We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

910 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 870: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The hotel was nice and clean, bed was comfortable. The only downside to hotel is the terrible entrance and exit. Where it sits traffic is heavy and coming and leaving can be scary. The view of the river would have been great but all of the balconies are locked and unaccesible and the windows were dirty so hard to see... More 

Helpful?
Thank cgaam5752
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is very nicely located on the entrance of the Charleston Historic District. It has a very nice view from the restaurant up to the river and the bridge across. The staff was very friendly and a shuttle bus into the historic district is offered

Helpful?
Thank EricStolwijk
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Typical old style Holiday inn, we booked for one night on the way to DC so we could visit historic Charleston. The location is just outside the historic district over the bridge nothing around it but highway which was fine for us we had an upper level room, ok for overnight, but there were earplugs provided with the shampoos so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gator58
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel wasn't clean, it had a dirty feel and look to it. The room furniture was old, there was no safety deposit box and the one offered at reception was so small a passport wouldn't fit in it. Only one lift working due to an energy surge. Room balcony doors were securely closed so you cannot go onto the... More 

Helpful?
Thank dee635
Jeremy M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Dear dee635, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate departments. The balcony doors are permanently closed due to safety and insurance. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle service, especially John one of our drivers. Thank you again for your comments. More 

Monroe, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would stay here again if necessary, but for the basic amenities that were lacking, I'd probably choose another hotel. We were overall satisfied, but the suggestions for better satisfaction would be complimentary coffee (water is currently available all day) and the option for muffins, or fruit as well. There is NO free breakfast here. We did enjoy the Sunday... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrittanyP99
Jeremy M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Dear BrittanyP99, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are a different type of Holiday Inn, since we offer a full restaurant and bar which most Holiday Inn's do not. Also, the design of our building, being round, makes for a different lay-out of our rooms. We are a unique hotel. I have forwarded your suggestion for... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Writing for wife a Platinum IHG member. I stayed one night. Overall impression was very negative. The front desk staff was the one and only bright point but could not overcome the negatives. Desk clerk claimed that my room was an upgrade. The room was small but adequate. The carpet was way past its prime and appeared to be dirty.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jeffreystern
Jeremy M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Dear jeffreystern, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We are a unique hotel in our design of the building, which makes our room set-up a little different that most other hotels. I apologize for the noise as well, we do offer ear plugs for anyone that needs... More 

Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The great things about this place include the Riverview, the location, access to their restaurant and breakfast buffet, the Business Center, adequate Fitness Center and the very hospitable Front Desk staffers. Namely, Heather and Jenn. The balconies are decorative only, and for safety reasons are locked shut, as they should be. The view in the restaurant and in some of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelchicMB
Jeremy M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Dear TravelchicMB, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I apologize for the inconveniences of the air conditioner and the cleanliness of your room. It is our goal to provide you with a clean room and we have failed, again I apologize. I'm pleased that you enjoyed all of other amenities such as our staff, views, beds, and... More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Happy to come here with a coach tour party,we had a room on the 9th floor .The restaurant is on the top floor and we had great views over the 2 bridges over the river and also Charleston historic district .Would come back again so we could see more of this lovely city. We would use this hotel again and... More 

Helpful?
Thank pedro41UxbridgeUk
Jeremy M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Dear pedro41UxbridgeUk, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our wonderful views. We hope to see you again soon when you are in the Charleston area. More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The pluses of this hotel are that it has a great restaurant space with good views across the river. It has a shuttle service which takes you to the centre of town running every 2 hours during the day and the room was Well maintained. The staff were helpful and friendly and we're obviously trying to do a good job,... More 

Helpful?
Thank PatchworkSally
Jeremy M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Dear PatchworkSally, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. It is our goal to provide you with excellent service and we have failed. I have forwarded your comments about the shuttle service and the your room to the appropriate departments so we can learn from our mistakes. I'm pleased you enjoyed... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This building has to be decades old and based on the stay we had in Bluffton, I didn't have high hopes but the room actually smelled acceptable. Room was reasonably clean but still old. View of the river but windows were old and the view wasn't really viewable through them. As we were on the road for 2 weeks we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Jeremy M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Susan B, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are an older property, however, we are in the process of making some updates. One of those updates we just completed was the restaurant and bar area. I apologize about the condition of the windows, I know how frustrating that can be. I'm pleased that you enjoyed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

633 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (221)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (337)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Double Queen View Room (35)
Viewed
King Suite (56)
Viewed
King View Room (41)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
3.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#29 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $104 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay