" has no draft beer. US Foods/Sysco slop right off the truck, obviously no effort by staff to make the food enjoyable. It's edible, but prepare to be disappointed. The building, however, is beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
paula33129 wrote a review Dec 2021
Miami, Florida6 contributions
We were looking forward to an historic inn & meal featuring local cuisine. The hotel is borderline shabby & you get the free breakfast in a brown paper bag. Food is just okay/ tho the pecan pie is excellent. Better choice would be one of the newer motels nearby which feature prices nearly a half lower. If you're looking for charm have a drink at the bar. ..stay & eat elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clark's Restaurant, General Manager at Clark's Inn
Responded Dec 7, 2021
I am so sorry to hear that you did not like our inn or restaurant. We have remodeled all of our rooms at the hotel and actually going through them again to do more touch ups. We are not a chain and we like to decorate and furnish our rooms individually. Covid has done a number on all hospitality businesses and unfortunately we have not been able to get enough staff to be able to open for breakfast. I'm not sure what you had to eat at the restaurant, but if you could let me know what you had, I would like to follow up to see what the problem was. I'm sorry for your experience and we hope that you will try us again in the future. We do understand that we are not everyone's taste but we do have a very charming inn and restaurant.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adena wrote a review Oct 2021
Richmond, Virginia, United States48 contributions8 helpful votes
If you’re looking to stay at a modern style hotel, this is not the place for you. If you want to go back in time and experience old-time southern charm, this is the place for you. Each room has a different historical feel. Modern updates in the bathroom, LED TV, Mini refrigerator and coffee maker. Free Wi-Fi and standard electrical outlets to plug in your electrical devices. Wonderful restaurant, of the same name, owned by the same family, located next to the motel. A must for those who want a simple experience. Loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
debra w wrote a review Sep 2021
The Villages, Florida17 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed here 1 night with dogs. OK room however...musty smelling upon arriving. Old motel room setup, but good for walking dogs. Overpriced at $170 per night with pet fee. Plus, front desk mistakenly gave my room to another person checking in...around an hour after I checked in! Plus, the front desk re-keyed my room....so if would have been locked out of my room...if I had left my room! The other guest assigned my room...came into my room around 10 pm...and we both were shocked to see each other! Then...unfortunately....we had a hard time finding someone to help in giving out another room to the other guest...since the front desk had shut down for the night!! Finally...got owner of hotel on phone...who had front desk clerk return! Clerk was super apologetic...however, owner could have been more concerned on phone. After getting rooms straight...did not have a good night's sleep...wondering who was going to come in on me again! Never heard from hotel management the next day. Will not stay at this hotel again...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clark's Restaurant, General Manager at Clark's Inn
Responded Sep 23, 2021
We apologize for this incident. Unfortunately mistakes do happen. However, if you will send us an email at info@clarksinnandrestaurant.com we can get this incident correct. I'm so sorry this happened and we certainly want to make it right. We appreciate your business and want to earn your trust. Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelbug02818 wrote a review Aug 2021
Coventry, Rhode Island290 contributions124 helpful votes
Was passing through this area and am familiar with the restaurant, so thought it might be a good place to spend the night and have a meal. Well, the restaurant is still good, but when we went to the room, it smelled musty. I looked in the bathroom, and it may have been cleaned, but looked old, and the tub had rust in it. Decided not to stay here and would not return. There are plenty of newer, better hotels nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Clark's Restaurant, General Manager at Clark's Inn
Responded Sep 8, 2021
I am so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us. We are currently remodeling and upgrading all of our rooms and the property. I appreciate you letting us know and we would appreciate a second chance to earn your business. Thank you for your response.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
clarks hotel santee
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaSantee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clark's Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Clark's Inn?
Nearby attractions include Smith's Super Store (0.4 miles), Gabi's Attic Antiques & Uniques (0.4 miles), and Key Largo (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Clark's Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Clark's Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Clark's Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clark's Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thai House II, Captains Quarters, and Clark's Inn and Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clark's Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Clark's Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.08 miles away from the center of Santee.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clark's Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Is Clark's Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.