We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Two Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
14 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
$369
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/31/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$369
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/31/22
ZenHotels.com
$334
View deal
Traveluro$362
Westin.com$369
Lol.travel$381
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1408)
Room & Suite (389)
Pool & Beach (326)

About

#12 of 33 in Hilton Head
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Located on the white sands of the Atlantic Ocean, The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa boasts a renewing wellness experience in a beachfront setting. Our seaside hotel in Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, features modern design and coastal elements accompanied by revitalizing and relaxing amenities. Enjoy the array of inspired amenities available at our resort, including private beach access, three beautiful swimming pools. Join us for an unforgettable dining experience at our resort's signature on-site restaurants or enjoy a refreshing cocktail at our poolside bar & grill. Our versatile indoor & outdoor event venues are the ideal location for your next seaside meeting, wedding or social gathering.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Free wired internet in the business center
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Hand massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2428Reviews137Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,298
  • 602
  • 287
  • 128
  • 113
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
b2flyer23 wrote a review May 23
Thomasville, North Carolina45 contributions24 helpful votes
Where to begin...Well I would start with reading other reviews and you will see a common theme. Back in Sept 2021 I stayed here and left a generous 3 star review while stating I probably wouldn't come back. I gave it 3 stars instead of 2 at the time while understanding the issues Covid had created. Anyways, After receiving a Christmas gift for a fishing trip in Hilton Head I stuck with Marriott as a Marriott Loyalist (Ambassador Elite) and booked 2 nights here for the fishing trip. Boy did I regret it. At check in I asked for a 4pm checkout per my elite status, while knowing this was a resort and wasn't guaranteed due to availability. I preemptively checked on their website to see if they were sold out or if they had availability for the room type I was confirmed in. I was able to see that my room type was available over the course of the next few days. I assumed requesting the 4pm checkout wouldn't be an issue since there was clear availability. After asking for the late checkout I was informed they were only able to give a 2pm checkout. I kindly asked to check again. The employee went to ask a manager. He came back and said "The manager said we are unable to give you a 4pm checkout due to us being fully booked especially that room type". I mentioned that room had plenty of availability but didn't push the issue anymore. The next evening I asked another front desk employee if a 4pm late checkout was available. After checking the computer for about 20 seconds, he said absolutely and gave us a 4pm late checkout. Either the manager was completely clueless to his hotel or was lying. Another issue at check in was the employee asked if we would want housekeeping for every day of our stay. When I said "Yes, please" he seemed offended and asked "everyday?" With an upset tone. Keep in mind we were only staying 2 nights so housekeeping only would've came 1 day during our stay. We'll housekeeping came the following day and basically replaced towels and made the bed. They didn't do anything else. There was still sand on the floor when we walked in and had done no cleaning. If you read other reviews you will read this also. Maybe they are struggling to hire housekeeping staff, but there is clearly and issue with housekeeping. Stay away from room 3135! I technically got "upgraded" from a resort view to a "Grand Deluxe Ocean View" room. It was terrible. It was right by some huge a/c units and a loading dock. You couldn't sit outside and just enjoy ocean waves because the a/c unit was so loud. (This is not effecting the star rating, just a room tip) Service is slow at check in, the bars and restaurants. Covid staffing issues? Maybe? This hotel is in need of a major cultural shift and management change. It has to start from the top. There is clearly a repeating theme here that is not being addressed. Read other recent reviews and make an informed decision. This isn't a top tier hotel any longer.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Avoid room 3135.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Brandon H, We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to our brand, and we regret that we did not provide the optimal stay you should always expect from us. We sincerely apologize for any oversight during the service of your room. We take our guests' feedback seriously, and appropriate action will take place to ensure this is not repeated. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again and show you our commitment to exceptional hospitality. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
Lindsay K wrote a review May 23
4 contributions4 helpful votes
While the other reviews are not wrong, we thought it was overall a great experience. The lobby and pool area are beautiful and whole the in room bathrooms rooms are a but dated, the rooms were very clean (which is always my deal breaker) The customer service was slow but each staff member was so kind and happy! We were checked in by Shanav and he was absolutely wonderful. Gave us all the details and was just overall so amazing. Great first impression of the team! There are a good number of onsite restaurants for the size of the property and the coffee shop and options inside were awesome. Would definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear LindsKeiff, As a loyal Patron, we appreciate your loyalty to our brand, and we are glad we could welcome you to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa. We focus on providing personalized, enhanced service, so it is always great to learn that it is making a difference. We will share your kind words with Shanav and thank them personally for the work that they are doing daily. We are pleased to have exceeded your expectations. Whether you are here for a relaxing weekend away or a family adventure, our resort offers something for everyone with three beautiful pools, private beach access, and other refreshing amenities. Thank you again for the generous compliments, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
Mikey T wrote a review May 12
2 contributions2 helpful votes
For US$600+ a night we expected a LUXURY room. What we got was a BASIC, TIRED hotel room. We had a ground level ocean view with no privacy unless the blackout curtains were closed which gave us a dark room. The sheers were missing from the rail. Those blackout curtains were also so stiff that you had to be Hercules to open or close them. The toilet was very loud and wouldn’t stop flushing. The hand wand for the shower doesn’t turn off so you lose half the water pressure from the main shower head. The tub faucet has come out from the wall. The HVAC runs constantly and is ridiculously loud. The furniture and decor is dated and bruised but the bed was very comfortable. The amenities - no cotton swabs, no little jars of stuff, the shampoo bottle in the tub was empty. To her credit, the hotel manager got the non-stopping toilet fixed, sheers installed and the shampoo filled promptly. But the rest - the place needs a makeover, badly.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Michael, Thank you for the review of your time at our resort. We regret you were not entirely satisfied with the quality and condition of our accommodations, and we apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced in your room. We are grateful for the feedback, and we will share these notes with the appropriate individuals for the future modernization of our hotel. Thank you for choosing us. We value you as our guest and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
Brandon B wrote a review May 9
1 contribution2 helpful votes
They could use a few lessons in customer service. From every aspect, the resort customer service was awful. There was a point when me, my wife, my screaming 1 year old and my 4 year old were waiting out front for a shuttle back to the villas and 3 staff members were right next to us joking around. I tried to ask them to call a shuttle 3 times, raising my voice each time and not one of them even acknowledge I was there. So, I picked up all our beach gear and my screaming 1 year old and walked back to our villa. I could go on and on about the poor service. Bottom line is don’t waste your money. They blamed their poor customer service on the lack of workers…customer service has nothing to do with lack of workers. On a separate note, they do have 3 or 4 restaurants on site. Extremely pricey on both food and drink.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Brandon B, We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. Our associates strive to provide thoughtful and anticipatory service; therefore, we are disappointed that we did not meet these expectations. We hope you will give us an opportunity on your next visit to Hilton Head to show you our devotion to exceptional hospitality. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
kintfam5 wrote a review May 8
Mishawaka, Indiana7 contributions8 helpful votes
We read the reviews before coming, so we were ready for the fact that service might be slow and housekeeping sub-par. Yes, the hotel is older and showing it's wear, but nothing major. We had the option to not have housekeeping--that sounded fine so long as I could request coffee and extra towels. But even those requests would go unfulfilled, so we requested regular housekeeping after our third day hoping that would get us some waters and coffee. They knocked on our door the next morning ready to do our room at 8 am. When we asked them to return they never did. But again, we weren't surprised because we knew they were short-staffed. As far as noise and complaints about music at the pool, it really wasn't too bad. There is a DJ during the day, but it wasn't super loud. And although there was a wedding or a business function every night we were there, there wasn't music late. We also used a white noise app on our phones at night to drown out noise, and that seemed to work. The service wasn't always great, but they're definitely understaffed, so the people working are working hard. Would I be less understanding if I didn't book the room on points and paid $500+ per night? Definitely. Hilton Head itself was lovely--you'll definitely want to rent bikes and enjoy the bike trails. There is a free trolley that takes you from the Westin to various spots on the island, including a shopping center with restaurants, cute shops and a grocery store if you want to stock up on snacks or have a bottle of wine on your balcony.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean "view" but the lower rooms are blocked by palm trees, so try to...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear kintfam5, We want to extend our apologies for the difficulties you had with our associates not being attentive to your needs. We work hard to provide each guest with a meaningful and enriching stay, and we regret that this was not your experience. Your concerns have been shared with our associates, and we have taken appropriate action to secure these issues are not repeated. We are grateful for your patience, and we appreciate your detailed review. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you our commitment to exceptional hospitality on your next visit to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
Pam H wrote a review May 5
4 contributions
My friends and I went to the restaurant in the hotel late in the evening for dessert and we met the most enchanting Server, Natalie. She made us feel welcome and described each dessert to us and made recommendations that didn't disappoint! Each of the desserts we tried were delicious! If you ever have the chance to eat there, you will want Natalie to be your Server too!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear P am H, It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa. Thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed our hospitality. We are energized by providing a connected and enriching atmosphere, and we are pleased this was your experience. We focus on delivering personalized, enhanced service, so it is always great to learn that it makes a difference. We will share your kind words with Natalie, and thank them personally for the work that they are doing daily. Thank you for taking advantage of [restaurant] during your stay. Our chef(s) enjoy preparing mouth-watering dinner specials, and our associates take pleasure in providing exceptional service. We will pass on your gracious comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope you will join us again soon. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
ambrose d wrote a review May 3
warren nj16 contributions19 helpful votes
We had a spacious, clean comfortable room. Check-in and out were easy, the property was well maintained and the staff was friendly. Free parking was always available (valet for extra) The negatives: Restaurants were a disappointment. We ate at the outdoor restaurant - food (fried green tomatoes, grouper tacos) was largely flavorless except for toppings. chocolate croissants from the lobby were mediocre (seemed slightly stale). Pool beverage service was extremely slow - ordered 2 drinks at the same time. One came in 20 minutes, the other in another 20 minutes. Oh Boy do they like their upcharges! We were charged a "resort fee" on checkout which we were not told about (this is probably the fault of the Marriot booking service, not the hotel),. However the free poolside loungers were a little uncomfortable, and the Cabana rental fee (see photo) was jaw-dropping: $375 for poolside! or $575 for beachfront !!!!. The room was not made up during our 2 day stay. The hotel is badly laid out for handicap access. From our room , you had to travel down a long hallway, cross the lobby, along the length of the hotel and down a long ramp to reach the pools without using stairs (to be fair, we had not requested a room with easy access).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear ambr0sed, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to know you were pleased with our revitalizing guestrooms and elevated property, as well as with our kind associates. However, we are sorry for not meeting some of your expectations. We also regret your disappointment with the food we serve. We have discussed your comments with the proper individuals to ensure we focus on providing a pleasant dining experience for future guests. We are grateful for your feedback as we continually strive to improve our efforts in all areas of our hotel. We hope the positive aspects of your visit will encourage you to choose us again, and we wish you all the best with your travels. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
Msissmore wrote a review May 2
Peterbrough25 contributions16 helpful votes
This hotel has somehow really changed and not in a good way, appreciate that staff is hard to come by these days but there has been a big "culture shift down" vs a few years ago. It is not a good excuse to say tat we have new staff therefore a poor customer experience is acceptable. I would say that there is a big time 1st class management void right now and would not recommend this hotel, at this time
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Msissmore, Thank you for being our guest and for your valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide every guest with an exceptional stay that exceeds expectations, and we are truly sorry for letting you down. Thank you again for your feedback as it helps us to strengthen our guest experience and provide complete guest satisfaction. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in Hilton Head so we can make a better impression. It would be our pleasure to accommodate you. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
Cathy wrote a review May 2
8 contributions
We stayed at this resort for one night only, on our way down to Florida, and in many ways, this was a highlight of our trip. The drive into the hotel is breathtaking, and just stepping into the lobby is lovely, beautiful scent in the air. Our room looked over the pools and out to the ocean, and we loved it all.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pools have beautiful, tropical feel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Fat_Grannies, Thank you for sharing about your revitalizing experience at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa. Situated on Hilton Head Island's famous pristine beaches and surrounded by swaying Palmetto trees, we are pleased you could enjoy our relaxing oasis along with our rejuvenating accommodations and views. It was our pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
Yolanda O wrote a review May 1
1 contribution
We came to Hilton Head for a little R&R . The Westin did not disappoint . We had an Ocean front facing room with a spectacular view ! The room was clean and stocked appropriately. The staff was phenomenal everyone was friendly and accommodating . We frequented the restaurant on the property - View 32. Everyone there was great and although they were always busy the service was outstanding. John McCutcheon was always friendly and his recommendations were on point . His knowledge of the island made our stay that much more memorable. He directed us to great restaurants and activities . He did not have to take the time to share these gems but he was always happy to help. Thanks Westin! We will be back 😊
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Yolanda0075, Thank you for sharing your revitalizing experience at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa. Situated on Hilton Head Island's famous pristine beaches and surrounded by swaying Palmetto trees, we are pleased you and your partner could enjoy our relaxing oasis. We focus on providing personalized, enhanced service, so it is always great to learn that it makes a difference. We will share your kind words with John and thank them personally for the work that they are doing daily. It is a pleasure to know how much you enjoyed our spacious guestrooms and our signature Westin Heavenly Bed®. We want each guest to experience a refreshing, meaningful stay, so it is a joy to receive your complimentary feedback. It is a pleasure to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you particularly enjoyed our rejuvenating views and elevated property. We are pleased to know you had an energizing stay and that our associates left such a great impression. They work tirelessly to provide inspiring service, down to the smallest detail, and we will enjoy sharing your kind remarks with them. It was our pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you and your partner on your next visit to the area. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$335 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin hilton head island hotel hilton head, the westin hilton head island resort and spa
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaHilton Head
NUMBER OF ROOMS
416
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Comedy Magic Cabaret (3.9 miles), HHI Escape (1.7 miles), and Pirate's Island Adventure Golf (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jane Bistro & Bar, Hilton Head Social Bakery, and Alfred's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mitchelville Freedom Park (1.9 miles), Zion Cemetery and Baynard Mausoleum (1.1 miles), and Fort Howell (1.9 miles).