We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carolina Tarheel Motel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Carolina Tarheel Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Put my mother in law up here for 3 nights. When she arrived the first night there were no towels in the room or toilet paper, she had to use her own tissues from her purse. When she tried to use the phone to call the desk , it didn't work. Only furniture in the room was the bed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank GreeneLantern
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

I want to apologize for the issues your mother experienced. I wish she had brought these concerns to my attention during her stay. The phone has since been replaced. We spray for pests monthly. The room your mother had is the same room pictured on Expedia. It has a king size bed, nightstand, and dresser. All of our televisions are... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

I stayed here for a weekend getaway and the price and location was perfect. It was not too expensive for it to only be 1 block from the beach. The room was very clean and also had a pool. It is family owned/operated and the staff was very helpful with must-see attractions in the area and hidden jewels only residents... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian W
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

My boyfriend and I decided at the last minute to stay here for a quick weekend getaway. The room was clean and the a/c was pumping out cool air. Our room was right in front of the pool so it was nice to walk out and jump right in the pool. The motel was walking distance to the beach and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kendra G
Dunnsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

It is a good hotel , good value,very clean rooms,close to all , i will stay there again when in Myrtle Beach,the staff is very friendly. it is worth saving the extra money from staying on the beach, it is across the street from the beach walking distance to the board walk, and restaurants,for a cheap get away it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chessiemaye
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

I am going to start with the positives here: my family (2 adults, 2 teens and 1 child) booked this motel for 2 night's arriving on July 9th. The room was basic but large, with 2 queen size beds and lots of space around them, a good size bathroom and a good size kitchen area and it was very clean.... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank SineadMc123
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the lack of a phone in the room. It is in the process of being resolved. We are currently working with our internet provider to increase our or wife's range and speed. More 

Banner Elk, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We had a nice stay at the Carolina Tarheel Motel. It is an older motel, but very clean, quiet and in a great location. Can't beat it for the price. The staff was friendly, the ac was cold and it had a family-friendly atmosphere. We will be staying again!

Helpful?
3 Thank Robin R
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do strive to maintain a family-friendly atmosphere, and we hope that you will return to see us again soon. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

Booked accomodation on Expedia, turned up & was told my booking was cancelled even though I had text & email confirmation from Expedia. The family run hotel had no rooms left, obviously got a better rate from a walk in....left stranded it cost us an extra $40US to find something else. Most of all he couldn't care less....DO NOT STAY... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Maria S
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

We would never cancel a reservation because we thought we could get a better rate from someone else. You had a text that confirmed that you made a reservation through Expedia. The hotel had not confirmed your reservation due to an issue with your credit card. I provided you with the cancellation letter through Expedia. It is unfair to say... More 

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Stockholm, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

To start off. . The tub drainer has paint over it to hide the rust Mirror cracked and peeling Room smells like chlorine Ac not properly installed(you can see outside from inside) TV is clearly broken and has a purple green fade to it Bedspread smelt like dirty laundry Office was not open for us to check in and get... More 

Helpful?
Thank pikagirlrose
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I wish you would have expressed these concerns with management while you were here. We do use bleach to clean the bathrooms, and it is possible that is the chlorine smell you referred to. I would also like to apologize if your room was not ready upon your arrival. We... More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After shopping weekly room rates for weeks I decided to stay at The Carolina Tarheel based on the price and location. My room including the refrigerator and microwave is spotless and my shower curtain is brand new. When I checked in my window air conditioning unit did not turn on. when I reported it to the Manager on Duty he... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank rtramfield
north carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

The big NO REFUND sign when we checked in should have warned me. But the price seemed reasonable. ($50 per night). I asked about the pool when we checked in because the sign said heated pool but the pool looked dirty. He said it wasn't open yet. I asked him did that make people change their minds he said the... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank penind41
CarolinaTarheelMB, owner at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

Not once did this guest come to management with any complaints. If they weren't satisfied when they checked into their room, they should have come right back to the office and explained why they were not content. They easily could have been moved to another room or given a refund. We have never denied a valid refund request. The pool... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Wave Rider Resort
Wave Rider Resort
#160 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#130 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Strand
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Stra...
#151 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mid Town Motor Inn
Mid Town Motor Inn
#106 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
3.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#135 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Carolina Tarheel is a small, quiet, family-owned motel located on the corner of 18th Avenue North and Withers Drive in downtown Myrtle Beach. We are within walking distance to the beach, restaurants, nightlife, a grocery store, and many other attractions. We offer rooms with one, two, or three beds. One parking space per room is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carolina Tarheel Motel

Address: 1801 Withers Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $71 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carolina Tarheel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Carolina Tarheel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Tarheel Hotel Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay