The Spectator Hotel
Traveler (594)
Room & Suite (77)
The Spectator Hotel
Videos (7)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, Jun 6
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 3 left at
$429
Fully refundable before Thu, Jun 6
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 3 left at
$429
$369
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#2 of 77 hotels in Charleston
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
This property has identified as Veteran-owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
The only luxury boutique hotel in downtown Charleston with classically-trained butlers for a premier service, both attentive and individualized. A perfectly curated combination of Historic Charleston charm and luxurious urban amenities, The Spectator Hotel is just steps away from iconic destinations and award-winning cuisines. Distinctive guest rooms and suites exude 1920s glamor, with a refreshingly modern take. Local Southern Lady Mattresses and luxurious linens offer sumptuous slumber; and a gourmet continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning. Elegance over excess, discreet service over gaudy sensation, we anticipate our guests’ desires and service their every need, so they can look and feel their very best.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Children's television networks
Car hire
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:10% OFF, $25 Hotel Credit + More

Location

67 State St, Charleston, SC 29401-2012
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Charleston Intl Airport
10.6 mi
See all flights
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles1,308 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Spectator Hotel garners high marks for its spotless rooms and keen attention to detail, with many guests celebrating its cleanliness. Nestled in the vibrant heart of Charleston, its prime location is a hit among travelers eager to explore nearby attractions. The hotel's service wins accolades, from the dedicated butler service to the complimentary breakfast served in rooms adorned with elegant decor. Guests have called out the luxurious touches like free snacks and beverages, adding to the hotel's exceptional value and boutique charm.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Exceptional
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,308Review21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,196
  • 80
  • 19
  • 8
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
christieSpartanburg wrote a review Jan 2024
spartanburg7 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
RUN to this hotel! Absolutely fabulous! Not one detail has been overlooked. Butlers are AMAZING! We loved Jim! Breakfast in our room each morning was delicious! Room was beautiful! Comfortable beds! Snacks and drinks provided and refilled in rooms daily. Complimentary cocktails upon arrival. Lobby bar is just gorgeous!

EVERY employee was friendly! We barely had a wish or need, but it was covered immediately if we did!

1000% recommend! We visit Charleston all of the time and will never stay anywhere else! None of the other “nicer” hotels compare!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlo Carroccia, General Manager at The Spectator Hotel
Responded Jan 22, 2024
Dear ChristieSpartanburg, Greetings from downtown Charleston and The Spectator Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review of our luxury boutique property. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous experience and that you loved every minute of it. Your kind words are truly appreciated by the entire team, especially Jim, who was delighted to hear that he made your stay extra special. We are also pleased that you slept well in our comfortable beds and enjoyed our complimentary snacks and drinks and of course our complimentary cocktail upon arrival. It goes without saying that we are overjoyed that we are your new preferred hotel in Charleston and we cannot wait to welcome you back. When you do decide to return, do not hesitate to contact us directly so that we may personally assist you with your reservation. Until next time, take care! With highest regards, Carlo Carroccia General Manager Tel: +1-866-476-4212; Email: info@thespectatorhotel.com **Please book directly with us and benefit from our preferred rates and insider perks or visit our website - thespectatorhotel.com - for our most up to date offers**
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan B wrote a review Jul 2020
Atlanta, Georgia928 contributions341 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was coming to Charleston for a business trip anyways, but my wife and I decided to leave early and spend the July 4th weekend together. We spent 3 nights in The Spectator and couldn’t have been more pleased. The hotel itself is about a 25 minute Uber from CHS airport and is walking distance to most all the sites like the historic Market Street shopping (next door) and the beautiful waterfront. We were greeted immediately by Nick and while our room wasn’t ready they checked our bags and he gave us information and recommendations for a great lunch nearby. When we came back we were greeted by David the Butler who escorted us to our room and showed us all the amenities which included a Nespresso coffee maker and a fridge with snacks/beverages on the house. The room was quite large with lots of light and a very nice, huge bathroom with all the toiletries you would expect from a luxury hotel. We came down and were treated to welcome drinks in their bar which were fantastic. Breakfast is included and is served in your room each morning at your time of choosing – it was a fantastic way to start the day. There are many great restaurants and bars in the vicinity you can walk to and if you are interested in visiting the breweries of North Charleston it is only a 10 minute Uber from the hotel and they pick you up right outside the main door. My business meetings started late in the day on Monday and they gave us a very generous late checkout for free as well. I can’t say enough about the great experience with had with the hotel and the staff, they were amazing. I’d like to give a special shout to the bartender (I believe her name was Rose) who was a zesting expert and offered great information about the breweries as well. Lastly, we were a little concerned about traveling during the COVID pandemic and this hotel was spotless. There was hand sanitizer offered at the front door, the staff wore masks and the cleaning of the room each day was immaculate. Thank you all for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlo Carroccia, General Manager at The Spectator Hotel
Responded Jul 13, 2020
