We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$329
Hotels.com$329
FindHotel$329
Tripadvisor$329
Orbitz.com$329
Hurb$329
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (832)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (363)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Inn at Middleton Place
Updated 06/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Rustic Inn, located adjacent to Middleton Place, a National Historic Landmark. Admission included in your room rate. Can enjoy amenities such as Horseback riding and Kayaking while on property with advance reservations. 55 guest rooms blend into their surroundings of tall pines and live oaks with earthy, minimalist architecture. Floor to ceiling windows, seasonal wood-burning fireplaces, and hardwood floors invite you to unwind and unhook.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Coffee shop
Horseback riding
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
1659Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 936
  • 407
  • 166
  • 95
  • 55
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Season h wrote a review Sep 19
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We had the most wonderful stay at The Inn at Middleton Place for our 10th anniversary. Everything was beyond perfect & our room was absolutely fantastic! Our room had a beautiful view of the river, marshlands and rice fields. The room was spacious & clean with crisp, fresh linens & an extremely comfortable bed. We especially enjoyed the overhead rain shower in the bathroom. We went over to the plantation and enjoyed a wonderful dinner with the best fried chicken I’ve ever had and then came back to the lounge and enjoyed live music and drinks. The next morning before we checked out, we enjoyed an delicious complementary breakfast of grits, eggs, sausage, bacon & pastries. Everything was so good! The Inn staff was so helpful and friendly and made us feel so special on our anniversary! I cannot say enough about them. My husband said it was the best get away we’ve ever had.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shawn F wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions
My wife and I finally got a weekend away after over 15 years without one. We thought Middleton would be really nice and we could see the gardens. The staff was friendly but the rooms looked worn and dirty. There were two dead cockroaches in the room and the mattress pad had small blood spots that occur when there are bedbugs present. The room was grimy and the bathroom door was a barn door--meaning it didn't fully shut. Until they have an extensive renovation, I would not stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail Martin, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place
Responded 2 weeks ago
Unfortunately, we fully dispute this review as anything valid. Our remote, riverside location in the south does have us battle with Palmetto Bugs, but there is absolutely no truth behind bed bugs. I fully suggest any guest concerned about this review to contact us directly, we can get you in touch with a manager to show you our rooms, to include the current refurbishing that is occurring, show you the original slide door to the bathroom unique with the architecture. If by chance this is a valid review, we'd love for the guest to speak to our management team-please give us a call and has for Holly or Tiffany.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
evelineg266 wrote a review Aug 2022
Cambridge, Canada6 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a fantastic time at Inn at Middleton. The grounds and atmosphere where like a park and camping but the facilities where superb. The room was light and airy and had a scandavian vibe. We enjoyed the happy hour at the Lodge with free cheese (and more) and crackers. Breakfast at the Lake house was excellent...lots of variety between hot and cold. Tickets to Middleton Place where included and the walk thru the bush to get there was lovely. The plantation tour was excellent and really brought history to live. We also ate at the restaurant at the plantation...the best Southern Fried Chicken I've ever had
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail Martin, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nanconi wrote a review Aug 2022
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina5 contributions
This was no doubt at one time a wonderful Inn. Now unfortunately it is showing it’s age and has an air of neglect about it. There were several positives: very spacious accommodations, lovely grounds and easy walk ability to the formal Gardens of Middleton Place, view from our second floor room looked like we were in a tree house elevated along the canopy of the Oaks. This weekend trip was a belated birthday present from my husband and he bought a package. There was a huge, gorgeous flower arrangement in the room along with a cold bottle of Prosecco in the frig. The package included dinner at the Middleto Place restaurant which was lovely. Now for the reason for the 3 stars. This is a very expensive place to go for a weekend but I don’t mind the money if everything is appropriate for the cost. Our first impression when we entered the room was that it smelled strongly of bug spray. And that smell lingered all weekend. But even with that we had a couple infamous Palmetto bugs in various states of death throes and the little inch worms and flying bugs that seemed like fire flies didn’t seem phased by the spray. When we shared this with the desk the response was, well we are in the woods. The windows take up an entire wall and would be stunning if they were cleaned. Again the woods and humidity must make it challenging but for the price I would expect more. The paneling was showing its age as well and the sofa and overstuffed chair. The room was huge and we could have danced but it only had a queen sized bed which looked smaller because of the room size. The mattress sank terribly in the middle and every time one of us moved we ended back up in the middle. A breakfast buffet was included and it was also a bit neglected. On the bright side it looked like they were renovating the unit next to us so hopefully they will return this place to its original glory. I would try it again if I knew it was in an updated room, and during the off season when prices are better.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: It is an average drive time close to 30 minutes to get into downtown Charleston. Watch for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail Martin, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place
Responded 2 weeks ago
You are correct, we are currently mid-way through our room refresh! We hope to welcome you back again soon to see them!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shivbanglola wrote a review Aug 2022
Ireland20 contributions8 helpful votes
Very different to other hotels, unusual architecture and room decor, loved the large windows and quirky bathroom. Toiletries were gorgeous, lots of little extras and the bed was incredibly comfy. The cute bar with a little happy hour including snacks/drinks was a nice touch and breakfast was lovely. Scoring a 4 as it was quite expensive and also, we were told to call reception to book the restaurant at Middleton Place and when I did, was told they were fully booked. Yet when I called the restaurant direct, no problem booking.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be prepared to either eat all meals onsite or travel at least 30 mins to a nearby area with...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail Martin, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place
Responded 2 weeks ago
We do apologize for the discrepancy in the restaurant bookings, here at the Inn we use a RESY concierge account, so we see what is available to the public only-it's wonderful that they were able to get you into the restaurant directly however! Happy to hear you enjoyed it otherwise!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucia H wrote a review Jul 2022
Burlington, North Carolina7 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband, myself, my brother, and my 10-year old niece spent two nights here. We were in the Middleton building which meant we were right by the pool and the Lodge which provides bar service, lunchtime sandwiches, and happy hour, as well as some other festive treats. It was excellent to go in early June, as we had the entire pool to ourselves for most of the time which the 10-year old loved. We really enjoyed the access to the gorgeous gardens, the speaking tours, the horseback riding, and the restaurant. Also, it was only a short walk to the excellent hot breakfast buffet, included in the room price. All of us had such a good time that we are planning to return same time, next year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms in the Middleton building are closest to the pool and to the food, drinks, and games at The...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pat P wrote a review Jun 2022
Ohio205 contributions147 helpful votes
The Inn at Middleton exceeded my expectations. Our spacious, beautifully appointed, affordable room was surrounded by nature. When we opened the door to the room I gasped out loud, amazed at the comfort that it was going to afford and the overall ambiance of the place. I will try to include a picture or two. We walked a trail from the room to the restaurant that was just wonderful in every way and the next morning attended a buffet breakfast at the Lake House. The entire experience was magical. I would definitely return and urge others to have this tremendous experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
FrostJourneys wrote a review Jun 2022
Dallas, Texas114 contributions24 helpful votes
We chose the Inn due to our love ofmid-century architecture and a desire to stay somewhere remote and romantic - every expectation was met! The grounds are wonderful, the people were nice, the food was good. We were celebrating our 35th anniversary and they made it very special- upgraded us to the fabulous honeymoon suite and greeted us with Champagne and chocolates. We are already dreaming of our next visit, maybe in another season to experience the flowers and/or the fireplaces!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ashley River Room is one of the best rooms we've ever stayed in! Heard almost nothing from...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail Martin, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place
Responded Jun 24, 2022
I am so pleased our team was able to upgrade you for such a momentous occasion! Thank you for the review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire B wrote a review Jun 2022
West Palm Beach, Florida16 contributions6 helpful votes
Staying at the inn was a wonderful way to experience the quiet beauty of nature. The admission to Middleton Place is included and it's only a short walk from the inn. Wish entry to the house museum had been included as well. Highly recommend taking the tour "Beyond the Fields: Enslavement at Middleton Place". We enjoyed swimming in the large pool at the inn and the breakfast was plentiful and very good.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail Martin, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place
Responded Jun 24, 2022
Thank you for the review, and taking part in so many of the activities we have to offer here at Middleton.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lakesman55 wrote a review Jun 2022
Lake District, United Kingdom50 contributions19 helpful votes
First the good stuff… The Inn at Middleton Place is in a beautiful location, within easy strolling distance of the lovely gardens. The architecture is interesting and there is a nice outdoor pool (unheated, but that was fine). Now the not so good bit. What was an award winning building in 1987 is now in sore need of refurbishment. The room that we stayed in had so many things wrong it’s hard to list them - but it included many cracked tiles in the bathroom, a shower that didn’t work correctly, a dimmer switch that was broken and ill fitting blinds that made it impossible to black out the bedroom at night. Oh, and the phone in the room which didn’t work, which I reported at registration but wasn’t fixed. We ate in the restaurant at Middleton Place, which was reasonable quality but pricey. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms but it was still poor value given the condition of the property. My overall feeling was that the place is trading on past glories and purporting to offer an upscale product, which sadly it isn’t. Decided to give this feedback as no-one asked me how my stay had been when we checked out.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abigail Martin, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place
Responded Jun 24, 2022
Thank you for your review, and I'm sorry you left unhappy! The first phase of renovations started on this 1987 masterpiece last year, and more are scheduled to continue in July. Hope you will choose to come back and stay in a renovated room to see the updates, and upgrades!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$219 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at middleton place hotel charleston
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at Middleton Place
Which popular attractions are close to Inn at Middleton Place?
Nearby attractions include Middleton Place (0.5 miles), Middleton Place Equestrian Center (0.3 miles), and Drayton Hall (3.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at Middleton Place?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Inn at Middleton Place?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Inn at Middleton Place?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn at Middleton Place?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at Middleton Place?
Conveniently located restaurants include Swig&Swine, Nigel's Good Food, and Middleton Place Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inn at Middleton Place?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Inn at Middleton Place offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn at Middleton Place?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Middleton Place (0.5 miles), Drayton Hall (3.7 miles), and Magnolia Plantation & Gardens (2.9 miles).
Does Inn at Middleton Place have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Inn at Middleton Place accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.