We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Value Place Charleston Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Value Place Charleston Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean. Good location to shopping and interstate. Full kitchens. No ovens. Good price for Charleston SC. Front desk staff was helpful. Be mindful, the hotel has office hours. The hotel doesn't have any dishes in the room be sure to bring your own.

Helpful?
Thank AngelaW333333
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at this location and it has been such a pleasure! Karen the General Manager, at the front desk, was very helpful and accommodating. Her and her staff are very friendly and make sure that everything is taken care of and running smoothly! Will be back!

Helpful?
2 Thank graciebabyy
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business with us. It is nice to see your positive feedback on our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to town soon. More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

This is a good place to stay if you're in town for business. Great weekly rates. This property is clean,secure and quiet. Close to dining and shopping. 30 minutes from downtown Charleston. Although there is a kitchenette in the suite. The do not provide dishes or pots and pans. Ample parking is provided and the property is centrally located.

Helpful?
Thank loganslyles63
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us and others. We are glad your room met your needs and you found us a good place to stay while on business. Thank you for choosing Value Place and we hope to welcome you back the next time you're in Charleston. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

I really do not believe you can find another motel where you can rent a studio with a kitchen with a full size refrigerator, stovetop, and microwave. There was also plenty of cabinets for food storage or whatever. My bed was comfortable and the noise level was low. You will definitely want to pay extra for the high speed internet... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank I
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the chairs provided but were happy with your room overall. Thank you for taking time out of your hectic schedule to share your experience with us. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. More 

North Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

I stayed at the Rivers Value Place last October and November (2014) for three weeks. It was my first visit to Charleston, and I LOVED IT! The hotel is basic, but very clean and safe. The staff and residents are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for getting around the different parts of the city. For bus people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Charlotte. We are glad to hear Karen took good care of you, that you found the property comfortable and even found a space to daydream. We look forward to your third (and beyond) stay with us. More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015 via mobile

I chose this place because of the price and I was not disappointed. When I arrived for checkin the studio I requested was not available so I ended up with a double for the same price. The room was clean and fresh contrary to some of the reviews I read which, admittedly, made me a bit skeptical. I had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamqueen84
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

We appreciate hearing that we met and exceeded your expectations. We hope your interview went well and we hope you'll stay with us again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile

Karen at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating the place is very clean it is close to the outlet malls and anything else you could want lots of people traveling for work staying here safe environment and after a hard day at work you can drop your tailgate out back fire up the grill and have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words, Jerry. We'll be sure that Karen knows you were pleased and we - in a larger sense - appreciate that we're in the top ten for a road warrior such as yourself. We hope you'll stay with us again here or at any of our locations nationally. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 via mobile

My fiancé was kicked out due to room key issues. After staying there a week, no complaints...his room key stopped working, front desk kept assuring him that it was fixed and working and after 4 times back up to his room and to the front desk he began expressing a little frustration as would anybody and instead of walking up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kylieshay6
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear there were issues with your stay. We will follow up with the staff on this one. We can't speak, unfortunately, to the specifics but we will make sure that guest rules were followed and we will have the locks checked to ensure they are working, too. More 

Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

I booked and received a confirmation email from this hotel for a one night stay in a room with two beds six days prior to my arrival date. On the day I was to arrive, I received a phone call while I was taking a city trolley tour saying the hotel did not have availability for me that night. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Value Place

Helpful?
1 Thank John C
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Hi, John. We're sorry to hear we didn't fully honor your reservation. We occasionally oversell and do our best to accommodate everyone. We didn't fully accommodate you and that is regrettable. We are, as you point out, first and foremost an extended stay hotel but we strive to offer a great experience to every guest. More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

I just stayed there last week and upon arrival, I was treated very kindly by who I believe was the owner. He told me about some of the food I need to try to the sights I need to see. He was very helpful. It was very convenient to where ever I needed to go. It was clean, and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank JenniAnderson77
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Hi, Jenni. We're glad you had a great stay and got some insight to all the great things to do locally. We hope you'll stay with us again here or at any of our other locations. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:48
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleston
2.7 mi away
Value Place Leeds
Value Place Leeds
#47 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#30 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#41 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 59 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Value Place Charleston Rivers is conveniently located, just minutes away from the beach and from the City Market, a 200 year old market open 365 days a year. Enjoy all kinds of American history including Fort Sumter, the location that marks the beginning of the Civil War, USS Yorktown, and The Naval & Maritime Museum. Celebrate the finer things in life with a night out for dinner, music or the theater. While in Charleston you can take in a round of golf at one of several courses or spend a day at Folly Beach or the Isle of Palms. Value Place Charleston Rivers is also near the Aquarium Battery Park and Plantations and Gardens. Events coming up in Charleston include the 2010 Family Circle Cup, International Antiques Show, and World Grits Festival. Once you arrive at our location, our friendly Value Place Charleston Rivers team will be happy to help you navigate around town. Just think of us as your guide to the Charleston area - from the best local restaurants and attractions to any driving directions you might need to get you there, we are here to make your stay at Value Place Charleston Rivers exceptional. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Value Place Charleston Central

Address: 4835 Rivers Ave, I-526 & Rivers Ave. (exit 18), Charleston, SC 29406-6502
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $54 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Value Place Charleston Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Value Place Charleston Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay