We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wave Rider Resort

05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Wave Rider Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wave Rider Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Didnt feel very safe here at all.........plus its old dirty and run down........ plus its very far from all the attractions... i will not ever stay here again.... this place also has roaches and a duck in the pool.............

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wendy1973_12
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Everyone seemed nice but it was not the cleanest place. They had tile missing in the shower, the air unit is a window unit and you had to climb on a chair just to turn it on. We went to the beach and came back and they had sprayed the rooms with bug spray. In the outside hallway on the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shannon S
Longs, South Carolina
Reviewed May 30, 2014

dont waste your money on this hotel we reserved a bottom floor room non smoking room instead they put us in a 3rd floor smoking room the bed was broke the tv did not work under the bed was trash that had been there forever i had to clean the bathroom before we used it had no phone the front...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank stilletoqueen45
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Booked the room from booking.com. Used pictures and floor layouts on wave rider web site to book room. Room was nothing like layout. No phone,clock,stove,couch and had to get on counter to turn up a/c. No maid service. Don't waste your money.Wish I would of taken pictures.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank gmelvin
Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I am a moderate traveler and I have to say by far this was the worst Hotel experience EVER. First key did not work for room they had to cut a new key. Second there were no trash cans in room and no phone. And to top it off after cleaning service cleaned room. Got back to room, tub was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank msvikkie00
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Needed a last minute hotel for a marathon my wife was in. Picked up a coupon book at visitor center and for $35.00 per night we found this hotel. The room was comfortable with two beds and a kitchen right on the strip. It was an older hotel but the room we had appeared to have been updated recently. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mike5371
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had the BEST time at the Wave Rider! I am originally from Myrtle Beach and wanted a nice little getaway from the busy life and that's exactly what I got. The hotel and room was wonderful and the management was very helpful and nice as well. It wasn't very loud either which was nice for a peaceful relaxing couple days....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah L
Dunn, North Carolina
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great accommodations, price, and location. Management was very helpful in finding things to do with our children. Will be back. The weather had us locked in but they helped us find things for the kids to do and stay Happy! Happy! Happy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 947chuckt
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I wanted a place on the beach for this weekend and got the waverider which was pretty close to full so i called last week and got a nice small suite for the weekend for the two of us and had the indoor pool to . so we are enjoying it and the weather is getting better did the marathon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigolhog
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The price was ok but not worth staying here. The room was dirty, smelly and the shower looked like someone died in it. There were tons of cock roaches, the coffee maker, stove and microwave were so gross, so we ended up not using them at all. The bed was so gross that we had to put our own bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lil2eo
pgw9393, Guest Relations Manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review

I am the manager of the front desk of the Wave Rider Resort, I am so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay at the Wave Rider. Please note that all of our units at the Wave Rider are individually owned. I was unable to find where you had booked your room through the front desk...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#122 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
153 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#132 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#133 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#76 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
561 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#90 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wave Rider Resort offers plenty of family friendly amenities. The resort is conveniently located directly across the street from the beach along the popular Ocean Blvd strip. The amenities include large outdoor pool, indoor pool, kiddie pool, lazy river, shuffle board deck, kids swing sets, grilling areas, fitness center, convenience store and a media room when guests can access email from the privacy of a private office or wireless internet lobby area only. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wave Rider Resort

Address: 1600 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4697
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $77 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wave Rider Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wave Rider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wave Rider Hotel Myrtle Beach
Wave Rider Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Wave Rider Resort staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Wave Rider Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't stay. Go to another hotel.”
cgb6x, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“use a private owner”
491melissai, Mar 2, 2017 | Read review
“Stay in room 224. Don't stay in any of the rooms in the back of the building. There are some weird characters.”
mdefilip, Jan 18, 2017 | Read review
“Just a cross the street from the beach.”
nataliet808, Sep 14, 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the back are quieter cause they arent on the blvd.and you didnt hear the bikes as much.”
bigolhog, Jul 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates