We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Plaza Motel

Booking.com$65*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$81*
$65*
Great Deal
$81*
$81*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Plaza Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ocean Plaza Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 245: English reviews
Buffalo, New York, United States
Reviewed June 13, 2013

When we check inthe rug wasn't cleaned,paper behind toilet,crumbs on top of where the tv was,sheets had burn holes from cigarettes.Told girl @ front desk she told me I can change sheets told her she must be crazy...........Next day we were gone all day,came back to room to see it had never been touch.........girl @ front desk said she would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Greeklady44
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. It is not typical for housekeeping to be lacking in the services that you have mentioned in your complaint, however errors are...

Boone, North Carolina
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel was terrible and disgusting! The manager was extremely rude. When we first arrived we noticed a yellow stain on the sheets, then we found one dirty sock and underwear beside the bed, the water wouldn't drain in the toilet and the smell was awful. Needless to say we left as quick as we could. I also think if...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kira J
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. It is not typical for housekeeping to be lacking in the services that you have mentioned in your complaint, however errors are made and I’m...

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Took me a year and another 10 day vacation in Myrtle to write this review! Let me start out by saying this was an issue with booking of the hotel and one should be very careful wherever they are staying in Myrtle. Our Stay was May 11th/12th of 2012 not June 2012. Here is what occurred... Last year my wife,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Chris G
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the...

Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The location is great, price is even better. I plan on staying here every timei come to myrtle beach. Staff is helpful. Toilet stopped flushing and it was fixed within 3 minutes. 10 star rating from me

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aj316
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact...

Carthage, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our room was very clean!!! Beds were soft! Great prices! Close to everything! We're going back in July! I guess every once in a while you can splurge on a pricy,fancy hotel, but I would rather pay for a cheap, clean,ans safe hotel and be able to spend my hard earned money on fun attractions and great food!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact...

Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I travel a lot and am always looking for deals. I don't mind staying in an older hotel and know what comes with that. As long as the place is clean, i'm normally fine with the hotel. Any of my complaints individually would not have bothered me but my stay was so horrible that I could no longer look past...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisR156
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. It is not typical for housekeeping to be lacking in the services that you have mentioned in your complaint, however errors...

Vale, North Carolina
Reviewed April 9, 2013

When I first booked the hotel I read nothing but good things.. AFTER booking, I found a mixed variety of ratings. I enjoyed my stay there. The room was clean (other than the doors to the balcony needed to be cleaned). It smelled fresh. The bed was amazing- it's so soft. The pool was nice and those windows around the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vickie789
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. I have forward the couple complaints that you did have to the department heads....

SC
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wow--no need to return for real! As other have said, you get what you pay for. Obviously going during spring break was not the best idea. The hotel was packed, disgusting, loud and obnoxious. There was the loud teenagers all around, the ridiculous amounts of weed smell in the air, alcohol everywhere, inconsiderate neighbors, and a meth lab bust at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom0726
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. Unfortunately, we cannot control everyone’s actions. We do attempt to rectify any unsatisfactory situation as soon as it is discovered. I thank you for voicing...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We got checked in fine and the room was clean and neat so that was good. Maintenance came promptly and as is stated by others, Maid service does come but at random times with fresh towels, wash clothes, and empties trash. We were having a good time until out next to last day there....we were at a shopping outlet and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine W
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. We are an older property, and we do cater to an economy traveler offering the lowest rates we possibly can. I thank you for voicing...

Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The old saying you get what you pay for, well this it. The rates were good. The bed was hard and no one was at the front desk ever. The view was great, the room was clean, and both pools and hot tub was nice. If you want a place to stay that's cheep well this is it. I will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Crystal W
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. I have forward your concerns concerning front desk to the appropriate manager. If there...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#123 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#137 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
676 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#112 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#78 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
567 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#155 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
488 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#104 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Motel

Address: 1005 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4441
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $70 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Plaza Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Plaza Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#93 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ocean Plaza Motel staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Plaza Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ocean front 4th floor or higher”
SeneccaA, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“Ocean front, not the 7th floor as you have to walk up from the 6th to the 7th floor with your bags as the elevator does not go up that far”
133suzannes, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“Just don't stay here”
  • The lock to the room
  • Peeling paint
  • Outside of Room
nottien, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
“Cheap place to stay right on the beach, tv, in room phone and internet did not work at all”
travlnsls67, Jul 17, 2016 | Read review
“Had free wifi that didn't work”
dirtyjeep13, Jun 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$65* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$81
Orbitz.com$81
Hotwire.com$81
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates