We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island

Save
Share
2 Tanglewood Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6244
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
HIExpress.com
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (98)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (20)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 09/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Updated 09/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 31 hotels in Hilton Head
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our resort style hotel offers 153 rooms with either a King Bed or 2 Queen Beds and many rooms additionally have sleeper sofas. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig Coffee Machine, Iron/Ironing board, free Wifi, additional plugs for electronic devices, 49" Flat Screen TVs, Programmable in room Safe, individually controlled air conditioning and heat, telephone and a radio alarm clock. Fully ADA compliant rooms are available upon request. Check in at our newly renovated Registration building just off South Forest Beach Drive and then just a short drive to the rooms building overlooking our wildlife lagoon and pool. Our entire complex is just a short stroll to Hilton Head's famous beach, Coligny Plaza with its shops and restaurants, the BiLo Plaza, and Van der Meer Tennis Center. Located just 45 minutes from Savannah Hilton Head International airport, 20 minutes from the Tanger Outlets and 15 minutes from Hilton Head Island Airport. We look forward to welcoming you.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Kids stay free
Parking garage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
327Reviews23Q+A60Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 127
  • 97
  • 54
  • 27
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Heidi wrote a review Sep 7
7 contributions1 helpful vote
We were happy to find a room on short notice for the Labor Day weekend. However, I now know why the hotel had rooms available... The sink and shower was not clean and the general cleanliness of the room showed that a thorough deep clean has not been done recently. Granted, we slept in the ‘pet wing’ because we had our own pet with us, and were happy to pay extra because we appreciate the need for deep cleaning when pets stay over. However, I’m not sure what the money will be used for. I will contact the facility with more specific feedback (including to recommend Sonia at reception for such excellent service!) but I will definitely not recommend this place to friends.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Responded 1 week ago
Heidigoesplaces thank you for your sincere review of your recent stay at our hotel. Feedback like yours is extremely important to us. We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. We would very much like to discuss your feedback further, and we do appreciate this opportunity. If you are able to reach out to Sonia or Kyle our general manager at 843-842-6662 or provide contact information to us to call you to info@hiexhiltonheadisland.com, we would gladly do so. We look forward to the opportunity to addressing your specific issues. We strive to meet every guest's expectation, and when we fall short we want to make it right. We sincerely apologize you did not enjoy your stay. We are truly pleased Sonia our front desk supervisor provided excellent service to you. Your remarks are well noted.
Read more
Mike Denton wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
My family and I stayed here on our vacation to Hilton Head. The staff was amazing. Very friendly. They had family movie night by the pool and other activitys. Not very far from the beach. My family and I had a great time and will visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are very pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed our southern hospitality and guest activities. The entire Island Express Team thanks you for staying with us. Look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Sherry C wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Breakfast is not normal due to COVID-19 and I have stayed at 10 different Holiday Inns since it hit and none bad like this. There are 2 women at breakfast and you tell them what you want. They act like you are taking for their personal food. A teen boy was in front of me and asked for 2 omlets, sausages, and biscuits. She gave him one of everything he asked for instead of 2 and she acted offended when he asked for what he ordered. Their attitudes are offensive and not the southern hospitality normal for Hilton Head. I felt bad for him and told him his parents paid for his breakfast and to keep asking to get what he wanted. He asked 3 times for 2 milks. Ridiculous! This is a nonsmoking property but everyone smokes outside the doors including employees. I stayed here because I have asthma and am highly allergic to cigarette smoke and it can trigger an attack. If you party this is the place to stay because the staff members don't care! Bring you own cleaners because the rooms are dirty. The carpets in the rooms are nasty. The pool area is the best part of the property. It's very clean and has plenty of room on the surrounding deck. The beach is a 8 minute ride away not walk. It is a 30 minute walk.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Responded Aug 18, 2020
Sherry C, we want to thank you for your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to provide an exceptional guest experience, it's apparent, in this case, we fell short. We pride ourselves on our southern hospitality and how you felt at breakfast is not the normal experience. We are truly sorry you were offended for yourself and another guest. We appreciate your loyalty and knowledge of our brand. Thank you for staying at IHG hotels when you travel. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that breakfast will be a pleasant and plentiful experience, your room will be to your liking and there will not be smoking. We want you to enjoy the experience that so many of our guests have grown fond of.
Read more
Genni F wrote a review Aug 2020
Gilberts, Illinois101 contributions20 helpful votes
Our first time here at this hotel and and traveling during a pandemic was nerve wracking. The hotel is clean and the rooms for a family of 5 spacious enough for sleeping and relaxing. 2 double beds abs a pull out sofa and comfortable. They provided J.R.Watkins toiletries in bulk supply on the shower wall. We had an in room refrigerator microwave and keurig coffee machine. We had access to a pool which was perfect and a great big patio section that had a grill if you needed one. We can walk to Coligney Plaza which has access to the restaurants shopping and a grocery store.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Responded Aug 12, 2020
This pleases us greatly to hear! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the property close to all your activities. It is nice to have all the in room amenities and an option to grill out. The pool and sundeck do have plenty of space to relax or play a game of ping pong. We certainly hope to see you again in the future. We will be waiting.
Read more
Kevin J wrote a review Jun 2020
Augusta, Georgia139 contributions204 helpful votes
I had some issues with our stay and the GM Kyle was so polite and accommodating. He definitely turned my disposition around and was very informative about the COVID protocols they have to follow for service and breakfast. Thank you Kyle, rockstar service!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from StaySalty_HIEXHHI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Responded Jun 22, 2020
Thank you very much for taking the time to send us the feedback. We are certainly are glad to know you were assisted with outstanding service. We hope to see you soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$140 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn south forest beach hotel hilton head, comfort inn hilton head, hilton head comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Inn South Forest Beach
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaHilton Head
NUMBER OF ROOMS
153
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island?
Nearby attractions include Coligny Beach (0.2 miles), Coligny Beach Park (0.3 miles), and Tiki Hut (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crave by Daniel's, Kenny B's French Quarter Cafe, and The Frozen MOO.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.