Dear "Ryan B", Greetings from The Spectator Hotel! Thank you for taking some time to provide this 5-star review and share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community! We appreciate you complimenting our central city location, our well appointed guest rooms, our inclusive luxury amenities, and our commitment to cleanliness, safety, and security. It is also great to know that so many of our colleagues made a positive impression on your stay, as we are very fortunate to have a great team of dedicated service professionals. Thank you for being our valued guest. Please come visit us again in the near future and enjoy the rest of your day! Warmest wishes, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
49406Re_Act wrote a review Jan 2020
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina26 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We typically take a night each year and splurge on a hotel and dinner in Charleston, SC. This year we really splurged on a suite at Spectator. While the location right by City Market is perfect for tourist stuff, right now it also means construction noise and bad views. That wasn’t revealed upon booking or when our butler showed us our room. I would also caution making sure your room doesn’t have the adjoining room option, because just as I was drifting off to sleep in the gorgeous bed with perfect linens, the next door people decided to party for awhile. It sounded like they were in our room. That said, the service is perfect, the staff more than accommodating and the amenities are plentiful. I am a terrible sleeper and next time I book a 5 star hotel and pay big bucks, I will ask for a quiet room away from a construction site and without the adjoining room option. I would go back if these needs could be met. It’s a gorgeous property.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlo C, General Manager at The Spectator Hotel
Responded Jan 10, 2020
Dear "49406Re_Act", Greetings from The Spectator! I am sorry that some external factors took away from your sleep experience at the hotel. We do offer sound sleep noise reduction machines in all of our guest rooms to try to promote healthy sleep; I am sorry that we did not point this out to you when you arrived. That said, we are glad that you thought our service was perfect, that our bedding and linens were comfortable, and that our amenities gave you joy. We really appreciate your compliments and are glad you had a lovely stay. We'd love to have you back again and we thank you for being our valued guest! All the best, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
annaruthMadison_MS wrote a review Apr 2021
Madison, MS13 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Spectator for our first visit to Charleston and choose it for its location and reviews from other travelers. We were not disappointed! The staff here is excellent, engaging and ready to do anything to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel is located steps away from the Market and once we parked the car, we didn’t need it for anywhere we wanted to go in the City. Charleston is very walkable and The Spectator’s location makes it a breeze to go to King Street shopping, the Battery or a large assortment of good restaurants. Check in was quick, effortless and accompanied by the welcome cocktail of the day (a nice surprise). We were shown to our room by Chuck, one of the butlers, who gave us a good orientation on not only the room but the surrounding area and also asked if he could assist with any dinner reservations or recommendations. We had a premier balcony suite which offered a large king bedroom with a sitting area and small balcony. The bed was very comfortable and you get an assortment of complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic drinks that are replenished daily or more often if you want. Our bathroom was spacious with a double vanity and shower. The balcony was set with two chairs and we had an offset view of the Ravenel Bridge; the balcony is a little tight on leg room but great for a quick morning coffee. We can’t say enough about the staff here. They are great and would be an example to anyone in the hospitality business. From the front desk to housekeeping to the butlers (yes, they have butlers and they are very good-shout out to Javon and Chuck), if you need something, they will make very effort to fill your request. From sunscreen to dinner recommendations to those benne cookies, if you need it, just ask and it will appear in a jiffy. When we visited, they were only offering a continental breakfast that you can make night before choices on (fill out a sheet) and it will come the next morning when you want it. There was not a seated restaurant nor normal room service. This may have been due to their COVID protocols; there was a short list of bar food for room delivery. On the main floor is a small bar that looked nice but we did not venture in to check it out. One side note, there is another hotel going up next door and we actually stayed on that side of the hotel. I’m not sure of the construction crew schedule, but the noise level was not a problem for us as they started work around 7 am and did no night work; even when they were working, the soundproofing in the room negated the noise. Don’t let this deter you from staying here though as the attributes of The Spectator outweigh any of the next door construction issues in our opinion. All in all, The Spectator was a wonderful experience and made a great home base during our stay in Charleston
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlo Carroccia, General Manager at The Spectator Hotel
Responded Apr 20, 2021
Dear "annaruthMadison_MS", Thank you so much for providing this thoughtful and detailed review of our luxury boutique property, The Spectator! It is wonderful to hear how relaxed you felt during your stay, and that our amenities, ambiance, bedding, were all to your liking. More importantly, I was happy to know that Chuck, Javon, and the rest of our team helped you feel welcomed and pampered with their anticipatory service. On behalf of the entire staff, I thank you for being our guest and look forward to seeing you back on your next Charleston trip. Kindest regards, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JustBeU1111 wrote a review Jul 2020
Jupiter, Florida49 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our recent stay at The Spectator Hotel was what true 5 Star travel and hospitality experience should be like. I travel a bit and I can firmly say that I was pleased ( and loved ) so much about this hotel. We were in Room 104. Most definitely one of the most comfortable mattresses, the towels are ohhhh so heavenly, the shower is huge with great water pressure , the complimentary mini bar drinks and snacks that they will replenish at your request ( aka endless Gummy Bears ) and even the amount of lighting . There were individually packaged sanitizer wipes everywhere and at no point in time did I even so much as worry about the cleanliness of our room or the hotel. It seems it is quite the location to be right there at the market , but the market was mostly closed. Great walking distance to many sights!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlo Carroccia, General Manager at The Spectator Hotel
Responded Jul 20, 2020
Dear "JustBeU1111", Thank you for writing this glowing 5-star review of our luxury boutique hotel, The Spectator! It is wonderful to know how much you enjoyed your time with us. It makes me smile to know that you slept well, appreciated our inclusive food items, and that our location allowed you to experience Charleston to the fullest. Additionally, we thank you for complimenting us on our cleanliness and safety protocols, as these are top priorities for us. Finally, thanks for sharing your lovely photos with the online travel community (especially the gummy bear one, ha!) We hope to see you again soon and wish you all the best! With sincere thanks, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon N wrote a review Mar 2020
Asheville, North Carolina7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's easy to see why The Spectator was rated the #1 hotel in Charleston. My wife and I had an absolutely amazing time at our stay here. Not only is the hotel immaculate and full of details, comfort and character, but ALL of the people who work here are truly incredible. You can easily tell that they all really care about their guests and go out of their way to ensure your stay is as perfect as possible. Everyone is genuinely friendly, caring and accommodating. The breakfast in bed each morning was delicious, and the hotel's location was unbeatable. We will 100% be staying at The Spectator again the next time we visit Charleston.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlo C, General Manager at The Spectator Hotel
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear "Simon N", You are very kind to write this 5-star TripAdvisor review - thank you for the compliments! From all of us at The Spectator, we share our gratitude to you and your wife as our valued guests. It is lovely to hear that you received exceptional service from every staff member, enjoyed your complimentary breakfast, and found valued in our central Charleston location. We are honored to have earned your business and can't wait to see you again. All the best to you! Sincerely, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Corey M wrote a review Jun 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you would like to feel pampered in luxury at a reasonable price, then you will want to stay at the Spectator Hotel. The location provides you with several options within walking distance, for food, history, shops, waterfront etc. we took them up on their recommendations for dinner, activities, and were very pleased with them all. We had 4 teenagers with us and they all now have an expectation of service which might be bad for other hotels!!
If we are ever back in Charleston, this will be our choice of lodging.....I would come back just for the luxurious bathrooms!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlo C, General Manager at The Spectator Hotel
Responded Jun 15, 2020
Dear "412coreym", Greetings from The Spectator Hotel, located in the heart of Charleston ! Thank you so much for providing your feedback to the TripAdvisor community in this detailed 5-star review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our luxurious boutique ambiance, our central downtown location, our well appointed guest rooms and bathrooms, and our personalized service. We are very appreciative of you and your family for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back again. All the best to you and enjoy the rest of your day! Warmest regards, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen B wrote a review Sep 2020
Blythewood30 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for a short isolation getaway to Charleston and this was our second stay at The Spectator Hotel. It did not disappoint. In addition to their already "over the top" service, the hotel and staff had implemented safely measures that made us feel very comfortable with our decision. Days before our arrival, I spoke with Nick, the concierge, to ask about the protocols. He was very helpful and professional. Everyone was masked up and you couldn't miss all the hand sanitizing stations and packets. Enough about Covid though. The Spectator has beautifully appointed rooms and I even inquired about the manufacturer of the mattress. It is so comfy, I think I just might have to have one. They have superb butlers (thanks David), great in-room breakfast options, and the Spectator bar is one of my favorites in all of Charleston. The ambience is very relaxing and the craft cocktails by Alan and his crew are top notch. The location is perfect for walking to all your favorite spots. I love this hotel and can't wait to return. Cannot recommend enough. Thanks to everyone for a memorable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlo Carroccia, General Manager at The Spectator Hotel
Responded Sep 9, 2020
Dear "NonnaBBlythewood", Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about your recent experience at The Spectator Hotel! On behalf of the entire hotel team, thank you for your kind words about our luxury boutique property. It was a pleasure to serve you and I was very much delighted to hear that Nick, David, Allen, and the rest of our colleagues made such a positive impression on you. These compliments will be shared with our entire team, as this will continue to motivate them to provide exceptional service to each one of our guests. If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to let me know. Thank you for staying at The Spectator, and we hope to see you again ! Sincerely, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chillin wrote a review Dec 2020
Houston, Texas52 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
An open letter review to future guests,

This hotel is not listed properly online. This hotel has major construction + an entire building being erected next door (within 2 feet from your window). They did not inform us on the phone, nor on their website there was any construction going on. I read countless reviews of 5 stars not ONE mentioning construction, come to find out I find there sister hotel Harbor Inn has some of the same reviews, real sketch.. not saying there paying for good reviews but that hotel ALSO has a massive construction site across the street with 0 mention in the reviews. Usually these hotels go for $300-400, the lower prices make sense now. Also if you didn't know this hotel group owns about 10 hotels in Charleston.

They would not offer a refund, nor change our room, wanted to actually up charge us to change rooms, shocking. We saw 0 guests in the hotel during our 12 hour stay. We checked out immediately the next morning due to them not working with us or offering a refund.

As far as amenities and service go, their so called "butler" services were non existent. Nobody to help us unload our luggage, one guy showed me how the "fridge works" but that was the extent of "butler" services after checking in. It's basically concierge but every time in the lobby there was only one staff member who looked unhappy to be there. If COVID changed anything it should have been posted but they told us at check in our "butler" would be there to help, what butler?! The free snacks and waters in the room were a small bonus however the snacks were stale and they only offered water, sparkling water, and some jalapeno strawberry drink (no alcohol). This hotel is run down in the rooms, could call it charm of historical value or blatant negligence in repair and lack of care. Also the free breakfast is a joke, PRO TIP: select 3-5 of each item. If you selected every time on the breakfast menu it would all fit within a cereal bowl.

While this hotel might be good without construction, this is NOT the place to stay currently if your looking for sleep or staff willing to help you out. Didn't even offer to comp the $36 valet that took 30 minutes every time. They also told me it's been going on a year and I see no reviews reflecting construction (very interesting). Advice to Spectator, shut it down until construction finishes, or help your guests actually, or post it online that your under construction and MAJOR construction next door. Thanks for wasting $500. Note: See Photos
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Chose another hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jules Sauer, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spectator Hotel
Responded Dec 15, 2020
Dear Chillin: Greetings from Charleston. Thank you for posting your review to the online travel community rating your recent experience with us at The Spectator Hotel. We certainly appreciate your candid feedback and are disappointed to learn that your stay fell short in meeting your expectations. We would have loved the opportunity to rectify and work to overcome the issues listed; but we did not learn about those until after your departure. While we communicate with all our guests before their stay informing them of our amended services during this pandemic, the construction site across the street from the hotel and our commitment to cleanliness, this was just not possible in your case given the nature of your reservation (same day booking through an online site that does not provide guest contact information). The online site you booked and paid through has contacted the hotel regarding your stay, your review and experience as well. Our butlers take great pride in servicing all our guests and providing exceptional service to shape memorable moments and we are disappointed to learn you did not get to experience such personalized service firsthand. The options provided by our team to offer alternate accommodations and steeply discounted rates for a possible stay extension were not satisfactory. We hope you will reconsider staying at our property in the future and when your travels do bring you back to Charleston, please contact me directly as I would be happy to provide assistance to you and your family.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DuaneSandul wrote a review May 2022
Hendersonville, North Carolina241 contributions159 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is overpriced and overrated. As worldwide travelers we thought this was a can’t miss hotel based on its raving reviews. But not for our two nights. Our overpriced room was small. The bathroom was nearly as large as the room. The so-called “butler” service is a joke. They’re bellmen/bellwomen. This is the ONLY hotel that charged me, $10 per night, to charge my Tesla in their $38 a night parking lot. That’s an outrage. They promote “room service breakfast” because they cannot accommodate breakfast if eight people showed up downstairs. The breakfast choices are uninspired and the egg choice is inedible. The front desk personnel is hit n’ miss. Some are what they should be – friendly, helpful. Others keep their heads down and/or hide in the office. We left the room at 730 am one morning and asked if the room could be cleaned by 2 pm. It wasn’t. The morning of checkout, and we’re on the fourth floor, the elevator is not working. We have physical restraints that preclude us carrying the suitcases downstairs. When I called, the unfriendly, unhelpful clerk said, “yah, it’s broken. I’ll send someone up when they have time.” I then ran into an employee walking on the floor who told me about a service elevator and he took all of our stuff down. The clerk/receptionist said nary a word about it. We have choices when we travel, and this hotel is more expensive than several Charleston options. This hotel clearly does not warrant what we paid. I for one will advise my friends to never stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carlo Carroccia, General Manager at The Spectator Hotel
Responded May 11, 2022
Dear "DuaneSandul", Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that you were unhappy during your visit overall. Please allow me to sincerely apologize for failing to deliver exceptional service and falling short in meeting your expectations. We did recognize a potential safety concern with our guest elevator and did need to shut it down for a couple of hours as we worked to get it repaired later that day. I do apologize that our team didn't properly communicate with you on this instance and for other times during your stay. Your feedback is very important as it helps to guide us to continually improve ourselves, as I can assure you that your experience is not the norm. We do hope that you reconsider and thank you for your time sir. Best regards, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Carlo C
Charleston, South Carolina7 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Atomicat, Thank you so much for reaching out to us! We do have gluten free, dairy free, and vegan options available as part of our inclusive breakfast. As we are in a peninsula, parking options are limited. That said, depending on the size of your vehicle, we have covered parking or outdoor parking - all valet parking areas are safe. Please email us at frontdesk@thespectator. com or call 843-724-4326 to connect with one of our team members, as we would be happy to assist ! Warmest regards, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Answer from Carlo C
Charleston, South Carolina7 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear "Brenda H", Providing a tip or gratuity is always appreciated in the hotel business and never expected. Our butlers perform a variety of personalized services for hotel guests, so you may choose to provide a tip for each service, or a total amount at the end of your stay. Resources such as TripAdvisor and Emily Post Institute provide travel/resource guides that list specific dollar amounts that are appropriate. However, feel free to be as generous as you like, if you feel that the service you have received is worthy of it. I hope this information is helpful! Best regards, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Answer from Dragontears1
Medford,nj4 contributions1 helpful vote
We tipped him at the end of our stay and I think we gave him a few hundred. He was excellent and was very attentive.
Kelli T asked a question May 2021
Frisco, Texas90 contributions70 helpful votes
Is there a pool?
Answer from Carlo C
Charleston, South Carolina7 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Kelli T, As a smaller boutique hotel, we unfortunately do not have a pool on-site. Other downtown hotels such as Market Pavilion Hotel, Belmond Charleston Place, Hotel Bennett, and The Mills House are options that do have pools. We hope this information is helpful to you. Please let us know if you have any further questions! Warm regards, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Answer from Carlo C
Charleston, South Carolina7 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Jenn, Yes - the unaffiliated construction project across the street is still underway, with an anticipated completion of August-September of this year. That said, the majority of the exterior of the new building has been completed already, and by city noise ordinance, the project work is limited in which hours they can work (7:30a-6p). We hope this information is helpful to you. Thank you and enjoy the rest of your day ! Best regards, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Edward D wrote a tip Apr 2024
Old Bridge, New Jersey67 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early "
Read full review
Sandra N wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You won’t be disappointed. This is a lovely and very efficient hotel."
Read full review
Liz S wrote a tip Mar 2024
Washington DC, District of Columbia16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This hotel only has 40'ish rooms. Book soon so they do not sell out if you're considering staying here."
Read full review
Tricia N wrote a tip Mar 2024
Albert Lea, Minnesota2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tipping isn't required, but the service is so good you may want to! Have a little cash on hand!"
Read full review
Colin S wrote a tip Jan 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ideally situated for a number of the attractions we wanted to visit."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Charleston area.
PRICE RANGE
$400 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SPECTATOR HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Spectator Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Spectator Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Nightly Spirits (0.05 miles), Tour Charleston With Adam (0.2 miles), and Escape in 60 (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Spectator Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Spectator Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Spectator Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Spectator Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Spectator Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include 82 Queen, Bitty & Beau's Coffee, and Revival.
Is The Spectator Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Charleston.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Spectator Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Spectator Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Church (0.3 miles), Nathaniel Russell House (0.5 miles), and McLeod Plantation Historic Site (2.9 miles).
Does The Spectator Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Spectator Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Charleston HotelsCharleston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CharlestonHotels near The Spectator Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars