We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Save
Share
130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
16 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$249
Priceline$249
eDreams$249
Trip.com$254
Prestigia.com$249
Orbitz.com$249
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1703)
Room & Suite (435)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 04/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Updated 04/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 31 hotels in Hilton Head
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island.
Read more
Room & Suite (435)435
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English
3,939Reviews180Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,927
  • 704
  • 207
  • 70
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LoriK wrote a review Apr 18
Fort Lauderdale, Florida2 contributions2 helpful votes
Didn’t know much about what to expect at Sonesta Resort on Hilton Head Island because this was our first time visiting! Upon our arrival, Derrick at the front desk was so welcoming and friendly. Planned our trip around RBC Heritage Golf Tournament and our wedding anniversary. Derrick upgraded our room to an executive suite on our final night at the hotel! Because of the exceptional service and amenities , we just booked another stay at Sonesta for Memorial Day weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Travel L wrote a review Feb 2021
Macomb, Michigan51 contributions12 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We truly LOVE this resort, and while we’ve stayed at other hotels on the island.... this place just feels like home!! (But with much better weather and a WAY better view! ☀️) The front desk staff are extremely helpful and go above and beyond to make your stay special. We are always made to feel welcome upon arrival and always thanked for returning to the resort. (Extra points for that one- great customer service) Some standout ‘amenities’/reasons that separate the Sonesta from the other resorts on the island (in my opinion).... *Location, location, location! This resort has it! You’re close to so many great attractions. *The Grounds! They’re so beautifully maintained and you’re in your own little nature preserve when you’re here. Pool is great too! *Spacious and nicely appointed rooms; you won’t feel cramped! Stunning views, (we’ve stayed in ocean view, ocean horizon view and king corner ocean view). Rooms have a good sized, furnished balcony or patio, the most comfortable bed, coastal decor and are very clean! *Bayley’s Bar! Everyone loves a good lobby bar, right!? If you do... you’ll be pleased with this one...lovely views and lots of space for indoor/outdoor seating, great craft cocktails/small bites and friendly service. *Multiple dining options (due to COVID, options are much more limited, but we’re still happy). When in full swing, there are four restaurants, plus a coffee bar. *Arum Spa! Aaahhhh....,Best massage and facial I’ve had on the island. Hope, the spa manager is wonderful and they have great nail techs there too! Treat yourself to a visit here if you’re on the island. *World class tennis connected to the resort (Huge perk for my husband) Want to make some great memories on HHI.... book your stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe Bradley, Guest Services / Front Office at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Responded Feb 11, 2021
Dear TravelL, Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay! We are so appreciative of the great comments and feedback that are going to help fellow travelers. Thank you for recognizing our staff, especially Hope! We can't wait to see you again soon! Stay safe. Sinerely, Chloe Bradley Front Office Manager
Read more
Elizabeth wrote a review Apr 14
Dallas, Texas4 contributions
My experience was Awesome! We got married and they sent a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to our room. Nice touch! The room was very spacious and had a great view. Its in an area where you can walk or bike to a destination.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Heather C wrote a review Apr 13
Greenville, South Carolina10 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
This was one of the worst hotel experiences. First, there is a door between rooms that allowed you to hear the neighbors conversations. The balcony was entirely concrete so it echoed. The shower and sink did not look like they were cleaned. There were stains on the floor and ceilings. The hallway smelled like marijuana. We went down to the front desk, but were not helped. We were just told there was nothing that could be done that day and we would have to wait until the next day. We were not going to sleep in a dirty room and we couldn't sleep listening to the loud neighbors, so we left after just a few hours. We WILL NOT be staying at the Sonesta EVER again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe Bradley, Guest Services / Front Office at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Responded 1 week ago
Good morning Ms. Conard, I have tried to reach out to you regarding your stay. As you can see with our positive reviews, our Front Desk certainly does help our guests out and tries to rectify any issues if possible. We were sold out the days you were booked so if we did not have another room at the time, then we apologize for any inconvenience caused but we do our best to accommodate you accordingly. We are a non smoking property and take any claims to smoking very seriously. We have refunded you for your nights as you did not stay and hope that we can speak regarding your attempted visit. Please reach out to me at 843-842-2400. Chloe Bradley Front Office Manager Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Read more
Emily P. wrote a review Apr 9
Copenhagen, Denmark20 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed at the sonesta this past week for the first time and had a first rate A+ experience, largely in part to their accommodating and wonderful staff - and great beach location and lovely pool! One of our children recently had an unexpected surgery and we kept our reservation even uncertain how all would work out- when we let their team know, Ms. Megan (front desk) and Dominique were uber welcoming and made sure we were comfortable and the kids were happy upon arrival - they went above and beyond, and it was noticed and appreciated. Also our friend “Superstar” Damian at the Sweet Cane pool bar and grill took great care of us all week so we could relax and enjoy - always a smile on his face - it was refreshing and again we are so glad we kept our reservations to come and enjoy this lovely property. Five star customer service all around. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$182 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza hilton head island beach hotel hilton head, hilton head crowne plaza
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaHilton Head
NUMBER OF ROOMS
340
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Which popular attractions are close to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island?
Nearby attractions include Comedy Magic Cabaret (1.3 miles), Hilton Head Island Bike Trails (1.6 miles), and Hilton Head Outfitters (1.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sno Cones by Chris, The Jazz Corner, and Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Zion Cemetery and Baynard Mausoleum (3.8 miles).