We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$189
Hotels.com$189
Tripadvisor$189
FindHotel$189
Hurb$189
Trip.com$299
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (831)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (363)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Inn at Middleton Place
Updated 06/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Rustic Inn, located adjacent to Middleton Place, a National Historic Landmark. Admission included in your room rate. Can enjoy amenities such as Horseback riding and Kayaking while on property with advance reservations. 55 guest rooms blend into their surroundings of tall pines and live oaks with earthy, minimalist architecture. Floor to ceiling windows, seasonal wood-burning fireplaces, and hardwood floors invite you to unwind and unhook.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Coffee shop
Horseback riding
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
1656Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 935
  • 406
  • 165
  • 95
  • 55
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lucia H wrote a review Jul 2022
Burlington, North Carolina7 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband, myself, my brother, and my 10-year old niece spent two nights here. We were in the Middleton building which meant we were right by the pool and the Lodge which provides bar service, lunchtime sandwiches, and happy hour, as well as some other festive treats. It was excellent to go in early June, as we had the entire pool to ourselves for most of the time which the 10-year old loved. We really enjoyed the access to the gorgeous gardens, the speaking tours, the horseback riding, and the restaurant. Also, it was only a short walk to the excellent hot breakfast buffet, included in the room price. All of us had such a good time that we are planning to return same time, next year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms in the Middleton building are closest to the pool and to the food, drinks, and games at The...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pat P wrote a review Jun 2022
Ohio205 contributions146 helpful votes
The Inn at Middleton exceeded my expectations. Our spacious, beautifully appointed, affordable room was surrounded by nature. When we opened the door to the room I gasped out loud, amazed at the comfort that it was going to afford and the overall ambiance of the place. I will try to include a picture or two. We walked a trail from the room to the restaurant that was just wonderful in every way and the next morning attended a buffet breakfast at the Lake House. The entire experience was magical. I would definitely return and urge others to have this tremendous experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
FrostJourneys wrote a review Jun 2022
Dallas, Texas114 contributions24 helpful votes
We chose the Inn due to our love ofmid-century architecture and a desire to stay somewhere remote and romantic - every expectation was met! The grounds are wonderful, the people were nice, the food was good. We were celebrating our 35th anniversary and they made it very special- upgraded us to the fabulous honeymoon suite and greeted us with Champagne and chocolates. We are already dreaming of our next visit, maybe in another season to experience the flowers and/or the fireplaces!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ashley River Room is one of the best rooms we've ever stayed in! Heard almost nothing from...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail Martin, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place
Responded Jun 24, 2022
I am so pleased our team was able to upgrade you for such a momentous occasion! Thank you for the review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day.
Read more
Claire B wrote a review Jun 2022
West Palm Beach, Florida16 contributions5 helpful votes
Staying at the inn was a wonderful way to experience the quiet beauty of nature. The admission to Middleton Place is included and it's only a short walk from the inn. Wish entry to the house museum had been included as well. Highly recommend taking the tour "Beyond the Fields: Enslavement at Middleton Place". We enjoyed swimming in the large pool at the inn and the breakfast was plentiful and very good.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail Martin, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place
Responded Jun 24, 2022
Thank you for the review, and taking part in so many of the activities we have to offer here at Middleton.
Read more
Lakesman55 wrote a review Jun 2022
Lake District, United Kingdom47 contributions19 helpful votes
First the good stuff… The Inn at Middleton Place is in a beautiful location, within easy strolling distance of the lovely gardens. The architecture is interesting and there is a nice outdoor pool (unheated, but that was fine). Now the not so good bit. What was an award winning building in 1987 is now in sore need of refurbishment. The room that we stayed in had so many things wrong it’s hard to list them - but it included many cracked tiles in the bathroom, a shower that didn’t work correctly, a dimmer switch that was broken and ill fitting blinds that made it impossible to black out the bedroom at night. Oh, and the phone in the room which didn’t work, which I reported at registration but wasn’t fixed. We ate in the restaurant at Middleton Place, which was reasonable quality but pricey. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms but it was still poor value given the condition of the property. My overall feeling was that the place is trading on past glories and purporting to offer an upscale product, which sadly it isn’t. Decided to give this feedback as no-one asked me how my stay had been when we checked out.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail Martin, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place
Responded Jun 24, 2022
Thank you for your review, and I'm sorry you left unhappy! The first phase of renovations started on this 1987 masterpiece last year, and more are scheduled to continue in July. Hope you will choose to come back and stay in a renovated room to see the updates, and upgrades!
Read more
Stephanie B wrote a review Jun 2022
Charleston, South Carolina9 contributions
Recently stayed at the Inn, to introduce another couple to our place of rest and relaxation. We were super excited to get one of the renovated rooms. The upgrades to the bathroom were very nice, the shower is much more user-friendly, and I love the new double sinks in the bathroom. Lots of upgrades on the grounds. Adirondack chairs in all the best places with a perfect view of the water. New furnishings around the pool. We had a lovely dinner at the restaurant, and the best night of sleep we have had in months. If you’re looking for a quick getaway, this place is a winner.I
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail Martin, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place
Responded Jun 24, 2022
Thank you, can't get much better then that! Keep visiting to see all we have coming new to the Inn!
Read more
Phillip M wrote a review May 2022
Tulare, California18 contributions26 helpful votes
My wife and I, in our 70's, stayed for 3 nights at the end of April. I wish we would have stayed here longer rather than moving to downtown Charleston. The grounds are wonderful. We went horseback riding which was a treat, toured the gardens and stables, pet the animals, ate in the restaurant twice, and stepped around the alligators. The history of this plantation is moving and amazing. Our room was wonderful, looking out over the river. Breakfast had many options and was excellent. I wouldn't stay anyplace else. Thank you so much, Phil and Marilyn from California.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Best views are second floor, but no elevators.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail Martin, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place
Responded Jun 24, 2022
You are so very welcome, thank you for making the long hike to visit us in Charleston!
Read more
Beth S wrote a review May 2022
Grapevine, Texas160 contributions97 helpful votes
I gave 4 stars because there are a few problems with the inn. I would still stay here but want to mention them. There needs to be more signs to the different buildings. We were not the only ones trying to spot the room numbers. The breakfast is in a separate building that needs better signage. Upstairs rooms have a very tall steep outside stairway that luggage has to be carried up. The tile bath is very strange. The edge is very thick and we decided that stepping in/out could easily be slick in wet conditions. We sat and swung our legs over. TV did not carry ABC which is strange but minor. You are able to use your own streaming services which we did. This could be a techie challenge for some. Now to say that the location and access to Middleton Place is simply wonderful. We walked over early and late just to see the views and nature and took several of the included tours in the daytime. Tons of various birds and a number of alligators. This outweighs the few problems for us. We were past azaleas but that would be a great time to come. Including the plantation in the price of the room is certainly a bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CapePorpoise wrote a review Apr 2022
Cape Porpoise, Maine106 contributions39 helpful votes
This building is a three story warehouse with molded wood shutters in the bedroom of 145. Although the chairs are beautiful wood, they are the most uncomfortable ones on which I have sat. The room is on the third floor with no elevator . The concrete stairs are very steep and the steel railings slippery when wet. This place would never pass handicapped access laws. Mattress was very comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: In mid April no flowers were in bloom. However; the grounds were exquisitely kept. Sandwiches in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Walt Z wrote a review Apr 2022
87 contributions25 helpful votes
In contrast to the historic Middleton Plantation, is the Inn. Located a short walking distance, the modern inn buildings will be a visual delight to fans and disciples of modern architecture. We chose to stay there as it was an unusual hotel property, and its adjacency to the plantation. It’s not a trendy ‘we have breakfast too’. Be prepared to seek out your room as it may be on one of three levels - stair access only. The Inn buildings are clustered, and entry is gated from the reception building. The beds were great, the windows were expansive, but all have shutters for privacy. Also included was a very nice buffet breakfast in the Lodge building over looking a pond.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: All units have only outside access, with stairs. The units are clustered in groups of 3 story...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$191 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at middleton place hotel charleston
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at Middleton Place
Which popular attractions are close to Inn at Middleton Place?
Nearby attractions include Middleton Place (0.5 miles), Middleton Place Equestrian Center (0.3 miles), and Colonial Dorchester State Historic Site (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at Middleton Place?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Inn at Middleton Place?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Inn at Middleton Place?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn at Middleton Place?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at Middleton Place?
Conveniently located restaurants include Swig&Swine, Nigel's Good Food, and Middleton Place Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inn at Middleton Place?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Inn at Middleton Place offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn at Middleton Place?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Middleton Place (0.5 miles), Drayton Hall (3.7 miles), and Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (2.9 miles).
Does Inn at Middleton Place have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Inn at Middleton Place accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.