We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cannonboro Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cannonboro Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 364: English reviews
Start your review of Cannonboro Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very charming, old-school homey type feel. Perfect for couples. The inn keepers were all very nice and helpful with recommendations around town. We stayed in room 6-cute room however if you like to sleep in you will be woken by other guests walking past your room to breakfast at 8 am every morning, as our room was right next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
Ashley B, Manager at Cannonboro Inn, responded to this review

We love to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again soon!

North Bend, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay happened to be during the time Hurricane Matthew hit. The Inn used this as an opportunity to impose fees even after they said they wouldn't. There business ethics are questionable, and I would be concerned about doing a reservation into the future with this Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisbillingsley
Ashley B, Manager at Cannonboro Inn, responded to this review

Our lovely city at our Inns were fortunately spared during the destructive path of Hurricane Matthew. Our Innkeepers and Housekeepers worked around the clock as we did not close business to accommodate our wonderful guests and thankfully traffic back into Charleston was opened just a day after the storm passed the coast. We did cancel the reservations for the time...

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved this B&B. Very clean and comfortable. The location was ideal for us. The breakfast was delicious and we loved the afternoon snacks and wine.They were so nice to deal with. We will definitely be back! I would like to bring all my girlfriends!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stoiosdeana
Ashley B, Manager at Cannonboro Inn, responded to this review

We take great pride in our gourmet breakfasts and afternoon treats and love hearing our guests enjoy them! Please come stay with us on your next visit.

Westminster, Maryland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Cannonboro Inn. We were in room 3 and the bed is very comfortable.Everyone was pleasant and attentive to small details which made us feel welcomed. We liked the location because it is out of the hubbub of King Street but easily accessible to Market Street and Battery Street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mbjk123
Reviewed December 20, 2016 via mobile

We had a great night's stay and excellent breakfast the next morning! The location was great for us as it was just a short 5 minute drive from where we ate dinner and got drinks. We greatly appreciated the hospitality!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patr25
Austin, Texas
Reviewed December 14, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend to be near the synagogue and it was a great location for that. We were in rhe third floor suite which was really attic space. It had a nice sitting room and kitchen, a bedroom a day a long bathroom. Everything was very clean. There was a mix up with this and the Ashley which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert T
Ashley B, Manager at Cannonboro Inn, responded to this review

We hate to read this response as we take great care in making sure our guests are well taken care of during their stay with us. We have ample breakfast options and are happy to accommodate for any dietary restrictions or allergies. Both the Cannonboro and Ashley Inns are lovely and are quite similar and we hope you'll return to...

Reviewed December 2, 2016

We were looking forward to true southern hospital, grand breakfast, warm welcome. All left us very "meh". Our room was fine, but a little too cozy with small sink in room and toilet shower in a closet-like space. Evening wine hour was often unattended, wine or food depleted and nothing special. Breakfast eggs with ham and potatoes, no toast or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
Ashley B, Manager at Cannonboro Inn, responded to this review

We receive praise for our gourmet breakfasts which are made hot to order, so it saddens us to hear your opinion of our breakfast. Most hotels serve a continental breakfast with toast and bagels and we pride ourselves on a uniquely prepared plated breakfast for each of our guests. Of course we are happy to prepare whatever our guests would...

Deutschland
Reviewed November 16, 2016

We stayed at the Inn for two nights and were very satisfied with our stay. We had room number 1, which is right next to the main entrance and has windows facing the street. Still the room was very quiet and we had no trouble sleeping at all. Our room and the common areas of the Inn were absolutely clean....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HolgerDerCowboy
Ashley B, Manager at Cannonboro Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments!

San Francisco, California
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Period architecture is one of the major attractions of Charleston. Staying in this 1853 house converted to B&B is the perfect way to experience the city. The house is beautifully restored with a lovely side porch overlooking a garden. A delicious breakfast by the friendly staff gets your day off to a strong start. There is so much to do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PVWestie
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Reviewed October 1, 2016

Stayed 3 nights with these wonderful people while my husband was at MUSC. They were very kind and caring and made me very comfortable. Will definitely go back for a weekend escape. Great breakfast on the porch and happy hour in the afternoon! Lots of great restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine B
Ashley B, Manager at Cannonboro Inn, responded to this review

We understand having a loved one in the hospital can be a tough time and we are so happy we were able to offer an enjoyable stay during your time in our city. Thank you for your kind words and we hope all is well.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,652 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
2,618 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,906 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gorgeous historic inn (c. 1853) Located in the residential historic area of the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cannonboro Inn

Address: 184 Ashley Ave, Charleston, SC 29403-5824
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $185 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cannonboro Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cannonboro Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannonboro Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cannonboro Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
NYC

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cannonboro Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“all rooms are beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles catherinebZ7985II, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
“Helpful to be on first floor, so you don't have to lug luggage up.”
 of 5 bubbles ravioli39, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are kept super cold so make sure to bring a sweatshirt!”
 of 5 bubbles 108kaylak, Sep 15, 2016 | Read review
“We were there on "move in" weekend for college - probably not the best time since It added to congestion”
 of 5 bubbles millerbobert, Aug 26, 2016 | Read review
“" check in - park - and go. Or, (phone) check in - enjoy - and park.”
 of 5 bubbles jonathantk2016, Jul 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question