We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (889)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (257)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Kiawah Island
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.1
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Forbes Five Star/ AAA Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly islands in the U.S. The resort features five golf courses, including The Ocean Course, host of the 1991 Ryder Cup and the 2012 and 2021 PGA Championship. Tennis Resorts Online perennially ranks the resort's Roy Barth Tennis Center as the world's best .
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Family
1,681Review47Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,302
  • 202
  • 77
  • 50
  • 50
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Visionary Traveler wrote a review Apr 15
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina335 contributions217 helpful votes
This is truly a special property. Our room was amazing. Our dinner in The Ocean Room was a gourmet dining experience. And it was a short ride to the golf course, where we also enjoyed an amazing meal. If you want a nice get-a-way, stay here and enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Betsy B wrote a review Apr 13
8 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed at the Sanctuary for 3 nights during spring break. Though it was too cold for the beach, our family loved the heated pools. The servers at the pool bar and restaurant were amazing and always made sure we had what we needed. There are so many activities on the island and we throughly enjoyed biking all the paths. The rooms were immaculately clean and a great size for our family of 3. We will definitely be back for another stay at The Sanctuary!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Self parking is very convenient and free of charge
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jeffrey D wrote a review Apr 7
long island164 contributions250 helpful votes
Can’t speak highly enough about my time at the Sanctuary. My wife and I were celebrating my birthday and our upcoming baby and the staff at the Sanctuary made sure there were little surprises for us. We had an ocean view room that was lovely and well appointed. And they had cupcakes and a fruit tray and a wonderful card watching for us. At dinner at jasmine porch, the hospitality continued with cards with hand drawn pictures and a complimentary dessert. The property is great. We rented bicycles, walked on the beach, got a round of golf in. The attention to detail was evident in virtually every aspect of our visit. Also, the piano player on Friday night was great. I wish they had live music every day. We will be back here again for a longer stay when our kids can enjoy the amenities too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Lacey, General Manager at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JeffreyD, Many thanks for choosing to celebrate your birthday and your babymoon with us. And thanks for the wonderful feedback. We are delighted to learn we were able to provide a memorable experience to mark both celebrations. All best wishes to you and your family, and we look forward to welcoming you and your entire crew back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KarenPNJ wrote a review Apr 1
NJ45 contributions41 helpful votes
My husband and I took a 3 night golf trip at The Sanctuary at the end of March. This was our third stay at the Hotel. We booked 3 rounds of golf. When we were not playing, our clubs were stored at The Sanctuary. Golf clubs are put out every morning in racks at the front entrance to the Hotel so they can be quickly loaded into vehicles. At tee off for our second round of golf, my husband discovered that the head of his Driver was detached from the shaft. He had played the previous day and there were no issues. There was no explanation for this to have occurred and his entire set of clubs is less than a year old. When we returned to the Hotel, he decided to discuss the broken club with the Hotel Manager. After the person at the front desk asked him if he had caused the club to break and he responded that he had not, the Customer Service Manager came out to speak with him and told him that when the golf clubs were being put into the storage room on the previous day, the heavy door into that area had closed on the golf bag causing the issue. The explanation for not telling him about this is that they did not know how to get in touch with him. So in addition to obviously making no attempt to track him down during his 3 night stay at the hotel, a decision was made to not even put a note on the actual golf bag asking him to come to the front desk so they could tell him what happened. The Hotel replaced the Driver and it was received less than a week after we returned home from our trip. Accidents do happen, but the way The Sanctuary handled this particular accident is very surprising. The Sanctuary is a 5 star hotel and there is an expectation of exceptional service. An acknowledgment of the lack of communication would have gone a long way - ie, a trinket from the gift shop, a $50 gift certificate to a lunch location, a scented candle, a Kiawah mug etc.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Lacey, General Manager at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear KarenPNJ, Many thanks for your recent return visit to The Sanctuary, as well as for your very helpful feedback. While I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience over all, I regret hearing about the breakdown in communication and follow-up regarding the damaged golf club. It is the ethos of the hotel to provide unsurpassed anticipatory service, so it is always disappointing to hear when we don't measure up to our own high standards. Please know I have shared your feedback with all managers and with staff to find out how the breakdown occurred and how we should have handled it, and will do in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amanda G wrote a review Mar 2024
Washington DC, District of Columbia14 contributions4 helpful votes
We loved absolutely everything about our stay at The Sanctuary. It truly is a sanctuary. We thoroughly enjoyed our room, the fitness center and friendly staff there, the lively valet and bellhop staff, the pleasant housekeeping staff, the helpful front desk and concierge staff, the delightful servers, and the miles of beach to take long walks on. But the highlight of our trip was the careful attention paid to my dietary needs. Executive Chef Matthew Firzgerald called me to inquire about my needs and communicated to each restaurant chef what I requested as a gf, sos-free vegan. I was worried about finding options at the steak house and seafood house but I arrived to each meal with my menu already planned for me. Each salad and entree was curated to my tastes and was nutritious, delicious, creative and colorful. Best fine dining we’ve had in the States! Thank you Chef! We plan to return to The Sanctuary often!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Lacey, General Manager at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear GreenQueen07, Many thanks for your recent visit. We're delighted to hear that you found it a true sanctuary. Thanks for especially noting the service provided by Chef Matt and the rest of our culinary team. We're always happy to accommodate any dietary needs or restrictions. I'll be sure to pass along your feedback to Chef Matt. We very much look forward to welcoming you all back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
run4ace wrote a review Mar 2024
Washington DC, District of Columbia41 contributions10 helpful votes
Amazing resort. Great service from the doorman to the staff at the pool and restaurants. The epitome of southern hospitality. Rooms were comfortable. One item to note is the bathrooms are not private. There is a shutter that opens to the room. The lobby is very much like an extended home. Sign your kids up for the kids club. They had a blast. Restaurants were great. Food was delicious. Parking was easy. Bring bug spray. Especially for the kids.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Lacey, General Manager at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear run4ace, Many thanks for your recent visit with us and for your helpful feedback. I'm happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your time, especially Camp Kiawah. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you all back for a future visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Venture729823 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Decided to try this famed place out on a Monday in the middle of February. What could go wrong? Everything. I called and left an answer on the conceirge desk (which NEVER answers) to book us at 6 pm. I leave my name and that I am staying but they never bother to book and now we have to wait to eat. Worse, even though the place is entirely empty, they book us in the worst "Ocean" view you could think--and that was after I complained and they moved us. You can feel the vibe--They just don't want to make people happy. The staff is train to ask perfunctory questions ("first time here?) but make no attempt to help.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Lacey, General Manager at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Responded Mar 6, 2024
Dear Venture729823, Many thanks for your recent visit and for your feedback. We are happy that when you made us aware of your dissatisfaction with your original room that we were able to move you to upgraded accommodations at no cost. I am also disappointed that the experience you describe does not reflect the high standard of service that we demand of our staff and for which we have been consistently given the highest marks by the world's leading independent authorities. I appreciate your feedback because it helps us in our efforts to constantly reflect, reevaluate and train to provide the very possible service to each guest we have the privilege to welcome through our doors.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
foxsc wrote a review Jan 2024
Blythewood, SC120 contributions93 helpful votes
We spent a fun weekend at the Sanctuary. It is a great hotel with delightful employees and a beautiful beach. One thing to be aware of, I did book through American Express (2nd year doing this), for some reason the hotel doesn’t see your past stays. At check in, I was asked have you ever stayed with us, ( we have been coming for the past 10 years), it was our anniversary, no acknowledgment. The jasmine Porch I booked direct and told them it was our Anniversary and they were wonderful. The Sanctuary is a real treat every year for us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Lacey, General Manager at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Responded Mar 6, 2024
Dear foxsc, Many thanks for your recent return visit. We're always delighted to welcome you back. Thanks also for the kind remarks and for taking the time to offer your valuable insight. Thank you for mentioning the American Express booking. Without going into an overly technical explanation, when guests book through American Express Travel it does not interface with our past-guest database, so we do not get any sort of alert, which is truly regrettable, nor does it transfer any notes regarding special occasions. I deeply regret it because these are the sorts of celebrations we like to be sure to go to extra steps to ensure we make the occasion extra special. This is a matter of which we are aware and are working to create a solution with American Express. When we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next, should you book through American Express Travel, I invite you to contact me directly to alert me of your visit and any special occasion you happen to be marking. bill_lacey@kiawahresort.com Thanks again, and we so look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
heather c wrote a review Jan 2024
8 contributions4 helpful votes
First time to Kiawah Island and stay at The Sanctuary. The island and beach and landscaping is wonderful - we loved the bike and walking trails. I was underwhelmed w/the hotel itself - specifically the service and Jasmine's Porch. To start - check in was bland. We booked through a travel agent so I knew our stay included premium benefits (resort credit, breakfast, upgrade etc). The woman didn't acknowledge any of this and also didn't tell us anything about the resort! nothing about wifi, any activities available, etc. It was like checking into the Holiday Inn. I later had to call down the room to find out about breakfast, bikes, wifi, and basic info. We then went to Jasmine's porch for dinner. I saw it gets good reviews so I was looking forward to it. Bummer. Menu was heavy. It was also very expensive - entrees averaging $55. And that did not go with the level of wait service we received our the ambiance (nice but like a upscale diner). Service: waiter was feinedly but never around. Plates just stayed on our table, long periods of waiting. Food was okay but certianly not for the price. In fact, I feel like management should be reaching out to me now that I recall that our dinner was $200 and that included only 1 glass of wine, 1 mocktail, 1 salad and 2 entrees. Waste of money and time. Last criticism - there's no coffee station so we paid $15 for 2 coffees and you have to pay bike rental fees, which should absolutely be complimentary for guests. Net net - it's a lovely, very grand hotel and listening to the waves at night is fab. But I didn't have a 5 star experience and I'm leaving frustrated.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Oceanview premium king is very nice - but your view and balcony is not ocean facing - so go for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Lacey, General Manager at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Responded Feb 7, 2024
Dear D4181TOheatherc, Many thanks for your recent visit with us and for your feedback. I'm disappointed to hear that you did not receive the level of Five-Star service that we strive to provide each guest and that we have been consistently recognized. A hallmark of our service to guest is anticipatory service. An example of that is to provide information regarding services and amenities you should have received from your booking through your respective travel agent. I'm sorry we failed in that regard, as well as in the slow service you reported at Jasmine Porch. I do appreciate you sharing your experience as it gives me an opportunity to provide it as a specific example -- a teaching opportunity -- to ensure our team members consistently provide the level of service we demand from everyone, myself included. I hope you will return and give us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service we pride ourselves on providing.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Neal C wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I stayed there for our anniversary, and everyone we encountered was kind. Especially enjoyed meeting with Gavin at the front desk. Herbert in the evening time was friendly too. Thank you for the expectational stay. We truly appreciated all the hospitality
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Lacey, General Manager at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Responded Dec 18, 2023
Dear Neal C, First, happy anniversary. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your important date with us. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you experienced our genuine hospitality. It means so much for you to acknowledge specific team members who delivered especially memorable service. I sincerely hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kiawah Island area.
PRICE RANGE
$763 - $1,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the sanctuary at kiawah island golf hotel kiawah island, sanctuary hotel kiawah island, the sanctuary kiawah island
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaKiawah Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
255
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SANCTUARY AT KIAWAH ISLAND GOLF RESORT - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (SC)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort?
Nearby attractions include Kiawah Beachwalker Park (2.2 miles), Freshfields Village (3.3 miles), and Night Heron Park (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jasmine Porch, The Ryder Cup Bar at Ocean Course Clubhouse, and Ocean Room at The Sanctuary.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Kiawah Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.