We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

King Charles Inn

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Special Offer
Stay More Save More
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
King Charles Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,420: English reviews
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
299 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We go back every other year and always stay here. The location is perfect, the hotel extremely well maintained and the service a cut above. There truly is no other place we would stay when in town. The proximity to the market and restaurants also makes it one of the most convenient.

Helpful?
2 Thank stones2125
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty! Thank you for sharing your positive experience with others! See you next time! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our room. Spacious. Themed accessories of shower curtain, cups and complimentary water bottles. A welcome bag of goodies and an Anniversary surprise of champagne. Afternoon wine and morning traveling cups of coffee. Staff totally made all arrangements for our trips to plantation, Ft. Sumter, and carriage ride. Location was central to all. Never moved the car the entire time... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jus4med
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for noticing the small touches! It is important that we continue to exceed the guests expectations! We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again someday! More 

Centerville, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

King Charles Inn is situated right in the middle of the historic district. Caught an Uber to dinner for $5. Walking distance to all of the shopping and site seeing downtown. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Business center came in handy. Happy Hour and breakfast in the pub were very enjoyable. The room was well appointed.

Helpful?
Thank lisadianne00
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Charleston! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn! More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't say enough about it. Perfect spot to see all the sites,close to the restaurants,trolley stops right in front if you aren't inclined to walk. Our room 228 was very large very clean. All the staff was as friendly as you could ask for, will make reservations,call cabs anything you needed they did their best to accommodate.The cafe has a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harry L
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your awesome review with others. I appreciate your kind words recognizing our staff and I will certainly pass on my kudos to them! Thank you again for staying with us! Have a great day! More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a cute place to stay in the historic district. Being in the historic district, it's expected that the rooms be on the smaller side. We had a standard king, and there was enough room (just barely) for our stuff as well as a pack n play for our son. My parents had a different king room, and it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mica178
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with others about your stay at the King Charles Inn! We appreciate your business and hope you had a wonderful time in the Holy City! More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the King Charles during our vacation with our 15 year old son. This was our first trip to Charleston. We picked the hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews; the advice was good. The hotel is within walking distance of all of the old city sights. It's stylishly decorated with modern conveniences, very clean, and welcoming. The pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank BlueDog10
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn! More 

Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, pleasant staff. However, the room (229) was small, even by European standards . The room was quite worn, although the lobby looked polished. The room (next to the street) was very noisy due to traffic and the room AC. The pool was also tiny. No complimentary breakfast provided. The hotel bar was never open. Room rate for July... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 034632
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate your candid feedback. I am sorry you missed BREW Pub and Cafe it is open daily 6:30am-10:30am for breakfast and then again 3pm-11pm for drinks. Room 229 is a smaller queen bedded room but for the future, please know we offer both larger King and double-bedded rooms. I do hope however, you return again someday. Thank you. More 

Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were very disappointed in our stay at King Charles Inn. We had read several different reviews and travel websites that stated they offered a complimentary evening reception each night from 4-6 with complimentary wine. This amenity is what made us choose this particular hotel over many others. We were told when we checked in that they no longer offered... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sparks717
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate your feedback and apologize again for any misunderstanding. We poured complimentary wine as a gesture of goodwill for a couple of weeks due to a temporary issue with our liquor license. We have always offered a Welcome Reception 4:30-5:30pm with complimentary cheese, crackers, fruit and $1 off drink prices but have never advertised free wine on our website.... More 

Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friends and I visited Charleston earlier this week. We stayed at the King Charles Inn for one night. We all agreed that we will return one day. The location is perfect and within walking distance to the market, Waterfront Park, shopping and many restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. We checked out in the morning and left our... More 

Helpful?
Thank BaBrown
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I am excited to hear you will return to the King Charles again! Thank you for the positive feedback! More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on a Sunday and stayed until Friday. We were upgraded to a deluxe king room and it was large with a big balcony. The room was clean and well decorated. The bathroom had a large vanity. The staff was friendly and very helpful. This place is a gem in the center of everything. We managed to work out,... More 

Helpful?
Thank BillnTN
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

We look forward to your return! Thank you for the awesome feedback! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

684 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (238)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (396)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedded Room (89)
Viewed
Deluxe Junior Suite (96)
Viewed
King Bedded Room (86)
Viewed
Pool (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,437 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Restoration
#5 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#25 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,364 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $201 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay