We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,971 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,957: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Compass Cove is a nice resort overall. Nice views of the beach even from side rooms. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. The only complaints we had were that the room smelled musty. I did receive an email prior to arrival inviting me to go ahead and check in to expedite time, which I did. Once we arrived I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank gini s
CompassCoveResort, General Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gini S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent trip to Compass Cove. We certainly appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve. We are working hard to improve our new app and express check and hope that you will notice the changes in 2017. I would also like to find... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at Compass Cove for 2 nights. The facility was ok. However, there's apparently a difference between ocean view and ocean front. If you want to see the ocean then you need to ask for ocean front because ocean view can leave you on the ground floor looking at a parking lot with a speck of ocean. After room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dean156
CompassCoveResort, General Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dean156, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay. You are absolutely correct regarding ocean front and ocean view. The ocean view rooms are on the side of the building while the ocean front rooms are located on the front of the building. I do apologize that you did not receive any toiletries after your... More 

East Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have been visiting Compass Cove since 2005 and it never disappoints. The staff is so friendly, from the maintenance crew to the front desk, they are all very friendly and respectful. My kids never complain about being bored because there is always something to do. This year on Saturday afternoons there was entertainment on the Schooner deck and they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pbartlett40
CompassCoveResort, General Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear pbartlett40, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. I certainly appreciate that you have been a long time guest and that you have chosen Compass Cove year after year. I look forward to seeing you during your next stay. More 

Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As always the compass cove is a great place to stay. We enjoyed the pools, the Crowe's nest. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only problem was with the Fun 'n Sun package they gave us a old brochure and the redemption code had been used and expired but the girls at the front desk helped get that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
CompassCoveResort, General Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie R, Thank you for taking the time to share your Compass Cove experience. We appreciate your many stays and look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank You again for choosing Compass Cove. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I wanted to say Thank you so much to the staff of Compass Cove for making our stay so wonderful. Everything was was clean and nice. The bed was one of the best beds I have ever stayed on in a motel. The pools and lazy river were great. Very easy access to the beach. This is the first time... More 

Helpful?
Thank DukeandBB
CompassCoveResort, General Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear DukeandBB, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. The staff certainly thanks you for your kind comments. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. Thank you again and we will see you soon. More 

Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
470 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice place came for family wedding. All but one guest couple stayed here. Lots for kids to do nice beach. Starbucks in lobby. Restaurant looked pointless line out the door almost all Saturday morning ok on Thursday and Friday parking ramps worked out well

Helpful?
Thank MikeJennyQ
CompassCoveResort, General Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear MikeJennyQ, Thank you for taking the time to review Compass Cove. We certainly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for letting us know about the line on Saturday. This feedback will allow us to make adjustments in the future. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We usually stay at compass cove's sister resort but it was full so we decided to try here. We stayed in the Mariner because we needed a 3 bedroom. After I booked I started to see lots of negative reviews and got really nervous. However, upon arrival the staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. I noticed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Drobertson412
CompassCoveResort, General Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Drobertson412, Thank you for staying with us for 9 days. We appreciate your feedback and are happy that everyone in your party had a good time. The property is certainly spread out, which does make us very unique. The many different areas make you feel like your in another hotel without ever leaving. Hopefully, this kept things new and... More 

Long Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Compass Cove Resort is clean, staff is friendly and it has everything we need. The Crows Nest was great for a quick drink and having a pub type dinner. Rose restauant had a great buffet breakfast and the food quaiity and choices were terrific.

Helpful?
Thank brucej84
CompassCoveResort, General Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear brucej84, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at Compass Cove. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have stayed at this resort several times, unfortunately this will be our last time. The room was filthy, blood on the sheets and bedskirt. Funiture was black and sticky from layer of filth. The tile floors appeared as though they had not been mopped in a while. Urine at the base of the toilet and the floor was filthy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fain731
CompassCoveResort, General Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Fain731, Thank you for staying at Compass Cove and sharing your experience. I certainly apologize that your stay was not up to standard. The guest is our number one priority and in this case, we let you down. I would like to speak about your experience further so that I can improve where we went wrong. Please contact me... More 

Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and just returned from a 3 night stay at Compass Cove. Based on some reviews we read, we were a bit apprehensive about the "quality" of the rooms at the resort. Based on our stay in Room 315 of the Schooner Building (low-rise cabanas closest to the beach), we were PLEASANTLY surprised. The room was pretty spacious with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte64
CompassCoveResort, General Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte64, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. The Cabana units have one of the best views on the beach. We certainly appreciate you staying with us for your first time in Myrtle Beach and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,328 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1301)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (228)
Viewed
Room/Suite (209)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (193)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (137)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (465)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,794 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#22 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,883 reviews
3.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,253 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $71 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay