We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Water's Edge Inn

Certificate of Excellence
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Water\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The folks working at the inn are extremely helpful and pleasant. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast everyday was nice. The inn is close enough to everything in Folly yet it is located on a quiet street. Additionally, Folly is located in close proximity to Charleston so this inn is a nice place to stay if you enjoy... More 

Helpful?
Thank vacamot
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you vacamot for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and found our location to be convenient for exploring Folly as well as the historic downtown Charleston peninsula. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your suggestions. We will extend a 10% off discount for you for any future stays with us, so please keep... More 

Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed for one night in The Islander room. It was very cozy and comfortable and I only wish we could have stayed longer! We also really enjoyed the rum punch and the lovely breakfast. Hope to stay with you again on our next trip down south, We are now back in Rhode Island and looking forward to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sailor221
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank your Sailor221 for your review. We are please that you enjoyed your stay in the Islander Room. You will have to return to Folly for a longer stay than just one night with us again!! We will extend a 10% off discount to you for any future bookings at Water's Edge Inn!! More 

South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Six of us enjoyed our weekend getaway at Water's Edge Inn. The villa was nicely equipped, very clean, and comfortable. I especially enjoyed all the seating on the two outdoor decks. Every employee we met was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast options were plentiful and tasty. My only slight disappointment was the lack of marsh view from our unit. But,... More 

Helpful?
Thank kftt77
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you kftt77 for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad that you enjoyed a "ladies weekend" with your friends and the privacy of the Villas. It is nice to relax on the porches on a beautiful day. You will have to return when the weather warms up some again! We will extend our 10% return... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

I'd call it a B&B but the owners don't live there. Our room, the Floridian, was spacious with a large screened porch. The view was over a tidal creek, surrounded by condominiums. The marshy creek changing with the tide and the sun was special. There is a golf cart to take you to the beach, about three blocks away and... More 

Helpful?
Thank tmdonahue
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Tmdonahue for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed both your room and the amenities during your recent stay at Waters Edge Inn and hope you will return soon to enjoy our inn during the warm, summer months! More 

Winthrop Harbor
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Excellent location. The entire place was very clean. Our room had a screen porch that overlooked the marsh. Room rate includes a great breakfast and happy hour. Breakfast included a egg baked dish, potatoes, muffins, and other items. Happy hour included three beer options and two wine offerings. A rum punch was also available. A few snacks were also available.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kochalex
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Kochalex for the great review! We are very glad to hear that Waters Edge Inn proved to be welcoming and a good fit for you during your last stay on Folly Beach. Please do try and visit us during the in-season on Folly and again take advantage of all the wonderful shops and dining on Center Street. When... More 

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

So this is my third five star review for the Water's Edge Inn, so I think this makes a pretty strong statement about consistency. This time we stayed in a different villa, and we were here to celebrate an early Thanksgiving with the family. My husband and I spent the first night at their sister inn (The Regatta Inn) which... More 

Helpful?
Thank yoyocruiser
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Yoyocrusier. We are once again very grateful for your compliments and praise of both our properties. Our staff does strive to take special care of each and every guest and make them feel as though they are comfortable and at home during any stay. We are very thankful to hear that the breakfasts and happy hours were to... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

We stayed two nights in the Hemingway room. Liked the screened balcony porch off our room. The spacious bath had a spa tub ( did not use) but was large enough for two. The shower was clean and spacious too. Most important the bathroom had two sinks on the vanity! , which made it easier to get ready in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shirl K
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Shirl K for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear you both enjoyed The Hemingway room and that Holly was very accommodating and hospitable during your stay-she is truly an asset to our team. We are also glad you were able to experience The Regatta Inn and most importantly it's amazing sunsets. We do hope you two... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

We had the best stay at Water's Edge Inn. We rented one of the Villa's and it did not disappoint it was perfect for our weekend getaway with friends. It was the perfect location close enough to walk to the downtown area and the beach. But has the great option of a golf cart service to the beach. Cannot wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bridget E
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Bridget E for your great review! We are so glad you were able to experience Water's Edge Inn and in particular, one of our comfortable villas! We hope you and your friends will return soon and in doing so, we will gladly extend our valued return guest discount of 10%! More 

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

We had the pleasure of staying at the Water's Edge Inn while we were on Folly Beach for a wedding. We stayed 2 nights in one of the villas and 2 nights in the Inn. Both were quiet and peaceful, with everything you needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. We especially loved the cookies and the bikes. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank vsharp1
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Vsharp1! We are glad you found our property to be quiet and convenient while here for a Folly wedding. We hope that next time you are able to visit our charming little island for a relaxing stay here at Water's Edge Inn! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015 via mobile

Our visit to Water's Edge was great! The setting, the room, and the hospitality = top notch!! The staff and owners were so nice. Breakfast every morning and happy hour every evening. True Charleston charm! We will absolutely be back! Thanks Water's Edge.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Kelly M! We appreciate your kind comments and are thankful to hear that Water's Edge was both charming and top notch in terms of accommodations and service. We welcome you back with open arms and when you return for a second time, we will gladly extend a 10% discount to you for being one of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
0.3 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
12.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#3 of 6 in Isle of Palms
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#2 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
8.5 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,270 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
#5 of 6 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay