We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Charleston Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Charleston Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The entire hotel smelled of smoke, although we were on a non smoking floor. We had to keep the balcony door open most times, go out and purchase air freshner and wipes to clean the bathroom. Housekeeping did not have enough clean towels, both days of our stay not enough wash clothes... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SkegeeGirl
Faulk44, Public Relations Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire staff we are sincerely sadden that we failed you during your stay. I have reported your issues and complaints to the appropriate departments and will follow up on correcting these issues. Unfortunately some people smoke and the craziest thing don't want smoking rooms and will smoke in our undesignated areas. Our extreme apologies More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a night. Pictures from the website are deceiving. Didn't feel safe to park at this place. I asked for a non smoking room, first step into the door the room reeked of smoke. The sheets and pillows had stains and make up on them. The bathroom had hair and stains everywhere. I couldn't sleep that night and felt... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate A
Faulk44, Guest Relations Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are sadden that your stay was unsatisfactory we do strive to make our guest comfortable during their stay here. Unfortunately we can not move the hotel but we have been petitioning for the Mayor and congressman and Charleston officials to spend some money into the area to beautify it. I have forwarded this to the housekeeping department to correct... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

First walked in the hotel the staff was counting register so she didn't even look up to greet us waited a couple mins another staff member came over to help us I had reservations she gave me key went to the 7th floor the hall smelled awful well the key she gave me was a room that was already occupied... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bernadette L
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was full of people who call it home. It shouldn't be considered a hotel but rather low income housing. The hotel is right beside a grey hound station... We weren't even comfortable leaving our vehicle parked there. Worst Ever! We changed reservation and stayed at a different hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shesaruckus
Faulk44, Guest Relations Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff we don't rent rooms by the hour daily and weekly for contractors. We have 24hr surveillance cameras but have not had any problems over the yrs. Sorry you felt this way before giving us a chance More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Never made it beyond the lobby. Our plane was cancelled and I made a booking while still at the airport. We took the shuttle to the hotel and asked where we could eat lunch. The sign out front said they had a restaurant. They said that there were many places a few exits up the highway, we did not have... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Hazzan
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Hallways filthy. Room was disappointing. Old decor was not recently upgraded. We were On 7 floor, transformer apparently was hit by car. No power, no air. The stairways were totally blackened the emergency lights did not work. Oh and remember cousin vinny ? A train blowing his horn every 20 minutes. WORST hotel ever!!!! Should be Condemned don't believe the... More 

Helpful?
Thank slb4rat
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the night before we left on a cruise. Believe me when I say the hotel is not "grand". This is a seven-story hotel and one of the two elevators was not working. The sign taped on the nonworking elevator looked as though it had been there for sometime. The hallways were filthy.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank travelingsupremely
Faulk44, Director of Sales at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We did the "park and sail" package - stayed there the night before a cruise, and left our car there for the duration. Pros: the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room and the common areas were clean as a whistle, the bed was VERY comfortable (a rare compliment from me!) and the "park and sail" parking spot was... More 

Englewood
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Fleeing my campsite during a tropical storm, perhaps my requisites weren't very high, and arriving here, only a few yards from the interstate exit and next to the Greyhound terminal, I didn't expect much - North Charleston is not noted for charm - but the price was reasonable and downtown Charleston runs $200-$400 a night. I was very pleasantly surprised.... More 

Helpful?
Thank PriscillaNewJersey
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

We stayed in this hotel before our cruise. For the money it was ok. No problems with getting to the cruise ports. Neighborhood looks sketchy. It was hard to get in and out of. Ran out of breakfast food. If I can offer one piece of advice--make sure if you have anything to mail-mail it before you go. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank caseymimi2
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

We did the "park and sail" package - stayed there the night before a cruise, and left our car there for the duration. Pros: the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room and the common areas were clean as a whistle, the bed was VERY comfortable (a rare compliment from me!) and the "park and sail" parking spot was... More 

Helpful?
Thank low_ridin_lady
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#45 of 59 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn North Charleston
Quality Inn North Charleston
#37 of 59 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Charleston Inn
North Charleston Inn
#40 of 59 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge North Charleston
Econo Lodge North Charleston
#24 of 59 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
10.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#9 of 59 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,320 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#28 of 59 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charleston Grand Hotel (formerly Clarion) under new management and ownership is centrally located in the heart of North Charleston, SC. Just minutes away from Downtown Charleston and The North Charleston Coliseum, makes our hotel a very convenient choice. We offer you a variety of room choices and amenities. We take pride in great customer service to go along with an enjoyably comfortable stay. It is our goal to make sure that you leave happy. So if there is anything that we can do, please let us know. Thank you for making Charleston Grand Hotel your choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleston Grand Hotel

Address: 3640 Dorchester Rd, North Charleston, SC 29405-7569 (Formerly The Historic Grand Hotel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Price Range: $77 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Charleston Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel North Charleston
Clarion Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay