We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Expert photos
Charleston\\
Charleston's NotSo Hostel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 438: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Very overrated and expensive for what it actually is: a hostel! We paid nearly 80 dollars for a private room that basically consists of four walls and a bed. Not even a bin or a plug to be found. Actually, there was an oscillating fan that we left on all night as it was so hot but it ended up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caro2k
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, there are plugs in every room and our price is the most affordable downtown by more than $100+. We understand that hostels are not for everyone. Many people rave about the location as we are right downtown in one of the best neighborhoods in the city. The same staff has been here for years working... More 

Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall a very good hostel experience. We stayed in the annex which is an old house near king street. It was easily walkable to some restaurants and bars and we brought our bikes which made it easy to access the area of downtown closer to the end of the peninsula. Area felt safe. Room was tiny (Goldman), but clean. Bathrooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank walkingincircles
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! So glad you enjoyed your stay at the annex and we hope to host you again on your next trip to Charleston. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in a private room. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet (I stayed in the Carrissa room, and expected a little more noise since I was adjacent to the balcony and street, and was pleasantly surprised). It's not very clean (like, I definitely needed shower shoes), and "breakfast" was literally a loaf of bread and jam.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlyn F
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the location, we clean the rooms between each check out and in the future if something in your room is unsatisfactory, please let us know right away so we can fix it! We are also thinking of eliminating breakfast (Dave's Organic Bread, English Muffins, Organic Jams, Organic... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

We spent three nights at the facility, it's bare minimum and pricey for what you get, waiting in line for a bath, basic toast and jam for breakfast, the rooms are cramped at best, plugins are a treasure hunt I've had worse. Keep in mind the building on the right is an airbnb, and can be rented for swinging parties... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank john p
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Since we host over 10,000 visitors a year, we are not able to hold onto items for more than one week and return them. We got an envelope from you with a $2 shipping label over month after we had been in contact. I remember speaking with you and your wife during your stay and... More 

Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

i always stay in dorm, beds are comfortable, everyone gets their own little fan in their bunk - so important in charleston summers. linens are always clean, air conditioned, 2 kitchens in the main house, free parking, great location. its the only hostel in town so i can't really say its the best. but it is consistently clean, well-maintained, quiet... More 

Helpful?
Thank XelaGringa
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We too wish there was a way to put a bathroom upstairs, but the house was built in the 1840's so it's not designed for it. So glad you enjoy your stay and we look forward to hosting you again. More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

I originally picked this hostel because the price was right, but after staying a few days, it really was more than just fairly priced accomodation. Check-in and check-out was really easy as was communication with the staff before visiting. I stayed in the Cypress room, in the middle house and it was really nice. The main house and middle house... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LWest4
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so glad you felt the hostel was more like visiting a private summer cottage, we'd love to host you again and appreciate your recommendation. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Charleston hotels are pretty expensive and we were delighted to find this hostel. Not only was the price great, the location was excellent, being close to all the tourist attractions and restaurants and bars. We stayed at their Annex location(cannon street. We had the Monet Room. It's small but no complaints. It would be nice to have a night stand... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lolita D
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we will put a larger mirror and more shelving to better accommodate future guests in that room. We'd love to host you again! More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

My husband and I had never stayed at a hostel before so we weren't sure what to expect. We stayed in the brazil room and our stay was pleasant. The shower that was next to our room was broken but the place was clean and our interaction with the staff was all pleasant. We didn't feel that it was walking... More 

Helpful?
Thank beachbum213
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely recommendation! I am so glad you had a positive first hostel experience here and we would love to host you again on your next trip to Charleston. More 

Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

I found my experience with the NotSo Hostel to be very happy. I enjoyed all the girls in my dorm. We had good conversations and we ran into each other out on the town. Very good place to make acquaintances. Staff was pleasant also. Very nice to sit on the 2nd story porch when the sun goes down. Nicely located.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kendall A
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so happy to hear you met other wonderful travelers during your stay and that front porch is the best seat in town. We hope you'll come visit us again soon! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Kendall private room at the Annex location. This location was better than the Spring St main location as it was closer to the main areas. Adequate room, small bathroom, comfy bed. Could get fairly noisy as right next to the kitchen, however they provide a sound machine which helped a lot. Don't bother walking to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ButterflyAussie
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the annex. We hope you'll come visit us again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

630 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (536)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
The Aimee Room (14)
Viewed
The Andrew Adams Room (29)
Viewed
The Brazil Room (13)
Viewed
The Cyprus Room (18)
Viewed
The Dylan Room (13)
Viewed
The Goldman Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (340)
Viewed
The Kendall Room (28)
Viewed
The Kenya Room (19)
Viewed
The Kingsolver Room (17)
Viewed
The Taylor Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,488 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in lovely and historic downtown Charleston, the Notso Hostel provides safe, clean and simple accommodations. We offer camping, dorms, privates and more. Guests have access to kitchens, porches and common rooms with Internet and WIFI. Breakfast is included as are linens and parking. Come and have breakfast with travelers from all over the world and explore this beautiful Earth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Address: 156 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5220
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $62 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Charleston`s Notso Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing