We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Indigo Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Indigo Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

818 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 806: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visiting Charleston for several days meant finding a place to stay, preferably one that included breakfast. The Indigo Inn was our choice, and we found it to be very satisfactory. Every one of the staff that we came into contact with was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, and looked recently updated. The vanity/sink area, which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan K
Hancock, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My sister and I spent three nights at the Indigo Inn and very much enjoyed our stay. Pros: very friendly, helpful staff Great location within walking distance of many sights Great breakfast is included Clean room Cons: small rooms that are quite dark as the only window faces the courtyard I would recommend this hotel and will stay again when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent two nights here in September and we can recommend this Hotel to everyone looking for a nice accomodation in walking distance to all major sights. The breakfast in the courtyard was very nice and the rooms as well. The staff at the reception was extremely friendly. We forgot our passports in our room and the receptionist sent them... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 days while in Charleston. The hotel was phenomenal. The room was exquisitely cute. The staff was friendly plus some. Would stay here over and over again. I recommend this to anyone who wants an adventure away from the chain hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
Brea, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Indigo Inn for several days as we explored Charleston. The Inn staff was excellent in assisting with our adventures. In particular Jerika recommended very good tours, one on the bus and one walking. The Hotel serves a breakfast similar to a Holiday Inn express and has lemonade and Ice tea available in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tallcop
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Expected a bit more on the cleanliness side. The hotel itself is quaint and interesting. It has a courtyard in the center which is nice to sit and relax. Our room was a bit dark and dingy (ditch the burgundy coverlets). The bathroom was a bit dirty, I am glad I had my clorox wipes. The housekeeping staff was so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Krystyna11
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Four night stay in mid-September. Dodged a bullet as Tropical storm Julia veered out to sea. The Inn is a former indigo dye warehouse converted into three floors each with about a dozen rooms. Avoid the ground floor as the rooms abut the central courtyard used for breakfast and an evening wine and cheese (both free) . The rooms are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hoyaken
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your recommendation, Hoyaken!!! We are glad that you decided to come in spite of Tropical Storm Julia, and we look forward to your next visit with us. More 

Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We were appalled walking in from a parking lot and entry without landscaping.. Then into a dingy and ugly corridor... Meeting desk clerk who wasn't particularly friendly...baggage carrier who was new to the job ... Arriving on second floor where hallway had many large unused racks strewn about the dark corridor. By then we were so nearly traumatized that we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patty8888
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that you were able to have the time for a second look around, Patty8888, and that your first impressions didn't hinder you from enjoying the lush surroundings in the courtyard, the King bed (an upgrade from the Queen you booked), and the other amenities that are provided for our guests' use. Thank you for your comments; your... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Wife and I there for first time during for only one night (short visit). Location: very convenient and easy to get to (important because Charleston is rather difficult to drive in as a visitor). Carriage rides, Market St and waterfront are just moments away. Great restaurants within 3-4 blocks including Peninsula Grill and FIG. King Street shopping 2 blocks away.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Orville K
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kindly review of the Indigo Inn, and the immediate Charleston area, Orville K!!! We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were disappointed with the Indigo inn. The location is fantastic but the breakfast was not good and the bathroom was very small. The air conditioner was so loud I woke up every time it cycled on.The cost is good for what you get. Friendly staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review

Your comments have been noted, Jane S, and we appreciate your feedback!!! Thank you for taking the time to write. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

296 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
King Room (27)
Viewed
Queen Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Two Queen Beds (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,508 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,838 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $134 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay