We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Newley renovated rooms was very nice. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Very close to beach access and stores. Awesome pool area with lots of seating. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Helpful?
Thank David H
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Clean rooms but decor resembled that of a college dorm. Hallway carpets very dirty though. Breakfast was terrible!! Milk for cereal was curdled. Bacon I had to dispose in my napkin. Was nice and close to the beach and Coligny!!

Helpful?
Thank Gail T
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised when we entered our room. The decor is modern and the room looked meticulously clean. The beds were so comfy, the view from our balcony was pretty and even though the room is small it was perfect for our family of 4. There was a sofa bed and 2 queen beds. The price was great and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JojoM2002
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Welcoming staff. We stayed here 5 days and 4 nights. Our room overlooking the pool and lagoon was a nice view. The room with patio (no chairs outside) was nice with comfortable bed, flat screen TV, plenty of storage and clean throughout. The walk to breakfast was fine. Location offered free newspaper, daily housekeeping, outside pool, picnic tables, fitness center,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yum4tum
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stay 5 day on Hilton head Sc very good for every thing especially for the beach very clean ,water very warm ,and lots of beaches then you can pick . Very close from hotel park is free . I loved there maybe i will go back .

Helpful?
Thank Leo N
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 4 days, it took some getting used to the 'resort' setup, it's easy to get turned around driving or walking. The room was a bit small but adequate, beds firm but comfy, very different storage, some angular structures built on the wall for hanging items and some drawers and a narrow wardrobe closet, but beach hotels tend to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Myrts78
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time staying at a Holiday Inn Express..Stayed here for the weekend.. Great hotel.I would definitely recommend to anyone in the Hilton Head area..Short walk to the beach but they also offer a free shuttle to the beach and plaza.. The room was fully renovated...Breakfast was the typical continental style..Nothing to bragg about..But definitely a good choice for the price..

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we made a good impression for your first Holiday Inn Express stay! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back! Kind regards, Linda More 

Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a terrible experience. First of all, it's not on the beach like it said. The hotel itself has no lobby and no sign as to where check-in is. We drove around and then walked around in a pitch black maze looking for what was a separate building to finally, finally get our room. The girl at the desk was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank photobugave
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Dear Photobugave, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience here with us. We are aware that some online maps direct guests to the rooms building and not the registration building - we are working on getting that changed as well as looking to improve the signage. Thank you for your comments to reiterate the need for clearer... More 

soiuth Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The reviews I read did not meet my expectations of the hotel. The hotel is very old, the check in area drab and dull, the room is the outside entrance much like a motel and to have a cup of coffee we had to walk a little distance to the detached restaurant, which was just as disappointing. It was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank taylorsgh1
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Dear Taylorsgh1, We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Having just completed a full renovation with a new and modern feel, it comes as quite a surprise that you found us to be drab and dull. We do have open air corridors, however, a key is required to enter the building in order to use... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are currently staying at this hotel for 3 nights. Tonight is our last night and so far it has been an amazing experience. I was really worried because some of the negative reviews but our experience has been nothing but pleasant. There is a $10 service fee added to your bill when you check out but I knew this... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank northgawraps
Linda P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor World. We look forward to welcoming you back to our little island paradise! Kind regards, Linda Prosser Director of Sales More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#17 of 28 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#16 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our resort style hotel offers 153 rooms with either a King Bed or 2 Queen Beds and many rooms additionally have sleeper sofas. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig Coffee Machine, Iron/Ironing board, free Wifi, additional plugs for electronic devices, 49" Flat Screen TVs, Programmable in room Safe, individually controlled air conditioning and heat, telephone and a radio alarm clock. Fully ADA compliant rooms are available upon request. Check in at our newly renovated Registration building just off South Forest Beach Drive and then just a short drive to the rooms building overlooking our wildlife lagoon and pool. Our entire complex is just a short stroll to Hilton Head's famous beach, Coligny Plaza with its shops and restaurants, the BiLo Plaza, and Van der Meer Tennis Center. Located just 45 minutes from Savannah Hilton Head International airport, 20 minutes from the Tanger Outlets and 15 minutes from Hilton Head Island Airport. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island

Address: 2 Tanglewood Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6244 (Formerly Quality Inn South Forest Beach)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Price Range: $109 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Forest Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Comfort Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Comfort Inn
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay