We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
2 Tanglewood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (129)
Room & Suite (47)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 02/17/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel
Updated 02/17/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 33 in Hilton Head
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.0
Value
3.9

Hilton Head Island, SC Hotel's Perfect Beach Location

Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island invites you to stay assured, play outdoors and relax with peace of mind at Coligny Beach & Plaza. Walk or take a trolley to the beach, shopping, dining, and entertainment. This Hilton Head hotel is centrally located off Forest Beach Drive; next to new Lowcountry Celebration Park.

Whether vacationing or staying for business, enjoy more value and first-rate southern hospitality at our 6-acre resort setting. Start your day with the Grab-N-Go Breakfast. Unwind at the Outdoor Pool and Sundeck. Workout in the Fitness Center. Stay in touch with the hotel's Business Center. Enjoy a local produce stand and bike rentals on the front lawn. Pet friendly hotel! Stay assured with IHG Clean Promise.

Championship golf is nearby at Heritage Golf Collection and Harbour Town Golf Links; home of RBC Heritage Tournament Presented by Boeing. Hit the Van Der Meer Tennis Center courts.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Kids stay free
Parking garage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Patio
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Hair dryer
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
371Reviews28Q+A67Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 143
  • 106
  • 61
  • 30
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
UMTerpVirginia wrote a review Apr 2022
Virginia424 contributions92 helpful votes
Elevators are an on-going problem and the reason I gave this property an average rating. On our first day as we were taking luggage to our room on the 5th floor the elevator fell and there was a big bang before the doors opened to our floor. We reported this to the hotel but there was no evidence that anything was done. Walking 6 floors (garage and 5 floors) every time was out of the question so we had to use the questionable "operating" elevator on occassion. There was no evidence of any elevator repair on the non-functioning elevator during our 8 night stay (see photo uploaded). I spoke to a maintenance person who said they hadn't seen the elevator repair people in 1 1/2 weeks. They even had a tour group that came in and about 30 people were waiting for the one elevator. My only other complaint is that someone was smoking a cigar on the balcony below ours. We had to go inside due to the smell/smoke. This is supposed to be a non-smoking property. The room was nice with nice shower supplies. No housekeeping so we had to empty our own trash. The building was obviously old but they did a good job of keeping things pretty clean. I liked the walk to the breakfast area but I could see how that could be a problem for some. The outside seating for breakfast was nice but I could see a problem with seating if it was raining as there was very little seating inside. The options for breakfast were good except for no cream cheese for bagels our entire stay? The walk to the beach is a bit far. We used a beach cart and it was a game changer. The park next door is nice and the location os great. I would recommend staying here once the elevator situation is resolved.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: May want to choose a lower floor if elevator is still not working. Be aware of the pet-friendly...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Island, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your most recent stay. As you know we are undergoing an Elevator modernization currently that will render two brand new Elevators that will be great for years to come. We are truly sorry that this was your experience with us and we cant wait to welcome you back after our modernization or when your travels bring you back to the island so that you can get the true experience and service we are known for. We strive to offer our guests quality service and comfort. I'm sorry that your experience with us didn't turn out well due to the Elevators. I have shared your sentiments with the management team for their reference. I trust they'll take the necessary actions to address this and ensure a better stay experience moving forward. I hope you will give us another chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Regards,
Read more
Laura W wrote a review Apr 2021
Grosse Pointe, United States2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This was the perfect hotel for us! All of the staff went over and beyond and exceeded our expectations! Room was clean and supplied us with everything we needed - micro and fridge included. Best part - was the location!!! A shuttle was provided but we opted to walk as everything was close by - beach, shopping, restaurants and bars. Great area for families - felt very safe. A great assortment offered for the breakfast and again the staff very helpful. Our room had a balcony with a lovely view of turtles and an alligator!! Would definitely stay again! Shout out to Kristin and Roberta for being so kind and accommodating!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: i loved my balcony!
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded Apr 27, 2021
Hello! We are honored you selected our hotel for your special occasion. Happy Belated Birthday!! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very excited to learn we met and succeeded your expectations for this birthday celebration. See you soon!
Read more
Nancy E L wrote a review Apr 2022
Toronto, Canada57 contributions64 helpful votes
Overall we had a good time here, BUT..... there are issues here. Pros. -Good location, close to coligny beach area....easy walk 5-10 minutes to everything. -lots of stores, restaurants nearby -rooms look just like the website BUT..... Cons. -rooms look just like the website, but this is a very old building and as such, things don't work like brand new. --sliding door to balcony is hard to open.. --door needs to be pulled tight to engage the lock.... --a little bit of mold in bathtub... --metal tidbits such as vents and fire sprinklers are rusty from salty air... --was in room 213, 2 queens. A little tight on space The actual address of the hotel is 10 Tanglewood and check-in and breakfast is at 2 Tanglewood. You have to walk 3-5 min in morning for breakfast. If you are expecting mid.level hotel, such as the newer Holiday Inn Express, Hampton inn, Drury, Fairfield etc, you will be disappointed. This would be a step down. Again, this is a very old building...I.m guessing 30-50 years old. It is as clean as a 50 year old building can be. For the price, and location, definitely worth it, but don't expect the best accommodations
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Island, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and thank you for the candid feedback that will help make our guest experience better for the nest traveler. I will share your comments with the proper department heads so we can rectify the issues at hand Our team's mission is to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in the city, Should your travels bring you back to the Island, we hope you stay with us again!
Read more
Michele F wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The room we booked was supposed to be queen beds but they put us in full beds instead. Bathroom shower was gross and tub faucet leaked and dripped constantly. The bathroom and sink was also separate. NO COMPLEMENTARY ITEMS. The door to our room and balcony didn't close properly as well. I hope you also dont care what temperature it is in your room because our ac unit certainly didn't. Staff at from desk were extremely unhelpful and unwilling to be of any use, had to fight with them about already paid for items like dinner vouchers and late/early check out times. Also breakfast was not in the same building as stay and nothing special.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Island, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We pride ourselves on our attention to detail, and we were sorry to learn that your experience was not a reflection of the high standards that are our goal. We’re sorry to learn of the experience's you mentioned and we’ll use it as a coaching topic with our team to ensure that it is not repeated. We’d love another chance to welcome you and further impress you. Kind regards,
Read more
Deborah T wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
The rooms are low $200’s during Spring break in HHI and we used points for our stay so paid $0 out of pocket. Consequently, our expectations were not high. Overall, it was an average - OK experience. Pros: -great location close to the beach and Coligny. All easily walkable -has a pool -complimentary breakfast -decent size under counter fridge in room -beds were ok with plenty of pillows Cons: -front desk and breakfast is separate by 1/4 mile from hotel building -rooms are beat up- rust build up on all metal items, old bathrooms, our toilet wasn’t working properly upon arrival, hand towel bar hanging from the wall not affixed on one side -no daily housekeeping including towel refresh, you have to find someone to give used towels to and get new towels -no TP in our room upon arrival -1 of 2 elevators operable. I’ve seen this in reviews for months now. They are supposedly upgrading the system. We saw no work happening. We were on the 4th floor so had some seriously long wait times.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: While elevator isn’t working, get a low floor room so you can walk easily to your room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Island, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience. We regret to hear that you had difficulties during your stay, and for this we would like to apologize. We have alerted the proper staff in order to bring a resolution to the issues reported. Please reach out to the hotel directly if you wish to speak about this further. We would love to restore your faith in the Holiday Inn Express of Hilton Head Island.
Read more
L Levine wrote a review Apr 2022
Springfield, Virginia8 contributions3 helpful votes
we enjoyed our stay here. The pool is nice and so is the breakfast. Its walking distance to everything, inluding the beach. People are super nice, rooms really nice! went in 2018 March, and I forgot to rate it then. I walked by it this year in April 2022 and it was just as nice!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Island, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for sharing the kind words about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island! We truly appreciate the feedback and will be sure to share it with our Team Members. We hope to see you back very soon! Warm regards,
Read more
Jay B wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
In an effort to have a recent review on record, I am writing this to let you know that a stay in this HIE from 3/25-3/28/2022 was JUST AS BAD as the prior posts that claim. While there may have been some worse stays at local mom-n-pop and TraveLodge type dives, this is by FAR the worst IHG property that I have EVER stayed in. I travel for a living and have stayed in HIE as well as other similar-grade hotels. This one is the worst in service and personal/interrelations with front-end people, and has the worst layout of any for breakfasts and fitness center (they are in a separate building from the residence rooms - by a few hundred feet - making breakfast and coffee about as inconvenient as none at all). Also, there are not enough parking spaces for all tenants - even if you include parking on the dirt places adjacent to the residence building. Recommendation: Stay somewhere "respectable" while on HHI. Worth the extra cost!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Island, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded Apr 11, 2022
Good afternoon Q1680WFjayb Thanks for the detailed review, We appreciate you choosing our resort for your visit to Hilton Head. We are truly sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience while on our property. We can assure you that we will be following up with our management team to address your concerns with the guestroom. Here our focus is on cultivating an enhanced experience for each of our guests. We hope you will accept our apologies for the inconveniences you encountered. I see this is your first contribution under this account but you mentioned a prior review as well. As the new GM I would love the opportunity to talk with you so I can work to formulate an action plan to put in place so that we can rectify these issues and ultimately correct them so that this is not the normal experience. You can reach me at 843.842.6662 at your convivence Thank you again for your candid review. Yours in Hospitality Kyle J. Reilly General Manager
Read more
Diana S wrote a review Mar 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Pros: Close to many restaurants, shopping and beach Kenny Bs restaurant about 200 yards away (so good!) Friendly staff Playground next door for kids No room cleaning but prompt in delivering the supplies we needed Good value Cons: Only 1 elevator working—the other is getting repaired. We expected long wait times but it wasn’t bad at all There is a short walk to get breakfast as check in and breakfast is in another building The room needs renovation —dirty stained carpet for example but there are signs saying renovations are coming We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Island, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded Apr 11, 2022
Diana S, Thank you so much for the review of our property and the surrounding area. Kenny B's is one of my gotos and very popular among the locals and travelers alike. We are undergoing an Elevator Modernization that will provide two brand new elevators in the end. We are all very excited for them. We also have plans to update our carpet and most soft goods. We hope to have that done when your travels bring you back to our area. Yours in Hospitality, Kyle J. Reilly General Manager
Read more
Kim B wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Better than what was expected. Staff was great! You really get what you pay for. Loved going on the balcony and getting fresh air. Hotel was close in walking distance could not ask for a better deal. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Island, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded Feb 17, 2022
Dear T369HFkimb, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience I will let all of our staff know the kind words you wrote about them. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed the fresh air balconies I personally love to look out over the Live Oaks, Spanish moss, and Palm trees to get the true essence of the Low Country. We hope that we are your hotel of choice when your travels bring you back to the Island. Yours in Hospitality, Kyle J. Reilly General Manager
Read more
marshalnk wrote a review Feb 2022
Lincoln, Nebraska294 contributions142 helpful votes
We arrived on January 29th for a one night stay. Sonia checked us in and was very pleasant. You check in one building and then go to the other building. Room was very clean. Bed was very comfortable and towels were of good quality. Liked the Watkins products in the shower. Sonia gave us the breakfast hours. We walked back to reception in the morning. We were impressed that plastic gloves were required which they provided and you wore a mask when getting your food. They had biscuits and gravy, turkey sausage scrambled eggs, cereal etc:. Renee kept every thing clean and greeted people. Forgot they also had yogurt and juice.. I was impressed when we returned after breakfast to our room that Samuel a maintenance man was vacuuming and saw that I had walker and unplugged vac rather than have me manuever around the cord. He was very goood in making sure that I was safe. Please let him know how much that was appreciated. They have nice park ideal for families with children adjacent to building. convenient location across the street from the ocean. Will refer clients to this place if they want this area. We used points for our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Island, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel
Responded Feb 17, 2022
Dear MarshaLnk, Thank you for your candid feedback and for taking the time to put into words your experience while staying with us here on the Island. Sonya's southern hospitality is one of a kind I will let her know the kind words you spoke about her. We pride ourselves on our customer service and cleanliness. It will be a pleasure to share your experience with Rene, Samuel, and the rest of the staff so everyone strives to give the same experience to every guest that stays with us. We cant wait to welcome you, your friends, and or family back anytime you find yourselves traveling to the Island. Yours in Hospitality, Kyle J. Reilly General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$160 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn south forest beach hotel hilton head, comfort inn hilton head, hilton head comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Inn South Forest Beach
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaHilton Head
NUMBER OF ROOMS
153
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Coligny Beach (0.2 miles), Black Market Minerals (0.3 miles), and Tiki Hut (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kenny B's French Quarter Cafe, Southern Coney & Breakfast, and The Frozen MOO.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.