We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Value Place Charleston Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Value Place Charleston Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Bristow, Virginia
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

I came to Value Place on Rivers Ave after diving 13 hours to participate in the Cure for Cancer 5k. THE NIGHT SAFETY ATTENDANT checked me in at 1 am was very polite and professional. The room was clean and fresh. The bed was very soft and comfortable! ! Cuddles to the General Manager you have a star employee! !!!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steff A
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review of our hotel and staff! We work very hard on customer service and we are glad to hear the efforts paid off for you. Thank you for choosing Value Place for your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Clean. Good location to shopping and interstate. Full kitchens. No ovens. Good price for Charleston SC. Front desk staff was helpful. Be mindful, the hotel has office hours. The hotel doesn't have any dishes in the room be sure to bring your own.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelaW333333
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

We love hearing from customers that truly enjoyed their stay with Value Place. We strive to provide an environment where our guests can feel comfortable and relaxed. Thank you for providing us with positive insights and we wish you well in your future travels. The Value Place team cannot wait for your return.

Reviewed January 22, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at this location and it has been such a pleasure! Karen the General Manager, at the front desk, was very helpful and accommodating. Her and her staff are very friendly and make sure that everything is taken care of and running smoothly! Will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank graciebabyy
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business with us. It is nice to see your positive feedback on our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to town soon.

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

This is a good place to stay if you're in town for business. Great weekly rates. This property is clean,secure and quiet. Close to dining and shopping. 30 minutes from downtown Charleston. Although there is a kitchenette in the suite. The do not provide dishes or pots and pans. Ample parking is provided and the property is centrally located.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loganslyles63
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us and others. We are glad your room met your needs and you found us a good place to stay while on business. Thank you for choosing Value Place and we hope to welcome you back the next time you're in Charleston.

Reviewed July 7, 2015

I really do not believe you can find another motel where you can rent a studio with a kitchen with a full size refrigerator, stovetop, and microwave. There was also plenty of cabinets for food storage or whatever. My bed was comfortable and the noise level was low. You will definitely want to pay extra for the high speed internet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank I
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the chairs provided but were happy with your room overall. Thank you for taking time out of your hectic schedule to share your experience with us. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

North Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed May 14, 2015

I stayed at the Rivers Value Place last October and November (2014) for three weeks. It was my first visit to Charleston, and I LOVED IT! The hotel is basic, but very clean and safe. The staff and residents are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for getting around the different parts of the city. For bus people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Charlotte. We are glad to hear Karen took good care of you, that you found the property comfortable and even found a space to daydream. We look forward to your third (and beyond) stay with us.

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed May 13, 2015 via mobile

I chose this place because of the price and I was not disappointed. When I arrived for checkin the studio I requested was not available so I ended up with a double for the same price. The room was clean and fresh contrary to some of the reviews I read which, admittedly, made me a bit skeptical. I had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamqueen84
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

We appreciate hearing that we met and exceeded your expectations. We hope your interview went well and we hope you'll stay with us again in the future.

Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile

Karen at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating the place is very clean it is close to the outlet malls and anything else you could want lots of people traveling for work staying here safe environment and after a hard day at work you can drop your tailgate out back fire up the grill and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words, Jerry. We'll be sure that Karen knows you were pleased and we - in a larger sense - appreciate that we're in the top ten for a road warrior such as yourself. We hope you'll stay with us again here or at any of our locations nationally.

Reviewed April 23, 2015 via mobile

My fiancé was kicked out due to room key issues. After staying there a week, no complaints...his room key stopped working, front desk kept assuring him that it was fixed and working and after 4 times back up to his room and to the front desk he began expressing a little frustration as would anybody and instead of walking up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kylieshay6
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear there were issues with your stay. We will follow up with the staff on this one. We can't speak, unfortunately, to the specifics but we will make sure that guest rules were followed and we will have the locks checked to ensure they are working, too.

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed April 15, 2015

I booked and received a confirmation email from this hotel for a one night stay in a room with two beds six days prior to my arrival date. On the day I was to arrive, I received a phone call while I was taking a city trolley tour saying the hotel did not have availability for me that night. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John C
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Hi, John. We're sorry to hear we didn't fully honor your reservation. We occasionally oversell and do our best to accommodate everyone. We didn't fully accommodate you and that is regrettable. We are, as you point out, first and foremost an extended stay hotel but we strive to offer a great experience to every guest.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:48
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleston
2.7 mi away
Value Place Leeds
Value Place Leeds
#47 of 60 in Charleston
48 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 59 in North Charleston
389 reviews
6.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
1,016 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#4 of 59 in North Charleston
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#13 of 59 in North Charleston
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Value Place Charleston Rivers is conveniently located, just minutes away from the beach and from the City Market, a 200 year old market open 365 days a year. Enjoy all kinds of American history including Fort Sumter, the location that marks the beginning of the Civil War, USS Yorktown, and The Naval & Maritime Museum. Celebrate the finer things in life with a night out for dinner, music or the theater. While in Charleston you can take in a round of golf at one of several courses or spend a day at Folly Beach or the Isle of Palms. Value Place Charleston Rivers is also near the Aquarium Battery Park and Plantations and Gardens. Events coming up in Charleston include the 2010 Family Circle Cup, International Antiques Show, and World Grits Festival. Once you arrive at our location, our friendly Value Place Charleston Rivers team will be happy to help you navigate around town. Just think of us as your guide to the Charleston area - from the best local restaurants and attractions to any driving directions you might need to get you there, we are here to make your stay at Value Place Charleston Rivers exceptional. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Value Place Charleston Central

Address: 4835 Rivers Ave, I-526 & Rivers Ave. (exit 18), Charleston, SC 29406-6502
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $54 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Value Place Charleston Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Value Place Charleston Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Value Place Charleston Central staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Value Place Charleston Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Full kitchens. No ovens. Very clean.”
 of 5 bubbles AngelaW333333, Aug 11, 2016 | Read review
“Top floor is smoking.”
 of 5 bubbles 916Jose, Aug 23, 2014 | Read review
“I like the sunrise so I usually request the third or fourth floor facing east, but all the rooms are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Saralyn2014, May 12, 2014 | Read review
“Bring your own kitchen utensils, pots, pans, plates, etc to avoid the $29 rental fee. Also, make sure to bring extra toilet paper and your own soap, shampoo, etc. Other than that, you'll be set.”
 of 5 bubbles beckycO9466MJ, Feb 16, 2013 | Read review
“1st and 2nd floors are nonsmoking.”
 of 5 bubbles 506patriciac, Jul 17, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay