We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

stayed here just passing through to get home. stopped in late and there was virtually no place to park. the whole building was under construction. no floors, no ceiling tiles ect. I desperately needed to use a washer due to my child puking on a bunch of clothes. went the whole way to the receptionist (who was outside talking to... More 

Helpful?
Thank ellen804207
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

When I called to book this room, I only had two questions. Was it pet friendly and was the pool open. She answered yes to both. I even asked about the pool again before I hung up because I knew they had renovations going on. My 7 year old was soooo excited to use the pool. Well guess what? We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank scnewlyweds
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

I apologize about the pool not being open. However, we were not expecting the pool pump to go out. The part had to be ordered and it took a few days for it to come in and be installed. The pool is now back open. We are doing renovations to enhance the look of the property for our guest. I... More 

Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Picture this: You have just driven 6 hours, leaving behind a great condo on the beach, and you get to Comfort Inn at 12:30 in the morning. You check in and are sent to a room on the 3rd floor in the front corner. You gt in bed around 1:00 and hear traffic noise outside. It's ok, you're tired and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ang724
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Full reward point value agreed when booking. Arrived to find mess of floor and wall re-do underway. Pool and fitness rooms posted closed. Desk offers to open exterior access to pool. (65 F out, cool walk!) Changed room when a) refrigerator unit on truck outside room kept cycling and b) no heat in room 206, dropped out GFI in line... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michigan0662Fish
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Clayton, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

When you arrive, the office manager comes out and gives you a kiss!....Just kidding. But the Managers, Staff, maintenance, everybody is so great. They are truly an asset to the place. Everybody makes you feel like family, and if you ever need anything just ask! If they have to run to the store to get you something they will and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is our guest that make us who we are. We appreciate your business and hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Sherry Anders General Manager More 

Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way home. The beds were comfortable and the front desk staff were friendly. The breakfast is good with a good amount of options to choose from. The hotel is located near several restaurants and right off the highway. My only complaint is the dated bathroom. It definitely needed some work!

Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you Lauren for your review and thank you for your business we appreciate it. I am happy to say that the whole hotel is getting a remodel starting on Monday May 9th. I hope you get a chance to come back and see all the changes we're making. Kind Regards Sherry Anders General Manager More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016 via mobile

We asked if they take dogs. The guy at the desk said yes. When we go to check out, they said they do not take dogs and it would be a $250 fee. Really? A scam I think! Also, the restrooms were out of paper towels (on order). Half of the lights in my room didn't work. Only one small... More 

Helpful?
Thank KPricetag2
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

We do accept pets with a $25 non refundable fee per pet per stay, with a limit of 2 pets per room and a maximum weight limit of 50 lbs. per pet. If you were charged the amount you stated please contact me and email or fax me a copy of your receipt and I will look into it. However,... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. The room had nice furnishings and the bathroom was also very clean. The breakfast the following morning had eggs (at first they had really good eggs that looked real, then switched to the scrambled instant eggs that were not as good later), sausage, yogurt, fresh fruit, waffles, and lots of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JennHenz
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind response concerning my property. I will make sure that my breakfast attendant knows about your egg comment so we can take that matter into advisement. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again if your in the Columbia area. Kind Regards Sherry Anders GeneralManager More 

Beaufort, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

I returned to this hotel less than 7 hours after checking out, hoping to retrieve a favorite pillow left behind in our room. When this item could not be located, both the assistant manager and manager refused to believe I had actually left it there, despite my 100% surety of having done so. Rather than apologize, they kept insisting that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue F
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

I again apologize for the event that followed the missing item. I have gone back through security footage of the area in which your room was in to make sure that no items left your room and found nothing on the footage. As we stated the day you came back my Chief Engineer and my Assistant Manager personally went through... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
275 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016

After a long day travelling this hotel was welcoming. Janet at the front desk was friendly and efficient. Our room was comfortable with a king size bed and a night table on each side. The bathroom had a nice long shelf for toiletries. Everything was clean and serviceable. There is a mini fridge plus coffee maker in the room. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank cebcolpitts
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

I apologize if our breakfast did not meet your expectations. We offer a variety of eggs from fried to scrambled along with a variety of meets from sausage patties, sausage links, turkey links and canadian bacon. There are three flavors of waffles to choose from along with a variety of Danish and muffins. The hotel also offers at any one... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
#46 of 95 in Columbia
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#34 of 95 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
#56 of 95 in Columbia
3.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Comfort Inn & Suites is a 67 room facility located near the Fort Jackson Main Gate off exit 9A on I77. We are conveniently located near restaurants and shopping. The hotel is located near the Riverbanks Zoo and Gardens, 6 miles from the University of South Carolina and near the South Carolina State House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate

Address: 7337 Garners Ferry Rd, Columbia, SC 29209-2110
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Price Range: $103 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate Hotel Columbia
Comfort Inn Columbia
Columbia Comfort Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay