We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts

Save
Share
12 Kiawah Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5677
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (155)
Room & Suite (77)
Dining (1)

About

#1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Kiawah Island
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
3.5
Service
3.9
Value
3.4
Kiawah Island Golf Resort offer guests a choice of more than 500 villas and private homes ranging from one bedroom to eight bedrooms. Accommodations range from semidetached villa complexes to premier detached single-family houses. All offer stunning views of Kiawah Island Golf Resort's five golf courses, carefully preserved woodlands or the Atlantic Oceans. All offer guests access to the resort's world-class amenities and recreational opportunities, all contained within 10,000 acres of pristine barrier island habitat
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Beach
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Wifi
Tennis court
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
237Reviews1Q+A63Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 92
  • 48
  • 35
  • 24
  • 38
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
plava_laguna89 wrote a review Jul 2022
Atlanta, Georgia256 contributions139 helpful votes
Kiawah island is an interesting place. The entire island is a gated residential community on several golf courses. The condo rentals (villas) seem to be handled by two main companies, the Resort and Akers Ellis. Judging by these reviews the individual units are in various conditions. We lucked out and our Windswept Villa was an updated unit with new furniture and appliances, and a wonderful beachfront location. However, depending on which company you rent from, you may or may not get pool access (strictly enforced at community pools). This is not easy to figure out during the rental process so read the fine print before committing to a unit. There is also a pool at the Sanctuary hotel. You may also get credit for beach gear or bikes but this is of dubious value. The default rental company (vayk gear) is not very helpful if having problems or need to make changes. The bike trails were plentiful and well maintained and not busy. If you want to eat at a non-golf course restaurant, you have to leave the island. The one grocery store (Harris Teeter) is convenient and well stocked. There are also fruit & veg stands (try Rosebank Farms) just before the island entrance.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Carefully inspect the photos and read the fine print when renting a unit.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Lacey, Marketing at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear plava_laguna89. Many thanks for your recent visit to Kiawah Island, and thanks for your comment. It provides a good opportunity to clarify some points. First, pools and the fitness center at The Sanctuary are strictly reserved for Sanctuary guests. The hotel pools were designed to be able to accommodate hotel guests based in numbers, but are not large enough to accommodate non-hotel guests. Secondly, the resort pool complex and fitness center at Night Heron Park and the pool at West Beach are reserved for resort guests. The resort manages and acts as the rental agency for approximately 500 units ranging from one-bed room to 10-bedroom houses. Similarly to The Sanctuary, resort pools are not large enough to accommodate guests who rent through third parties, such as Akers Ellis. All other resort amenities (the tennis courts, dining, and, as you mention, the five resort courses are available to all. Thanks again for the very helpful review. I'm happy you enjoyed your time on the island, and we hope to welcome you back for a future visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KAB wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
When we booked a 3 bedroom villa on Kiawah (tied to the Sanctuary) we expected a certain level of accommodations. Our expectations were quickly diminished when we opened the villa door and hit with the mildew smell, warm temperature and stains all over the outdated carpet and furniture. We tried to switch to the resort but they were booked so we stuck it out for the 3 nights. We woke up early just to get out of the dirty villa surroundings and stayed outside on beach/property until we had to shower for dinners. Truly one of the worst places we have stayed. I would HIGHLY recommend looking at different options for your stay in Kiawah.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Hunter, Marketing at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear S4412QRkristenp, Many thanks for your recent visit with us. Thanks also for sharing your helpful feedback. One quick note for clarification: The Sanctuary hotel and Villas are separately managed and operated. The Villas are all privately owned (i.e., not owned by Kiawah Island Golf Resort, unlike The Sanctuary, which is). The resort simply acts as the rental and property management agency for the Villa units, each of which can vary depending on the individual owner. Despite that, I'm very sorry to hear about your experience in the unit you rented. Cleanliness should be be the very minimum of expectations. If you would please email me details on the precise unit you were in, I will be sure to bring it to the attention of property manage so these issues can be addressed: bryan_hunter@kiawahresort.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phil P wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I had a rough check in because the villa was not as expected. However the front desk agent Jonathan went above and beyond to get me into a new room (even at 2am). The manager Chris Jarrett then followed up the next morning to make everything right. Beautiful resort, great rooms (depending), but more importantly… Fantastic customer service!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Hunter, Marketing at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Responded Jun 27, 2022
Dear ppayne0711, Many thanks for your recent visit with us. Although I'm sorry the hear about the rocky start, I'm delighted to hear that our front desk staff robustly responded and were able to relocate you into alternative accommodations. Thank you particularly for mentioning Jonathan and Chris by name. I'll gladly pass along your compliments, which I know they will be delighted to receive. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
funwithfamilyVA wrote a review Apr 2022
Leesburg, Virginia107 contributions64 helpful votes
I read these reviews after we booked the villa and I was getting scared, but actually the place was pretty nice and right on the beach. I loved the convenience of the beach and all the great bike trails. The villa itself was comfortable and the area was very quiet and family oriented. It could have used a coat of paint and some new carpeting, but otherwise it was what to expect of a beach rental.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Hunter, Marketing at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Responded May 5, 2022
Dear funwithfamilyVA, Thank you very much for your recent visit with us. We were delighted to welcome you. And thanks for your feedback. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and particularly enjoyed the beach and our biking trails. Thanks again for the kind feedback, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan K wrote a review Apr 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
I reserved a premier labeled villa in Mariners Watch. I would not consider anything about the villa to be a premier-type property. I packed up and came home early just so I could enjoy my nicer appointed home. The villa needs updating. The following are some of the issues: sagging and stained sofa, broken wall clock in hallway, painting needed, dirty kitchen cabinets (I cleaned a few of them), old cabinets, chipped furniture, rusted bathroom fixtures, hair dryer that got so hot on the handle that I thought it was going to burn my hand, no doormat on the inside of entryway (sand incoming!), off balance refrigerator, spongy flooring, bathroom door that keeps closing on me while I'm at the vanity, bathroom exhaust fan filthy, hvac in closet needs cleaning, dark colored something above shower (possible mold?). I wish I had not wasted all of the money I paid on this villa since I could only handle one night of my stay. It was not someplace I wanted to be. I cannot recommend staying at a villa through the resort. Live and learn! I'd have been better off camping in my tent at one of the beautiful SC state parks on the coast.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Hunter, Marketing at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Responded Apr 15, 2022
Dear F2878SBsusank, I am very sorry to hear you encountered so many issues with the Villa unit you stayed in, and especially sorry to learn this compelled you to cut your visit short. I have sent the list of issues, which I very much appreciate you detailing, to Villa Maintenance so they can be addressed. Given the extent of issues you experienced with the unit, please private message me here so I can have the Villa manager contact you directly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EricD wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions
We (two couples) stayed at the two bedroom "villa" at 2265 Shipwatch Road April 3 - 7. The "villa" was a dump. We walked in and it smelled like industrial strength cleaning solution. Took 2 hours to clear out. The furniture, kitchen - all dated. One closet could barely be used because it was blocked by a bed. If you choose this "villa" make sure you pay a lot less than other Kiawah Island "villas". Its strengths - ocean view, close proximity to Cougar golf course/dining and town, strong water pressure from showers, and comfortable king size bed (as long as you are not taller than 6'3" because your feet will hit the bed board.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Hunter, Marketing at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Responded Apr 15, 2022
DearSpider033181, Thank you very much for your recent visit, and thanks very much for your valuable feedback. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort and exploring the island, but most sorry to hear you were disappointed in your accommodation. Please know that I have passed along your feedback to Villa management so they are aware. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you four back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marsha S wrote a review Dec 2021
Wilmington, North Carolina61 contributions15 helpful votes
Our first trip to Kiawah Island and a stay in a “premier”Villa at a 5 star resort. It left us completely underwhelmed. 2 bedroom, Lovely 4th floor ocean view place. It was clean but obviously dated and some of the furnishings had seen better days. Bathroom cabinets were mounted so high on the wall, a shorter person could only see the top of her head. My biggest complaints: not an extra blanket in the place, one bedroom closet could not be used to hang clothes because it was filled with junk, only 2 wine glasses in the cupboards, and broken coffee pot, (write up said premier properties have Keurig) mixer, and stove. The pass to use the walkway to the beach was hidden away in a drawer( found after having to go west village office) and the hallway door would not close without slamming (damage could be seen to the frame) as well as the door to one balcony not opening or closing easily. A large portion of this building is under renovation so maybe some of these items will be repaired, but in the meantime it’s a bit of “bait & switch”. Everyone we came in contact with were helpful and pleasant. Shuttle transportation was wonderful and all the restaurants were delicious and accommodating to outdoor dining, and Ofcourse The beach was the star of our stay! I will definitely not be recommending staying in this villa and after reading other reviews, which I should have done first, I would advise anyone to be very careful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Hunter, Marketing at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Responded Jan 3, 2022
Dear MarshaN0613, Many thanks for your recent visit with us and for your helpful feedback. I'm delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit, but I'm sorry to learn about your understandable frustrations. Thanks for sharing the feedback so I can alert Villa management to address the issues you cited. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PGAgolfpro94 wrote a review Dec 2021
New York City, New York20 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Was excited to stay at the Villas at Kiawah during Thanksgiving. The Villa is in need of some serous TLC and cleaning. I encountered roaches, cob webs, sink that wouldn’t drain, light bulbs out, mold in the shower and stains on the couch. I expected more from a Villa that I rented directly from the Kiawah Resort. Probably the worst part was the fact that I got a guest survey after my stay from the Resort and I gave them poor grades on most of the accommodations but never had anyone reach out to apologize for such a poor experience. If you go rent from VRBO and deal with the owner directly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Hunter, Marketing at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Responded Jan 3, 2022
Dear PGAgolfpro94, Many thanks for your recent visit with us. And thank you for your candid feedback. I'm sorry to hear about your experience -- perhaps most sorry that you did not receive a response back from anyone. Please know that I have shared your feedback directly with Villa management to ensure they are aware and can review with their entire staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sandy wrote a review Nov 2021
Seminole, Florida11 contributions22 helpful votes
We have been coming to Kiawah for the past 8 years. And the last 3 times the villas are absolutely gross to the point you can’t stay. We walked in on 9 Beach house and couldn’t get over how outdated it was But that was not the problem it was not cleaned at all. It is a pet friendly villa which you pay to have in fees So it should be deep cleaned after every pet, but house keeping is not cleaning at all due to they can only use what the owner provides for cleaning products( meaning what they have in unit Like vacuum and mops. I had to go buy cleaning products and spend my vacation cleaning due to manager stating they are at the mercy of the owners in what they clean and supply. The comforters were covered in hair as well as the sheets under it and the pillow cases. I asked for new bedding and all I got was sheets they couldn’t do comforter or blanket on top of sheets cause that is provided by owners. HELLO ITS COVID they need to be cleaned. I went and bought blanket to sleep with and threw the original bedding in a room we weren’t using. The furniture needs to be replaced uncomfortable as hell, sagging and dirty. Beds are so uncomfortable our backs were ripping in pain. They say there at the mercy of owners NO Kiawah needs to have a standard for owners to participate in the rental program. These villas condition reflects KIawah’s name. All they do is give you a very small credit cause they know you will use it at restaurants. Chris the hospitality manager does nothing to help he really needs more training on how to care about your customers experience. We absolutely love Kiawah itself but these villas are horrible the pictures are so outdated. The only positive was the view.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Hunter, Marketing at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Responded Nov 22, 2021
Dear osadclerk, First of all, thank you for your nearly one decade of being our loyal guest. Thanks also for sharing in detail the significant challenges you experienced during your past three visits, particularly your most recent. I completely empathize with your frustration. Please accept my sincere apologies. Rest assured that I have shared your feedback with the Villa General Manager so she can address the issues you experienced with maintenance, housekeeping and Villa management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
crouellette wrote a review Oct 2021
Easley, South Carolina85 contributions105 helpful votes
With Kiawah having the reputation that it does and with the award winning course with the PGA championship being played you would think that the resort would have high standards for the properties that it manages for the individual owners. This is not the case. Do not go to Kiawah and rent a villa expecting something nice. We were there for a work event and several people were complaining about how poor the interior of their villas are. Mine was no exception. The carpet is filthy, the furniture was very tired, the TVs are tiny and probably the first flat screens that ever came out. The kitchen utensils were lacking, the fridge had mold in the side, the porch was nasty… I could go on and on… I would not recommend using the Villas managed by the resort… I will also add that the service from the staff was not great, for getting logistical directions to trying to get bikes it was a mess. You could ask three people who work there the same question and get three different answers. Really just a very very poor experience. So bad I left a day early…
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan Hunter, Marketing at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Responded Oct 13, 2021
Dear crouellette, Thank you for your recent visit with us during your work event. I am extremely disappointed and sorry to hear about the conditions you and others in your group described in the accommodations we manage. If you have time and can recall, please let me know the precise unit you stayed in so I can share precise details with villa management. Please feel free to contact me directly: bryan_hunter@kiawahresort.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$283 - $757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
villas at kiawah island hotel kiawah island
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaKiawah Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
500
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts
Which popular attractions are close to Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts?
Nearby attractions include Kiawah Beachwalker Park (0.5 miles), Charleston Tea Garden (4.4 miles), and Kiawah Island (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jasmine Porch, Ocean Room at The Sanctuary, and Hege's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Villas at Kiawah Island Resorts have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.