We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

630 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 611: English reviews
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great experience. Staff was great very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean and comfortable and close to the medical university were my Father was having surgery. Would recommend this motel to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Patti B
San Francisco area, CA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Breakfast was completely adequate, it seems that the front desk was constantly crowded, they had two computers both with printers for guests in the lobby, tv too. Location was ok. Our room was a good size for 3 adults to share. Our sheets never stayed on the corner of our queen beds however. They seemed about 3" too small! 5... More 

Helpful?
Thank sjansenavon
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear sjansenavon, We appreciate you choosing us as your hotel while you were visiting Charleston recently. We value your feedback and are grateful for your Husband's loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Member. We apologize for the issues you encountered and have discussed your comments and review with all staff to make sure we use this info to improve and... More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Let me start by saying I've never given a negative review, but wish I'd paid closer attention to the people who were honest and gave a less than glowing opinion. We are in Charleston for our 35th anniversary and our friends are along and to help us celebrate. There are so many issues here that it's unbelievable. Check in: 30+minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank CindraIA
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear CindraIA, We would like to take a moment to thank you for choosing to stay with us for your 35th Anniversary. We apologize that your experience was not to your satisfaction and are sorry if we fell short of your expectations for your anniversary visit to Charleston. We value your feedback and have already taken action, addressing all of... More 

UPSTATE SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a little aggravating to get on to the street to exit the property. The beds had sink holes right where your back rests. Finding parking later in the night was quite difficult. Breakfast had a good selection and the food decent. Not walking distance from the historic district. However if you are there for a MUSC or Citadel... More 

Helpful?
Thank BIGGBULLS
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear BIGGBULLS, We thank you for your recent stay with is and appreciate you taking the time to submit your comments in a review on trip advisor. We value your feedback and comments, both positive and negative, as they help us to recognize and continually improve our service efforts. We thank you again and hope you will return to stay... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would not recommend a stay at this hotel. First off, there were a couple of cockroaches in our room. Second, we called for towels multiple times and even asked the front desk for some and never received them. The room did not even initially come with full sized towels, just small ones. Third, one of the outlets was molded... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Laura B, We want to thank you for your stay with us, bit we also would like to apologize that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. We are saddened your experience was disappointing and we have taken action to address the issues mentioned. We value your feedback and comments, as they help us to continually improve and prevent such... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would recommend to friends and family. Concierge was so kind, made is feel welcome, the breakfast is beyond delicious, the rooms were very nice and well kept. Had a blast with my family for our three nights in Charleston!!! Look forward to coming again someday.

Helpful?
Thank Ssk1929
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Ssk1929, We are delighted to read your review and how much you loved your stay with us while in Charleston with family. Thank you so much for sharing your experience onlone and we . hope you will be back again soon. Best regards, HI Express Team More 

1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were very disappointed with this hotel. The first thing we noticed in the first of 2 rooms we were put in was what appeared to be black mold all over the drop ceiling. We told the front desk and they moved us to a different room. All she was going to do was spray the room with bleach while... More 

Helpful?
Thank guest123478
Austin
Level Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you routinely stay in the HI Express locations this is easy to get to and reliable for what they advertise but parking is a problem. It is always full it seems. The place was quiet, the breakfast standard.

Helpful?
Thank Texastravelers94
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Texastravelers94, We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. As loyal guests and frequent travelers, we value your feedback and are grateful for you sharing your experience online. We hope you will be back again. Best regards, HI Express Team More 

McCormick, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed one night to bring furniture for my daughter at College of Charleston and appointment at MUSC. Very nice room- bed was extremely comfortable and check in desk person was super nice! Good breakfast also! Would stay again. Easy to get to also!

Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Cathy B, We are grateful for your stay with us and for your review. We are pleased you found us very convenient to MUSC and do hope you will choose to return to stay with us for any future visits to Charleston or MUSC. Best regards, HI Express Team More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was quoted as historic downtown river No it's on a motorway awkward to turn into. The lobby furniture is old you can see where people have sat that many times cause the upholstery has worn away. The car park is very busy. So be warned The cabinet by the bed has been moved forward. Don't know why, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Georgiades1
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Georgiades1, We want to thank you for your stay and review of our property. We are not located in the 'Historic District' of Charleston, but we are located downtown on the peninsula which is fairly quaint. It is approx 1.5 miles wide and just over 3 miles long. There was never any intent to mislead or claim we were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

275 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Queen Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Double Queen View Room (38)
Viewed
King Leisure Room (26)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $135 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay