We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District

Save
Share
560 King St, Charleston, SC 29403-5520
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$257
View deal
Booking.com
$257
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$250
View deal
Travelocity$257
Hotels.com$257
travelup.com$279
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (239)
360
Panoramas (29)
Room & Suite (239)

About

#41 of 80 hotels in Charleston
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Our newly opened 113-room hotel is located in Charleston's Upper King Historic District with shopping, attractions, and over 25 restaurants within 0.3 miles. Offering residential-style accommodations with full-kitchens and upscale amenities. Guests will enjoy daily complimentary breakfast and free WiFi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1168Reviews33Q+A90Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 690
  • 284
  • 100
  • 46
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tammy P wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
All staff were fantastic. Even the gentleman taking out the trash was friendly and courteous. Room and bed was comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. Free public transportation around downtown area was super easy to navigate and drivers were helpful and friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jmarisilva72 wrote a review Sep 2022
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina2 contributions
Hotel staff were very friendly, informative and accommodating. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The hot breakfast was wonderful and the food was replenished immediately. Great location for walking to many areas of downtown Charleston. We look forward to future stays.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District
Responded yesterday
We take great pride in offering an authentic southern experience here with our charm and dedication. We are thrilled this stood out and made your stay special. I cannot wait to pass along your compliments to everyone here at Hyatt House Charleston/Historic District. We would love to have you back anytime!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
craiginfriday wrote a review Sep 2022
Madison, Mississippi1 contribution
If you are looking for a nice relaxing weekend get-away, this is a great place to stay. There are plenty of options for local shopping and dining. Although I was here on a business trip, there would be plenty to do if you want to get away for a date.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for sharing your recommendation with us, Craig! Whether staying for business or pleasure, it's always our goal to provide everything our guests need for a relaxing escape in Charleston. We're thrilled that you recognized this during your recent stay and we'd love to welcome you back for another five-star experience soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laurateal789 wrote a review Sep 2022
Dallas, Texas1 contribution
I was in town for a business meeting and the majority of us staying at the hotel had issues with our rooms. And at least 4 had to switch. My AC stopped working properly half way through my stay and there was a lack of urgency to resolve the issue. There was also no follow through, so I had to keep letting the staff know that it still wasn’t working. For the price and the Hyatt brand, I was very disappointed. It wasn’t terrible, but I do think I could have a similar experience for a cheaper price
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Laura for sharing your review. We sincerely regret that we missed the opportunity to better assist you during your visit as your comfort is very important to us. We will address your feedback with our team to ensure we are always providing the best service. Whether you are in the area for business or pleasure, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back so that we can create a perfect stay for you and renew your trust in us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tharisicia wrote a review Sep 2022
tallahassee41 contributions16 helpful votes
While the location is ideal - we were within walking distance of all the touristy spots the hotel itself didn't meet our Hyatt level expectations. We booked a one bedroom "suite". The living space was a good sized area. The bedroom was extremely small. Not enough room to open our suitcase on the stand so we put it in the living area. The bathroom was super close to the bed and because there wasn't enough space to have a standard door, there was a sliding door that didn't have a guide on the bottom or a handle to fully pull the door closed. Because of this and the lock not working we couldn't "close" the bathroom door or have privacy while using the bathroom. It felt more like an extended stay hotel than the Hyatt we've become accustomed to. Parking was either valet or use the public parking garage right next to the hotel. We chose public parking for the cost. After walking King Street - If we visit Charleston again we'll stay elsewhere.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we are pleased you found our location to be ideal, it is disheartening to learn that several aspects of your guest room fell short of expectations. We appreciate your input on our room layout and we will be sure to address your concerns about the bathroom door with our maintenance team. Please know, our staff is always available should you need anything during your stay and it would be our pleasure to assist you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day for a better experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BabsMN wrote a review Sep 2022
MN233 contributions34 helpful votes
We stayed 2 nights at Hyatt Place in a king suite a few weeks ago. We have been to many Hyatts so we knew what to expect. The room was clean, comfortable and very spacious. While we did not use the kitchen it seemed to be well equipped. Only negative would be the shower, as stated here it's kind of dark and feels old. The location was good, we were able to walk to restaurants on King Street. The valet worked great, we never waited more that 5-10 minutes for our car. One of the best Hyatt breakfasts we have found. All of the basic items but also bacon and sausage along with biscuits and gravy. Nice big area too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your terrific four-star review of Hyatt House Charleston/Historic District! We loved hosting you and are delighted to know that our incredible location and delicious hot breakfast were the highlights of your stay. We do regret if your guest room's shower fell short of your expectations and we will share your feedback internally to see where updates may be needed. Please make plans to visit us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
T.Anderson wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Brad was quick with the Valet. Hotel was everything we needed. Perfect stay. Nice clean room. Good morning breakfast with lots of selections. Staff overall amazing. Great recommendations for the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District
Responded 3 weeks ago
We enjoyed providing swift and personal service to meet your every need, especially Brad! It's a joy to read this made your stay at Hyatt House Charleston/Historic District memorable. We wish to welcome you back whenever you are in Charleston! Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John Edward M wrote a review Aug 2022
St Augustine FL, United States19 contributions30 helpful votes
The Hotel is exactly what you'd expect from a Hyatt place - backed-up valet parking, confusing entrance and friendly, very helpful, young staff. We stay at these hotels often and like the cleanliness, design and access to the rooms. It takes a gps to find the hotel off of King street but be thankful that it is set off from the street. We were there on a Saturday night and the party that spontaneously erupted on King morphed into a debauched frat outing. When we returned after midnight, the road was half closed, revelers were out of control and the streets were awash with trash and vomit. If I were 30 years younger this might have appealed to me. These days not so much. To the city's credit the next morning the cleanup crews were out in force. And any other time this seems to be terrific location with shops, restaurants and entertainment all within an easy walk. I'd stay in this hotel any weekday. But to paraphrase an old song, 'never on Saturday'. Lastly, the valet parking app didn't work for me, but the valet himself was spot-on. Nothing but good things to say about the staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing Hyatt House Charleston/Historic District for your visit to the area, John! While we regret any confusion you experienced upon arrival, we're happy to know that our warm hospitality and clean, comfortable accommodations impressed you. Your comments will be shared with our valet team to see how we can improve, and we hope you'll give us the opportunity to make your next stay truly seamless from beginning to end!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Victoria W wrote a review Aug 2022
Morehead City, North Carolina255 contributions23 helpful votes
We had a wonderful time. Our small bachelorette party stayed here for a weekend and had the best time. The breakfast and coffee was fantastic, the service was great. The indoor pool and fitness rooms were top notch. Will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Parking garage next to hotel is $18 per day, other option is valet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District
Responded 4 weeks ago
Victoria, we're so glad that you chose Hyatt House Charleston/Historic District for your bachelorette celebrations, and we appreciate your rave remarks about our delicious dining, top-notch amenities, and attentive service! It was our pleasure to ensure that your getaway was one to remember, and we hope you'll make plans to visit us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kenchan3148 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We booked a 2 bedroom/2bath for personal and business. My son got stuck in the bathroom and couldn't get out as the door was jammed and broken. We had to call maintenance to get him out. They told us they couldn't fix the problem immediately as it was a Sunday night and they could only come back to rectify the next day. Fast forward to the end of our stay and issue was still not rectified.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reaching out to us about your experience. The issue you have described with your bathroom door is certainly not typical nor reflective of our high standards for maintenance, and we sincerely apologize that our team missed the opportunity to rectify the situation while you were still with us. Your feedback will be used to make the necessary repairs, and we can assure you that we will be discussing this further to ensure more responsive service in the future. Please allow us another chance to show you the quality stay you expected and deserve.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$219 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
113
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District
Which popular attractions are close to Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District?
Nearby attractions include Time Traveler Escape Games (0.05 miles), Forte Jazz Lounge (0.3 miles), and Barsa Tapas, Lounge, & Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sugar Bakeshop, Jeni's Splendid Ice Creams, and The Darling Oyster Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hyatt House Charleston - Historic District?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Church (1.3 miles), McLeod Plantation Historic Site (2.8 miles), and Nathaniel Russell House (1.4 miles).