We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Myrtle Beach
Post
Inbox
Search

The Mermaid Inn

Save
5400 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2350
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripAdvisor$50
Trip.com
Orbitz.com$50
Travelocity$50
Hotels.com$50
Expedia.com$50
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (120)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (245)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
One of Myrtle Beach's Hotel gems, formally known as the Cherry Tree Inn, is reopening as The Mermaid Inn. This smaller ocean front hotel has undergone a complete makeover with all 57 rooms renovated to have either 2 Queen beds or 1 King bed with Queen size sleeper sofa. We are also offering beautifully decorated suites. All of our rooms have an ocean view and come with the essentials that you have come to expect. Each room is equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and 42" flat screen TV. The Mermaid Inn provides FREE local and long distance phone calls within the Continental US, as well as free wireless internet access for our guests. We have guest laundry facilities located on our property for our guest’s convenience.Whether you are enjoying the surf and sand, our large outdoor pool and deck, or strolling around the nearby ocean front park; our goal is that your stay with us be one of comfort and relaxation. Our location is close enough to the excitement of Myrtle Beach, yet far enough away to provide the relaxed vacation experience that you and your family has been looking forward to.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Beach
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Fax / photocopying
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Outdoor pool
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Family
274Reviews17Q+A65Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 124
  • 65
  • 35
  • 16
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The staff here were excellent. Facilities were ok. Right next to the public beach access. I doubt you're going to stay on the water for less money. There isn't an elevator and parking is very limited. That being said I would consider staying here again.
Read more
I was able to bring my dogs and was just steps from the beach. A small park and walking area was also just across the street. Clean and economical. Suited my needs for the trip. Staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely will stay again and bring my fur babies!
Read more
Got to our room and the bathroom hadn’t been cleaned. Second day same thing!!!! When I complained I was told maids had left for the day. She said that they sucked! Floors dirty made our feet black!!!!
Read more
Response from Smelton0311, General Manager at The Mermaid Inn
Responded Sep 12, 2019
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review about your stay, as we value all feedback good, or bad. We are very disappointed to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with us, as it's our goal to always provide a clean, comfortable, and relaxing environment for our guests. We hope that you except our sincere apologies for any inconvenience. We appreciate your business, and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Read more
This is the first experience and the last. We moved to two different room s. First Room dirty, Second room mold infested. Sarah towed m car that was parked in over flow parking because the parking decal fell down. I was in over flow parking, the only way you can enter there is with a room key. WTF. Im so furious if I don't get a call from the owner all hell is going to break loose. All rooms smell like mold. I had to put tissue in a large hole in wall. Phone did work, and first night no hot water. This place is a horrible they charge a 170 a night. DO Not STay here. Definitely stay away from room 210 black mold. And a broken coffee pot the glued the handle back together by the spout. I want all monies refunded. I will be contacting DHEC and every one else.
Read more
Response from Smelton0311, General Manager at The Mermaid Inn
Responded Sep 12, 2019
Melanie, I do appreciate all of our guests reviews. Honesty is a big part of accurate reviews. And I feel that I need to point out there are a few things that you have not mentioned. 1) The name of the guest on your reservation is not you. She came and talked to me about the problems with the rooms. I apologized to her many times and told her I had already sent maintenance to her room first thing when he came in to address her concerns. She then told me that she appreciated that and understood things happen and that we made it right by moving her. 2) Every guest is gave a parking decal upon check in. You are also told to put the decal somewhere where we can see it because towing is enforced (this policy is no different here than at any other hotel) because it is unfair to have people parked in our parking lot that do not have rooms with us because then our guests have no where to park. The guest who’s name was on the reservation came in and admitted that she knew the decal was tearing at the top where it attaches to the rear view mirror. Instead of putting it on the dash or coming into the office and having the front desk remake the parking decal (they are free) you chose to hang it up anyway because you said “I was tipsy and didn’t want to come in.” 3) Usually your comment about being able to access the overflow parking only with your room passes would be accurate, but as I told you per our phone conversation, this morning (because of our volume the previous night) the arm on our overflow parking was disabled. Because of the easy accessibility of being able to access it, there were cars that did not belong there and did not have reservations at our hotel. So I made the decision to tow the cars that did not belong and did not have our parking decals displayed where we were able to see them (as stated at check in) 4) Even through all that, I still was willing to work with you. I offered to pay half your towing bill. When you stated you wanted the money in cash, I told you that would not be feasible but I would refund half the money for the towing bill back to your card on file. The fact that you had lost your card while out drinking the previous night was not something that was my problem to solve for you. But I didn’t stop offering to help even after that. I then offered to give you and the name of the guest on the reservation a ride (from my own personal car) to the towing place to recover your vehicle. Now keep in mind, all of this I did without you having to ask me because I understand we all make mistakes and I sympathized with your situation. You seemed very grateful for the help offered to you and that was the last time I seen you 5) Upon you getting home, I was told by the front desk clerk that you called demanding ALL your money back and had made threats if you didn’t receive it. So I reached out to you and gave you the respect of letting you talk and finish without interruption. However, when I attempted to talk, you tried to cut me off, talk over me, get loud and rude with me and start threatening me and the hotel with what would happen if I didn’t give you what you wanted (a full refund) So I kindly told you to do what you needed to do and hung up because I refuse to be disrespected when I have been nothing but respectful to you and have went out of my way to help you. So I genuinely do apologize that you had a bad experience but being a guest with us, there are rules and regulations we stipulate for everyone and you are not an exception to those. And I will even attempt to try to talk to you again, as long as I am not yelled at or threatened.
Read more
We traveled from MO to SC for our daughter's Marine Corps graduation and booked this motel on the beach for 2 nights to celebrate together. There were 13 of us and we booked 2 suites and 1 room. They were clean, nicely appointed, no bugs, and a very friendly staff. It's a budget motel and it was plenty sufficient for our needs and on the beach. Literally walk out your room and to the beach. The staff seemed short handed because it took a bit to get towels or tissue paper but nothing that would be a reason to not visit again. We did have a shower knob issue and shower curtain rod that was loose and wouldn't hold the curtain in place, it could use some basic maintenance in the rooms. But overall for the price and location you can't lose. It's clean and the staff is friendly. Win win for us. We would visit again. Parking isn't difficult either, your given one parking tag per room and there is a gated overflow lot at the end of the motel. You have a smoking area at the end of the lot with seating available for smokers. There is a park for kids right across the lot as well. Several outdoor faucets for rinsing before going back to your room. Nice budget rooms on the beach.
Read more
Response from Smelton0311, General Manager at The Mermaid Inn
Responded Aug 21, 2019
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for such a monumental moment in life. We value and appreciate all our guests and hope to see you again sometime in the near future!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$57 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the cherry tree hotel myrtle beach, cherry tree hotel, cherry tree motel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Cherry Tree Inn
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaMyrtle Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Mermaid Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Mermaid Inn?
Nearby attractions include Treasure Island Mini Golf (0.5 miles), Art & Soul - An Artisan Gallery (0.4 miles), and Rainbow Harbor Shopping Center (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Mermaid Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Mermaid Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Mermaid Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Mermaid Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Mermaid Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Melting Pot, Ciao Restaurant, and Luigi's Trattoria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Mermaid Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Mermaid Inn?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Mermaid Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Mermaid Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Myrtle Beach Colored School Museum (3.2 miles).
Is The Mermaid Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.