We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
292 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-1478
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/20
View Deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/20
View Deal
SAVE $28
Free cancellation until 08/20/20
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (23)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)


#8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Travelers' Choice
The Quarters on King provides the kind of privacy everyone expects and enjoys at home. More than hotel rooms, our one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens ensure no limit on personalizing the guest experience, going above and beyond what the typical hotel room offers.
Read more
Room & Suite (14)14
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
202Reviews1Q+A31Room tips


Earn 100 points towards your next badge level for every review you write
Traveler rating
  • 143
  • 33
  • 19
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cyndi A wrote a review Jan 2020
St. Augustine, Florida32 contributions3 helpful votes
Great time, great location! Loved the 2 bedroom loft. Girls weekend with 7 girls was not crowded at all. Loved the kitchen and living room. The stairs from the street to the 3rd floor were a bit challenging, but manageable. Unloading and loading your vehicle will take some planning, but otherwise it is perfect! Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Gary S wrote a review Nov 2019
Naples, Florida35 contributions11 helpful votes
We booked our room online. That was a mistake. This establishment is located downtown and the noise level proves it but the overall experience is worth it! Very clean and the operators are very nice! I would definitely go back again .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Andrew wrote a review Oct 2019
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware15 contributions2 helpful votes
One cannot find a more choice spot to stay to access Charleston. Easy short walks to restaurants and historic sites. Staff very helpful and attend to all of ones's needs. Units ave a kitchen to cook if one has the desire. Tastefully appointed. I have stayed here on 3 separate occasions.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Scott P wrote a review Oct 2019
Boston, Massachusetts159 contributions252 helpful votes
Stayed here in a 2br suite with my family of 4 (2 small kids) and it was perfect. Excellent location right off of King St, with shops and restaurants nearby. Room was clean, spacious and had all the amenities we needed. Living room area was nice to have, with a large TV + streaming services. Kitchen was fully equipped with full size refrigerator, dishwasher, etc Bedrooms were good size, beds comfortable. 2 bathrooms. Parking lot is a ~5-10 min walk away, but that was fine because we only used the car once or twice and mostly walked around the city.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
14 Helpful votes
sjt wrote a review Oct 2019
Chicago, Illinois16 contributions11 helpful votes
I do not understand how this hotel has a single good review. I checked in this afternoon with my two girlfriends and our room on the third floor was dirty, smelled of mildew and had significant water damage in the bathroom - see photos below. The unit was dirty-worn furniture and a bathroom cabinet that was hanging off the hinges. The unit smelled so badly of mildew that we did not even unpack our bags. We did not want to stay in the loft because of the horrible smell, and were treated like absolute garbage by the hotel manager, who was not even on the property and we spoke to by phone. It was obvious that the manager was aware of the water damage in the bathroom, and there have been attempts to cover it up. After arguing with the manager on the phone, I found another hotel and we left. Other than the location on king street, this place is truly disgusting. And, we checked tonight and management listed the mildew filled room as available on its site, so they truly have no regard for the safety of guests. Beware of this hotel!! Our room looked nothing like the photos online.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Response from Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King
Responded Oct 12, 2019
Hi SJT, It is never our intention to have someone have a bad experience at our property! I apologize for the issues that occurred and that I was unable to be there during the incident. I did share with you that I was out of town when we spoke on the phone but I agree with you, I absolutely should have been at the hotel during these issues. Please know that we did not intentionally try and cover up the water damage. The pictures my staff sent me did show an issue that was not your fault and you should have not had to deal with. I had not been made aware of the issues until that day. When we spoke, I fully admitted fault, offered to refund your stay in full, and assist you with booking another property. At the time, those resolutions were unsatisfactory and unacceptable for you. For that, I apologize. I was happy to hear that you were able to book another great Charleston hotel at a lesser rate! I can assure you that there is no mildew in the room. We made sure of that and fixed the drywall damage before relisting the room the following night. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Charleston and I am sorry for the poor experience you had with us! Safe Travels!
Read more
$191 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Quarters on King
Which popular attractions are close to The Quarters on King?
Nearby attractions include The 34 West Theater Company (0.2 miles), Pounce Cat Cafe (0.1 miles), and Kahal Kadosh Beth Elohim (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Quarters on King?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, baggage storage, and parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Quarters on King?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at The Quarters on King?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Quarters on King?
Conveniently located restaurants include Charleston Grill, Peninsula Grill, and Christophe Patissier-Chocolatier.
Is The Quarters on King located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Charleston.
Are there any historical sites close to The Quarters on King?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Church (0.5 miles), Kahal Kadosh Beth Elohim (0.10 miles), and McLeod Plantation Historic Site (2.7 miles).