We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cottages on Charleston Harbor

Save
Share
16 Patriots Point Rd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-4377
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (116)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 05/25/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 05/25/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 5 in Mount Pleasant
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
The Cottages on Charleston Harbor offer ten luxurious two-bedroom, three-bath Cottages with a full kitchen, living room and screened-in porch. Our guests' favorite feature at the Cottages on Charleston Harbor are the breathtaking vistas that include views of Fort Sumter, downtown Charleston and more in our nine harbor front Cottages. Guests find it hard to leave the rest and relaxation of their private porches and we don't blame them with incredible views and a relaxing rocking chair, or hammock, it's the perfect setting to enjoy a cup of coffee, take a nap, or enjoy dinner; water lapping just feet away surrounded by incredible views. With convenient access to downtown Charleston, guest also enjoy free parking and outstanding southern hospitality.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary tea
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Car hire
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Taxi service
Photo copier / fax In business center
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Oven
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
182Reviews4Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 141
  • 20
  • 10
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eric F wrote a review Nov 2021
Birmingham, Alabama16 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
If we could spend most of the time out on the porch and on the lawn, then this would be 5 stars. The Cottage is well decorated. albeit dated- this is fine. The issues arise when you further jump into the cleanliness. Upon arrival, there was dust, dead flies, and smudges of dirt or unknown stains throughout the unit. The bathroom light switches were particularly bad. I can live with primed and unpainted surfaces, but the real kicker is that the floors were filthy. Absolutely filthy. They turned our daughter's socks black after an hour of arrival. I went through 6 swiffer pads to no avail. We let management know the next morning after our arrival and hoped to come home to a unit that had been mopped after a day out in Charleston. Unfortunately, the floors are still filthy, the shower did not seemed to be cleaned from a previous guest and I am just lifting up heavy prayers on the cleanliness of everything else. We let management know of the situation and still they seemed to not be concerned. Hopefully, someone will take some initiative and put a good faith effort into cleaning this unit and providing a stay worth the money. UPDATE:After speaking to management, no one came to address issues. We still have dead flies, roach hatchlings and other debris spread throughout the filthy cottage. If you are concerned about relaxing in a sanitary space, please avoid. The fixtures are caked in dust, there seems to be a bit of mold growing in certain areas, the soap scum from previous guests still remains in the bathroom areas. We spoke with management again and they comped one night, which did not change the fact that we went three nights before any legitimate attempt at addressing any issue was made. They were surprisingly defensive and stated that floors were unsealed so they would stain your socks. We have unsealed floors at our personal home and are able to keep them clean. After being argumentative about the existence of filth, management hinted that we should let it go since she comped one night. All I would've appreciated was them sending someone to clean on the first day that we made them aware of the issues. if you are dead set on staying here, bring your own cleaning crew. The views are great and Charleston is too. I don't know if this is the treatment that most guests receive, but I know we stood out on one characteristic. I cannot imagine why sending a cleaning crew to address the issues was so difficult. On the penultimate day of our stay, they sent someone to "clean". The floors were a bit better, but all of the other issues remained. There also seemed to be some sort of dead animal under the fireplace section of the cottage. Proceed with caution. It was a wonderful location and I would love to stay there after an actual cleaning crew comes in.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jamie J wrote a review Jun 2021
Charleston, South Carolina23 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at the Cottages for our intimate wedding ceremony and dinner and don’t regret a thing! The venue is gorgeous – you have views of both the marsh and harbor, and sometimes have a small beach when the tide is out! Lisa and her team did a phenomenal job prepping the lawn area to make sure our day was picture perfect. The cottages themselves are timelessly homey while still providing that elevated “hotel” experience (I would absolutely recommending stay here over a beach house if I were visiting Charleston!). Being able to stay at our wedding venue location made our entire wedding party more relaxed and turned the wedding from just a one-day-event into a vacation. Note – they have two separate cottage lawns, so this venue can absolutely support bigger weddings if necessary, but we opted for the smaller of the two! Speaking as a local - this is truly a unique venue that provides an ambiance that you cannot get anywhere else in Charleston, and we’re so happy we had our wedding here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Stuckey, General Manager at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Thank you Jamie, it was an honor to be apart of your wedding day. It was a gorgeous event and we wish you both a lifetime of love and happiness!
Read more
Jason S wrote a review Jul 2020
Eagan, Minnesota48 contributions54 helpful votes
Nice cottage right on the water (not for swimming). Screened in poach for cabin 3 is huge with hammock, chairs; table. Master is big with good attached bathroom. Second bedroom much smaller, bathroom needs work. Whole place could use refreshing. No maid service because I’d COVID and unhelpful front desk. Pool is small and shallow. Location is handy.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Cabin 3 has great views.
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sean T wrote a review Jun 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We had to cancel our initial wedding plans due to covid, however we replanned and held a much, much smaller family ceremony at the Cottages in order to respect social distancing. The cottage was very clean and the view was amazing. We saw many dolphins, birds, and even an alligator out in the water! I would highly recommend staying at the cottages. The staff was very accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Stuckey, General Manager at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor
Responded Aug 13, 2020
Congratulations again! We are so glad we could help you both create a beautiful moment to be remembered for a lifetime. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Read more
TeriC123 wrote a review Nov 2019
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina22 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We just enjoyed a 3 night stay here at this beautiful cottage!! The cottage was so welcoming with a gorgeous view of the Charleston harbor. Breakfast was offered in the clubhouse with one warm breakfast item and the best coffee!! We can’t wait to plan our next trip!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
kabreland wrote a review Aug 2019
Sachse, Texas1 contribution3 helpful votes
We are sharing our experience to protect other couples from the despair and frustration we experienced. We booked our September 29, 2018 wedding at the Cottages on Charleston Harbor in February 2018. We live in Texas and were very excited about our destination wedding in Charleston! We contracted with the venue for more than $8,000 worth of accommodations, including the event space fee. We also signed a room block contract with the neighboring resort for our guests of $4,000. Our contract with the Cottages also required a catering commitment of $6,500 minimum and a tent rental fee of at least $1,000. We were fully committed to our wedding and this venue, to say the least. In August 2018, we discovered a national touring indie rock concert had been booked, a double-header, at the exact same time and 10 feet away from our wedding. There’s nothing keeping the neighboring property from throwing a carnival the day of your wedding. They had no written agreement in place, we had no legal opportunity to fight back. The “partnership” is extremely irresponsible. We were told that they would surely solve the situation and waited a full week before being informed that they would not move or cancel the concert. They were able to come up with a “solution” of shuttling our guests to the neighboring golf course for the reception… not sure how they were going to pull that off with 800+ concert guests milling around at the same time. We lost all trust in the Cottages and they released us from our contract. With 45 days left before our wedding, we moved everything to a new location. This entire scenario was a nightmare. And when we asked for $700 in reimbursement to cover a small portion of our costs for changing venues, they declined and blamed the neighboring venue. We were never reimbursed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa C, General Manager at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor
Responded Aug 29, 2019
While it is true The Charleston Harbor Resort did book a concert over your dates - I immediately started dialog with the general manager at the resort to see how this could have happened. There is an approval process for all of the events held at the resort, and events have to be permitted by the Town of Mt Pleasant and our property approving is part of the process. I contacted the town and no permit had been approved; and they were willing to deny the permit. I called you from my vacation and shared this information with you-This was ten days after we both found out about the event. Prior to me leaving you pushed that you wanted to cancel, I told you I was also working with the town and I asked you to wait a few more days. I called you from my vacation and told you the town would deny the permit. You did not want your wedding with us. We thoughtfully allowed you out of your contract . You still used our exclusive caterer. It did take longer than a week to get information from the town. But you did not have to move this event, you chose to move this event. In good faith, and so your wedding would be wonderful, we allowed you out of your contract and refunded all monies paid to us.
Read more
Katherine R wrote a review Apr 2019
New York City, New York15 contributions10 helpful votes
Beautiful views of Charleston harbor, sound of gentle waves lapping, tranquil, private, wonderful bird watching from the huge screened porch ( but the cushions on the wicker chairs were old and dirty) The cottage is very spacious... double height ceiling, 2 good sized bedrooms, 3 full baths.one handicapped accessible, efficient kitchen, fireplace. closet space galore.Perfect layout for two couples. Cottages 4,5, 6 have the best views. The service is a bit erratic but warm and welcoming. esp.Kim the concierge. You definitely need a car.. food delivery is poor, and the location on Patriots Pt. while lovely is a bit isolated. Breakfast was not much..too many pastries and sweets and everything was served on plastic.. I would skip it and make you own in your cottage. The pool is gorgeous, but it is not heated and it was too chilly in mid April to swim.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa C, General Manager at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor
Responded Apr 23, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We enjoyed having you and your husband stay as our guests. Our continental breakfast with one hot item also has a variety of yogurts, fresh fruit, cereals, hard boiled eggs, bagels and cream cheese as well as the pastries you mentioned. We did increase the available pastries the week of your stay because we were blessed to have many families on property that weekend. In our area, restaurant and take out food, is delivered by Grub Hub, Uber Eats and Door Dash. For our guests traveling without a car, personal car service is available to bring you to your desired designation. Our outdoor pool is not heated but is conveniently located adjacent to our hot tub, both overlooking Charleston Harbor. Lisa
Read more
Trisha S wrote a review Mar 2019
Brunswick, Georgia12 contributions3 helpful votes
Going to Charleston every year on business, I’ve stayed at many places. No more. The Cottages is my new go to place. Loved every moment of my down time here. A real vacation feel, even in the midst of work.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa C, General Manager at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor
Responded Mar 24, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your stay at The Cottages. I am delighted you were able to relax and enjoy our peaceful setting while having to go to work. Our cottages and fully screened porches are wonderful. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
renee_55092 wrote a review Mar 2019
Wyoming, Minnesota46 contributions11 helpful votes
Coming from a long cold winter in Minnesota this was like stepping into another world. Charming cottage , right on the water ,watching the ships come and go. Just a great setting. Kitchen has everything you should need if you want to cook . A nice continental breakfast. Concierge Aimee was very helpful with our tourist questions. Would definitely recommend . The cottages are close..we went mid March and it was quiet and didn’t see any “neighbors” so don’t know what it would be like when busier
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa C, General Manager at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor
Responded Mar 20, 2019
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. You did have guests right next door on one side and two cottages away on the other side. We are a charming, quiet retreat just minutes from downtown Charleston. And we had six of our ten cottages occupied during your stay. We hope you get a chance to come back soon.
Read more
Mike V. wrote a review Mar 2019
Birmingham, Michigan4 contributions1 helpful vote
We have been staying at the cottages for over 13 years. It is our "happy place" where we go to escape reality. Typically we go 2-3 times a year. Does that tell you something? It is so nice to have a hot breakfast every morning, cleaning service on a daily basis, a paper delivered to you door each morning and free parking. Another bonus is having a washer and dryer in every cottage. The have a variety of snacks out all the time. Even freshly baked cookies towards the end of the day. If by chance something needs fixing, it is taken care of right away. I consider the cottages to be the best of both worlds. You can spend the day in the city and come back to the cottages to relax. There is so much to do within walking distance of the cottages. You have the Yorktown, golfing, pool, hot tub, bikes, great walking, sailing, helicopter rides, sunset cruises and a good restaurant. But the best part are the cottages screened in porches right on the water. We can't say enough positives about the staff and their willingness to make your stay top notch.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa C, General Manager at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor
Responded Mar 11, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, it is always heartwarming to hear from our guests who have been here for years that you still look forward and enjoy your stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff this week. Have a great day.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$752 - $1,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the cottages on charleston harbor hotel mount pleasant, belvidere hotel mount pleasant
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Belvidere Club & Resort
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaMount Pleasant
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Cottages on Charleston Harbor
Which popular attractions are close to The Cottages on Charleston Harbor?
Nearby attractions include Nightly Spirits (1.5 miles), Charleston Historic Tours (1.7 miles), and Escape in 60 (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cottages on Charleston Harbor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Queology, Halls Chophouse, and Bitty & Beau's Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Cottages on Charleston Harbor?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Cottages on Charleston Harbor?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Church (1.7 miles), Nathaniel Russell House (1.8 miles), and McLeod Plantation Historic Site (4.3 miles).
Does The Cottages on Charleston Harbor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.