The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Ocean View-Westin Hilton Head...amazing!
Traveler (1675)
Room & Suite (483)
Carolina Cafe at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Dining (98)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Tue, May 28
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 5 left at
$539
Fully refundable before Tue, May 28
No prepayment needed
$539
$492
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#4 of 9 resorts in Hilton Head
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located on the white sands of the Atlantic Ocean, The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa boasts a renewing wellness experience in a beachfront setting. Our seaside hotel in Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, features modern design and coastal elements accompanied by revitalizing and relaxing amenities. Enjoy the inspired amenities available at our resort, including private beach access and three beautiful swimming pools. Join us for an unforgettable dining experience at our resort's signature on-site restaurants, or enjoy a refreshing cocktail at our poolside bar & grill. Our versatile indoor & outdoor event venues are the ideal location for your next seaside meeting, wedding, or social gathering. Enjoy newly-renovated Ocean View guest rooms & suites, including the Ocean View King, Ocean View Queen/Queen, Carolina King Suite Ocean View, and Vice Presidential Suite!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

Two Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Hilton Head Airport
Savannah-Hilton Head Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,723 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled on a picturesque beachfront, The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa is lauded for its ample amenities, including renovated rooms, multiple swimming pools, and direct beach access. Guests have called out the beauty and convenience of its location, ideal for both events and leisure. Despite the commendations for friendly service and a tranquil atmosphere, some guests have experienced service delays and noise disturbances. The value proposition has been questioned by many, with concerns about high costs and unmet luxury expectations. Cleanliness, however, consistently receives high marks, although there's room for improvement in maintaining certain areas.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Mixed
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Pristine
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
2,723Reviews142Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,493
  • 637
  • 311
  • 150
  • 132
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CLEken wrote a review Feb 2023
cleveland, United States376 contributions100 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Westin Hilton Head Resort is the finest property I stay in…. It is consistently the cleanest… nicest…most accommodating…resort …. Perfectly located on the Ocean in Hilton Head the Westin offers outstanding accommodations.. and has recently been upgraded and refreshed… The rooms are spacious…extremely clean and modern…and this property offers the perfect place for families, couples, business meetings or weddings..

The staff at the Westin truly cares, and tries to make your stay memorable… The restaurants offer wonderfully prepared meals and offerings…and the entire staff truly cares….

The pool is magnificent…and the access to the ocean and beach is just a quick walk from your room..to the pool area..to the ocean… all in just a few steps….

I have been a Marriott Lifetime Titanium Guest for many years and spend over 100 nights each year in different cities and properties..and in my opinion…The Westin Hilton Head Resort is absolutely the “BEST of the BEST” … I would highly recommend the Westin Hilton Head Resort…it is the place to stay in Hilton Head… You will love it!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded Feb 6, 2023
Dear CLEken, Thank you for staying with us and for being a valued Marriott Lifetime Titanium Elite member. Whether you are here for a relaxing weekend away or a family adventure, our resort offers something for everyone with three beautiful pools, private beach access, and other refreshing amenities and we are glad you enjoyed it. We are also happy you loved our well-kept property, guestrooms, and attentive service. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to you will choose The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa whenever your travels bring you to our island. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vacationlover08 wrote a review Jul 2020
Boston, MA14 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were expecting a challenging time with COVID, but still took the leap of faith to take a vacation. The resort staff was clearly stressed by the rising infection rates and managing a very full hotel. As several other reviewers stated, mask wearing was not consistently followed by the staff. During our stay, masks became mandated by the state, up until that point, 90% of people were not wearing them. The gym is open. i used the Peloton but will admit 3 bikes in approximately a 10 by 10 foot area did not feel especially COVID safe. I did use the spa, but again, several staff not wearing masks. Massage was decent for hotel spa. We stayed in a Heritage suite. The room was large but worn down, had stained chairs and broken door handles on the sliders. Murphy bed is OK for a young child but I would not ask an adult to sleep on it. Room was definitely in need of a refresh, especially by Westin standards. Room cleaning was inconsistent, sometimes water and refreshed cups other days not. The main areas are very nice and the remodel shows. The restaurants: the staff was overworked due to people calling out and they were willing to tell you. I felt badly for them, they were trying hard but obvious it was hard to keep up. The food quality was marginal, disappointing for a Westin. Lunch was the best of the available meals. I would avoid dinner until the resort is fully opened and staffed. Beach is great and the chair and umbrella rental are worth the money vs. trying to manage the pool situation (towels on all chairs and literally chairs 2 inches apart as others have stated). All and all, if you are looking for a decent beach getaway on a very nice beach go for it, just lower expectations for restaurant availability, quality and pleasantness of staff. We found many restaurants to be closed or significantly reduced hours. Also, shark and baby alligator right off the beach while we were there, red flag both times.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 4, 2020
Dear vacationlover08, Thank you for your review of our resort. We are pleased your overall stay was satisfactory, and we also appreciate knowing where we have room for improvement. Your feedback will be shared with our associates and the proper action taken. We hope you will revisit so we can show you our commitment to providing enriching experiences. Be Well, Jason Aipperspach Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
we3kingsKentucky wrote a review Aug 2020
Kentucky190 contributions98 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a relaxing 5 days at the Westin. We were checked in by Spencer. He was really very helpful and patient with all of our questions. No upgrades were available, but He was able to secure us adjoining ocean view rooms. I must say the “ocean view” was a bit odd, it was partially blocked by a building , green roof, and exhaust fan. ( see picture). BUT the location of the room was amazing, short walk to pool and beach.
Social distancing is being observed at hotel , all employees and guests were masked , and plenty of hand sanitizer was available throughout hotel.
Room looked exactly like website pictures , 2 queen beds and a chair and small balcony. Small refrigerator, waters, and coffee maker in room. Beds were very comfortable, a few older stains on comforter, but not anything to complain about.... it had obviously been washed We opted for no housekeeping due to Covid, but they were around for us to grab extra coffee and towels.
Breakfast was included for Platinum Bonvoy, and it was delicious ( shrimp and grits with eggs was our fav) and is served until 11:30. Our servers at View 32 were all fantastic and accommodating. We even had dinner at View 32 one night , She-Crab soup was delicious!
Main pool was nice and not overly crowded. Pool service was great. Get a frozen mojito( $12). We had a double lounger and pool day bed($100) one day and both were nice. I think the cost is a bit high, many were not rented possibly due to that.
Towels were plentiful, but thin and probably on their last leg.
Beach is a very short walk. You have 2 options for beach chairs. The ones already set up are rented from Shorebeach(after 1 pm the price is $22 for 2 chairs and an umbrella). The other option is renting from a small kiosk next to the Splash pool bar, called Outside Hilton Head. After 1pm , 2 chairs and an umbrella are only $10, these are self set up, which gives the option to get closer to the beach.
Plenty of free parking outside and in Garage.
Be aware this is a pet friendly hotel, and lots of dogs on the property. They were never a nuisance and hotel did NOT smell.
All employees were extremely courteous.

*Many restaurants within a 5-6 minute drive.
We went to Crazy Crab Jarvis, Old Oyster factory and both were Covid Conscious.
We also went to WiseGuys, food was good, BUT they are NOT adhering to Covid guidelines!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 23, 2020
Dear we3kingsKentucky, Thank you for your loyalty and for being a Marriott Bonvoy Platinum Elite Member. We are pleased that our rejuvenating accommodations exceeded your expectations and that you particularly enjoyed spending time at our beautiful pools as well as our private beach access. We seek to provide authentic, thoughtful service, and it is always pleasing to learn that it is making a difference. We will share your generous comments with Spencer, and thank him personally for the work that he is doing daily. We have elevated our protocols in regards to cleanliness, keeping the safety of our guests and associates in mind. We appreciate you recognizing our team’s efforts and also for letting other travelers know. We hope that your invigorating experience will bring you back to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa. Be Well, Jason Aipperspach Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jascolley wrote a review Jun 2020
Columbus, Ohio25 contributions21 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros
1) Great location - tucked away and surrounded by beautiful landscaping. Beach was not crowded at all, perfect for families with small kids
2) Great pools (although crazy cold water, at least in the covered pool)
3) Beach access was awesome and hotel provides towels for you to use which is very convenient
4) Restaurants were pretty good for hotel restaurants. A lot of times they aren’t very kid friendly but kids enjoyed the kids menu a lot (8 and 6)
5) Parking was prob one of the easiest and accommodating of all beach hotels I have ever stayed at. Most require you to park off site or something but their guest parking is in garage under hotel or right out front door.
6) Large balconies with fantastic views. (Stayed in room 5114 which was ‘partial ocean view’ but very nice view as you can see from pictures)

Cons
1) Slightly outdated rooms and hallways. Seemed kind of dark and didn’t feel very ‘beachy/bright’
2) Did not adhere to COVID guidelines AT ALL. We were actually feeling pretty confident about staying in a Marriott after watching the CEOs video about how well they sanitize, leave wipes in room (didn’t see one anywhere in any part of the hotel including room), all staff required to wear masks (not one had their mask actually on their face). Most just dangling from ears under chin or in their pockets. Actually heard one of the housekeepers hacking and coughing in a room by ours and watched her walk out with no mask in sight. They post signs all over the place to please adhere to social distancing but all the pool chairs are side by side touching and there is no limit or rules to pool capacity. We barely got to enjoy the pools due to the crowds except for maybe 10 mins or so. None of the wait staff at hotels restaurants had masks either while serving us. In our entire 5 night stay we never saw any public areas or surfaces being cleaned.
3) It is almost impossible to find a chair around the pool. All of the chairs were “taken” first thing in the morning even though they weren’t actually being used the whole time. The cabanas and special chairs/seating areas were for rent for hundreds a day, which is ridiculous when you’re already paying to stay at the property.

Probably wouldn’t recommend staying here nor would we go back until after the whole Covid thing is over since they can’t adhere to guidelines. If not for that I’d prob go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded Jun 28, 2020
Dear jascolley, We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. We are grateful for your thoughts on this matter and thank you for your time. You have our assurance that we will address your comments appropriately as we are committed to enhancing our services on all levels, especially when it comes to implementing COVID-19 precautions. Thank you for staying with us and for your detailed feedback. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to regain your trust. Be Well, Jason Aipperspach Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather T wrote a review Jul 2020
Lexington, Massachusetts6 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
As frequent travelers with Bonvoy Platinum Elite Status we have come to expect a certain level of standard in various hotel categories with some of the highest expectations at a Westin Resort. What we found at the Westin Hilton Head Resort anything but typical. In a non-Covid world I would expect the public areas of the hotel to be cleaned regularly. Not only were the areas dirty and didn’t appear to be cleaned at all, there were no extra COVID sanitizing efforts underway at the hotel. They Say “Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas” among other extra steps however the elevators looked like food was spilled all over the walls and buttons during our entire stay of 4 days. In a hotel, I don’t think there is another more high-traffic area than the elevators. Further, the pools and pool deck were overcrowded with no lifeguard on site. My husband is the Platinum Elite member and I am a Gold Elite member. We typically book under his account but on the occasion when we book under my account, his Platinum benefits are always honored. That said, we were hoping for the same benefits as frequent travelers and because my husband was on the trip with us. However, we were told there was no availability to upgrade and the free breakfast would not be available. THis makes no sense. My husband stays over 100 nights a year with Bonvoy. He puts his time and money into the brand we have come to enjoy traveling with and we are told, I’m sorry you can’t have free breakfast because you booked the room under the wrong name. Very disappointing all around. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone going to HH and certainly not someone who is a frequent traveler.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 4, 2020
Dear heathert989, We want to thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay and appreciate you letting us know. We take our guests' feedback seriously, and appropriate action will take place to ensure this is not repeated. Thank you for your patience, and we welcome the opportunity to make your next visit the rejuvenating and fulfilling stay you deserve. Be Well, Jason Aipperspach Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly M wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited this property to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Alex M. assisted ahead of time with arranging our room and he also checked us in. He was fantastic! We had an ocean front room and the view was beautiful.

Currently the food options on the property are pretty limited, and the indoor restaurant is serving the same menu as the outdoor location. It wasn't bad, but we did venture out for several meals as a result. We enjoyed the pastry and coffee options from Ingredients in the lobby daily. We ordered room service one evening and it was delivered correctly and quickly.

The resort felt as safe as it could amid a pandemic. It is communicated that masks are required to be worn inside. There are many signs inside and outside the resort reminding to keep a distance and many hand sanitizer stations throughout. All staff wore masks, and most guests did when outside of their rooms. Unfortunately there were a few guests that went about their day without a mask on. We rented a poolside cabana which helped our ability to socially distance and feel comfortable by the pool. Tiffany took great care of us while we were there.

Overall we had a great visit, and I would be happy to return to The Westin Hilton Head!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 31, 2020
Dear kellymO4619NT, Thank you for choosing The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa for your anniversary celebration. We are pleased that our service and accommodations exceeded your expectations and that you particularly enjoyed spending time at our beautiful pools. We appreciate you mentioning how much you liked our hospitality. We will share your kind words with Alex and Tiffany to thank them personally for a job well done. As you rightly said, we have elevated our protocols, keeping the safety of our guests and associates in mind during these challenging times. We appreciate you recognizing our team’s efforts and also for letting other travelers know. We want each guest to experience a refreshing, meaningful stay, so it is a joy to receive your complimentary feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area. Be Well, Jason Aipperspach Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MichelleCJordan89 wrote a review May 2021
Dallas, Texas44 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Westin Hilton Head. Overall, we had a really good experience. The property definitely feels like a resort and not just a typical beachside hotel. We were in a standard King room on the 5th floor which was labeled as "island view" but since we were on the 5th floor we could see the ocean from the balcony which was a nice surprise. Room/amenities were great, the gym was spacious and not crowded, though many people didn't wear masks in the gym and there was no one there to enforce it.

We loved being right on the beach and walked on the beach daily. However we preferred to spend our time otherwise by the pool. The resort was crowded and if you showed up to the pool late morning or afternoon, it was hard to find pool chairs in prime locations. We liked to sit by the pool a bit before breakfast, go eat breakfast and then return so we didn't have an issue. More umbrellas would be nice. We did rent beach chairs from the vendor "Outside" one day which was convenient, there are also chairs already set up on the beach that you can pay to rent. The poolside bar "Splash" sometimes had a line, but they were quite efficient and prices were about what I would expect for a resort bar.

Status - we are titanium elite with Marriott. We used points for this reservation. We did request suite night upgrades but there weren't any available... this was disappointing but nothing could be done. We really enjoyed the free breakfast for elite status - ate out at View 32 every morning and appreciated that they let us choose whatever we wanted for breakfast (ie not restricted to just toast like some hotels do).

We were not bothered by the dogs and never had issues with seeing dog waste anywhere or hearing a lot of barking.

One small complaint that I have is the housekeeping situation. It seems that housekeeping is NOT standard during the stay right now due to COVID. We were told to call to request housekeeping when we needed it. Since we were staying 5 nights, we definitely did need it, at least to empty trash and replace towels. I called one morning before 8 AM to request this and was told to "place my dirty towels and trash in the hallway" and someone would drop off clean towels. I think this is gross for a resort of this caliber to encourage guests to put their damp used towels and trash in the hallway - sometimes they would sit for hours because people would put them out in the evening etc.

I think housekeeping should return to standard (at least for stays more than 2 nights!!) and it should be "opt out" at check in if you are uncomfortable with someone being in your room during COVID.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded May 2, 2021
Dear MichelleCJordan89, Thank you for your loyalty and for being a Marriott Bonvoy Member. We are pleased to know how much you enjoyed our rejuvenating views and elevated property. We love welcoming travelers with our spacious accommodations and thoughtful amenities, all in an inspired location here in our coastal town. We are also glad you liked spending time at our beautiful pools and that the complimentary breakfast added to the value of your stay. However, we regret not meeting your expectations with our housekeeping services during this visit. We appreciate your understanding during these unprecedented times, and we look forward to hosting you both again at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa. Be Well, Jason Aipperspach Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DeeAnn M wrote a review Jan 2020
Greenville, South Carolina742 contributions437 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel with an off season deal, which turned out to be a good thing since this resort was running at half speed during our stay. Due to the low guest count in the hotel it was almost like being on a deserted island. On the plus side this Westin resort has great beach access and lovely views, plus many amenities that are probably quite pleasant in the peak of season. The hotel does try very hard to provide good customer service but everything was scaled back in the month of January. The only open place to eat was the Carolina room which operated with a skeleton crew. The smallest covered outdoor pool was heated and the jacuzzi was operating. Beyond that the rental bicycles were locked up, kids program shut down, poolside bar, concessions or services were all unavailable. The room service menu was very limited. Daily housekeeping service lagged in cleaning the room. We had to use our imagination to picture this place in the peak of summer season, which we assume is a booming place with lots going on. We did appreciate the quiet pace of things but obviously the winter months are not the best time to book here if you are seeking a more than just a relaxing stay. The hotel itself is a bit tired looking with minor cosmetic and maintenance issues that can be easily seen. Our ocean view room smelled musty and the carpet was dirty. Our heating and air unit was not working properly and a repairman spent a long time in fixing it. . We chose to make the best of our time even though it was not ideal. This Westin is probably a fabulous place when they ramp up into the high season and have a full staff and all amenities operating. Do be aware that you have to leave the resort to get other food, drink or get supplies as there is no walkable locations off property that are close enough without getting in your car. Perhaps you can bike to other spots if the rentals are available.This was our first visit to Hilton Head which is a lovely island with a great selection of restaurants, shops, grocery stores, parks, golf courses etc. There is something for everyone who visits here. The flat terrains and abundant bike paths make it easy to get around so I am sure the experience with this hotel is much more pleasant during other times of the year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 24, 2020
Dear DeeAnn M, Thank you for the detailed review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa. We are glad you had a rejuvenating stay and that you enjoyed the breathtaking views from our resort. We are also happy to read you liked our private beach access. However, we are sorry for not meeting some of your expectations and regret any inconvenience you may have experienced while you were here. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Be Well, Jason Aipperspach Director of Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RuthiePmd wrote a review Jun 2020
Johnstown, Pennsylvania88 contributions74 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After staying at the Omni in Amelia island just prior to this last minute stay for 2 nights I wasn’t impressed. The Westin lobby is the one of few parts of this hotel that I felt was ok. The 3rd floor room with ocean view was ok, seemed clean and was comfortable, but the views were not worth it at all. View was obstructed and we had a huge air conditioner unit just below the room that made tons of noise. I hope they change the shower curtain often as it is touching the toilet! Room cleaning service didn’t come by 4 pm so we didn’t get room cleaned since we started showering and getting ready for dinner by then. The atmosphere of this hotel is lacking large, pool area just wasn’t cozy and it was tight with all the guests (especially during a pandemic). Drinks at pool were good! We didn’t ask for a different room since it’s a pandemic and I didn’t want to expose us more than needed. I wouldn’t stay again :(
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded Jun 22, 2020
Dear RuthiePmd, Thank you for the review of your stay. We are glad you liked our lobby and that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of your guestroom. However, we are sorry for not meeting some of your expectations and regret any inconvenience you may have encountered while you were here. We also want to thank you for mentioning the things you would change, as we are continually striving to improve our guest experience. We would welcome an opportunity to make your next visit the rejuvenating and fulfilling stay you and your family deserve. Be Well, Jason Aipperspach Director of Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel R wrote a review Jun 2020
Alexandria, Virginia2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I called prior to booking to ensure the place was following safety measures and were told “absolutely”. However, this was a lie. The place was incredibly busy and one of the staff even told us that they were the busiest resort in America and that they were almost at 100% capacity. They made zero effort to facilitate social distancing rules. Yes, they had stickers here and there but other than that, nothing else was implemented. The pool chairs had at most 2 inches of separation, the fitness center didn’t even have sanitized wipes one of the days I was there. Very few, I would say only about 20% of the staff wore masks. I probably saw one hand sanitizer station in the whole place, which is huge. The service was subpar too, we had to ask several times for anything, they forgot to clean our room one day, the front desk person was unenthusiastic and acted as though she was doing us a favor. The only friendly people were the wait staff by the pool. On top of that they charged $100 a day for some of the chairs by the pool, which by design offered some sort of separation. So it was either pay $100 to sit somewhere with at least some separation or get on of the other chairs by the pool and risk getting corona. The bathrooms by the pool were dingy and there were flies inside.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded Jun 30, 2020
Dear juanmanuelr293, We want to thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to post your review. It is disappointing to read that we did not exceed your expectations. We are diligently navigating through COVID-19, and feedback like this is appreciated as it is a valuable insight into how we can enhance our precautions. It is important to clarify that we are closely following and monitoring all applicable state, county, and federal mandates regarding COVID-19 and reacting appropriately in this fluid environment. We strongly encourage social distancing and provide reminders throughout the resort. As many families visit in the peak summer season, their preference is to be closer in proximity related to social distancing which may reflect some of your observations. Our associates are required to wear masks, follow strict safety and cleaning protocols, and complete training pertaining to COVID-19. We assure you that the safety and security of our guests is always our utmost priority. We would also like to add that many of our guests choose to enhance their poolside experience with a wonderful cabana or lounger which may also provide an additional comfort level and privacy related to social distancing, and we are happy to provide these popular options for our valued guests. Thank you for your patience, and we would welcome an opportunity to make your next visit the rejuvenating and fulfilling stay you deserve. Be Well, Jason Aipperspach Director of Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Carole D
Cornwall, Canada129 contributions75 helpful votes
All rooms have great views, depends on what you prefer! Completely ocean front rooms are the most expensive and have full ocean views. Many have side views of the ocean. Island views are great too, quieter than those near the pool and you can sometimes see the ocean. Honestly there are no bad views!
Ron S asked a question Apr 2023
The Villages, Florida2 contributions
Free breakfast for titanium members?
Answer from MomB
Fort Myers, Florida59 contributions7 helpful votes
We are titanium too and they offered us 2 vouchers for breakfast for one day or points.
Delwin D asked a question Oct 2022
Where can I warm my food up at?
Answer from Victor F
Bethesda, Maryland34 contributions17 helpful votes
As I recall, there are stations on the floor near the ice maker that have available microwaves.
sandnbeach65 asked a question Aug 2022
Springfield, Ohio4 contributions
Do they offer beach chairs and umbrellas
Answer from Kashfia K
1 contribution1 helpful vote
No. You have to rent beach chairs and umbrellas. When I tried to rent them they were unavailable
sandnbeach65 asked a question Aug 2022
Springfield, Ohio4 contributions
Do they offer beach chairs and umbrellas
pam b wrote a tip May 18
North Canton, Ohio14 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Limited parking weekends and evenings, underground parking available, hallways are extremely long between elevators"
Read full review
RKLVIK wrote a tip May 14
Hampton, Virginia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy this amazing hotel; and is a must to stay for more than three days. "
Read full review
Mark L wrote a tip May 4
Lebanon, Tennessee261 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Long halls and small elevator"
Read full review
Jahn G wrote a tip Apr 2024
Cincinnati, United States2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pillows are quite fluffy; if you like a flat pillow, simply ask for it. They will gladly accommodate you. Park under the hotel."
Read full review
kiwi_and_bacon wrote a tip Apr 2024
Atlanta, GA, USA10 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Snag pool chairs between 6:30am - 7:15am Walk to elevators can be long if you're in the middle of the hallways"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hilton Head area.
PRICE RANGE
$428 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin hilton head island hotel hilton head, the westin hilton head island resort and spa
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaHilton Head
NUMBER OF ROOMS
419
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WESTIN HILTON HEAD ISLAND RESORT & SPA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Comedy Magic Cabaret (3.9 miles), Southeastern Summer Theatre Institute (3.0 miles), and HHI Escape (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hilton Head Social Bakery, Alfred's Restaurant, and Flora's Italian Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mitchelville Freedom Park (1.9 miles), Zion Cemetery and Baynard Mausoleum (1.5 miles), and Fort Howell (1.9 miles).
All Hilton Head HotelsHilton Head Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hilton HeadHotels near The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars