We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Dunes Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for: 1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Dunes Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 107: English reviews
Canton, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

2nd visit in about 12 months. Although we were impressed last year, we detect that the facility has seen a drop off in overall maintenance and service. Initial reception was just so so and later found out that as a result of not getting their packet from the registration desk we missed several activities. Also, we were expecting transportation to... More 

Helpful?
Thank John W
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked a suite at Royal Dunes for 2 couples. We found the property very well maintained, the rooms very clean, and the suites well maintained. The pool and hot tub were also very well maintained and clean. We used the Weber Grill that was provided and that was also very clean and well maintained. This is an excellent resort... More 

Helpful?
Thank EdM403
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We exchanged through Diamond Resorts for a week. The location was in building #1 which has been refurbished. We found it very clean with none of the problems reported earlier with roaches, torn towels or subpar accommodations with noisy neighbors. We will definitely try to return.!

Helpful?
Thank william w
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

While the outside of the buildings and resort are not as flashy as some other properties you'll see, the inside of the accommodations are huge, very clean, in excellent condition -- an outstanding value. Be aware there is no daily maid service. Also, their check-in desk closes at 5 or 6 pm. It was clearly stated on the reservation confirmation... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank leejia
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review leejia. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are constantly renovating our buildings and do have plans to update the exteriors in the near future. Please come back and stay with us again soon! More 

Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

We've owned at this resort for several years. Nice place. Directly across the street from the beach. Very spacious 3 bedroom, 3 bath units. Fully stocked kitchen and washer and dryer in unit. Nicely furnished. Very friendly staff. They also have free shuttle service to and from the beach. Great for families looking to enjoy time at the beach.

Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyJetski
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you review JimmyJetski and thank you for owning with us for so long. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you continue to come back. Our staff works hard to make sure our guest and owners have everything they need. Your kind words are much appreciated. More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

We stayed in building 4 (the only building not renovated), while my in-laws were in building 1. There was an incredible difference in building 1 and building 4. While we were there, we were told that building 4 would be renovated some time in the next 2 years. I would suggest, if making a reservation, that you only do so... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey4iu
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment Stacey4iu. Building 4 has not yet been renovated but is still very nice. You are correct, the renovated units do not have the glass table and have much better lighting. As well as the two walk in showers. We will be renovating Building 4 in January of 2018. Although the front office closed at 5pm... More 

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

We are owners and have been coming to this resort for our 20th year this year. This I a great resort for families. The resort has alway kept up with their remodeling. A problem at some resorts. The other unique attribute of the units is that they all have three bedroom units with two king master suites with their own... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review John S. We are glad to hear that you enjoy coming to our little resort. We do our best to make everyone feel right at home while they are visiting with us. Come back again soon! More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

It was our first time at the Royal Dunes and I had high expectations after the positive reviews I read. There were 8 of us and we stayed in Building 4 for 4 nights. I'll start with the positives - short easy walk to the beach, nice location, spacious 3 bedroom with 3 bathrooms, furniture was decent even though we... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank S H
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review S H. I'm sorry your stay was not up to your standards, nor ours. Parking is a big issue and has become an even bigger one in the recent years as we have seen more and more families traveling with large vehicles. The spots are small and, unfortunately, we have no way of changing that.... More 

OHIO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

This is our 6th year heading to Hilton Head, SC for a week of vacation and relaxation. (Remembering that both of these are the goal).... We have stayed @ the Royal Dunes Resort the last 5 years and have been very pleased every year. This year we traveled with 8 and stayed in a 3 bedroom condo in building 4.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Primal_45
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Primal_45. We are pleased to hear that you have been vacationing with us for so many years! We can't wait to see yall again next year! More 

Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

This is our 21st visit to Royal Dunes Resort. The condos are large and fully equipped. Every year they manage to add something to make our stay better like pool towels and beach chairs. They provide a shuttle to the beach and a cook out for guests on Tuesdays. The staff goes above and beyond to help guests. We will... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank smcteacher
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and dedication to our resort smcteacher. 21 years! You may hold the record. See you next year! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
0.2 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Royal Dunes Resort

Address: 8 Wimbledon Ct, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5570
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Price Range: $165 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Dunes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Dunes Hotel Hilton Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay