We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Expert photos
Charleston\\
Charleston's NotSo Hostel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 445: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed for 4 nights the week of Thanksgiving. I've stayed in hostels before so I had an idea of what to expect. They did a great job of making it very easy to find the hostel once arriving in Charleston, and it's in a great location! Check in process was super easy, but check in time isn't until 5:00.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelsie P
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Notso Hostel is a relaxing place to be. I knocked off one star because I was confused by the morning food offering and felt a lack of warmth because of this. This was also due to my expectation of eating something different than was presented. So my experience is colored by the lessons I am offered to learn in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenna B
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed two nights at the Aimee room (I think the photo that appears on the hostel website is not that of the actual Aimee room). The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful, but the hostel in general was really dirty. Dust and stains everywhere you looked at. And I mean old dust, it looked like it had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank quieroperderdevistaa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lot of people have commented on the negatives of this place so I am going to leave that out. The quiet time imposed is a reasonable request even if there are police sirens going past at all hours. They have provided ear plugs so I believe thats helpful. I also understand that you cannot make amendments to a property... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Binkyatavern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2016

I reserved ahead, arriving via train- asked for a lower bunk ( never received a reply to this, so assumed my message was received, as I have stayed in many hostels)- noting I am a bit older & unable to use upper bunk. Train was late, so arrived after 10pm - no staff - room key & note were left... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Annie E
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do clearly state that bunks are first come first serve and since you were a late arrival, we set out a late arrival packet for you. You booked a room that was on the second floor which is also clearly stated in the room description. For future guests, please be sure to read all... More 

Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2016

I loved my stay at NotSo Hostel. The hostel has a great atmosphere for meeting other travelers, the staff are very kind and it's in a nice neighborhood. Not to mention, Charleston is a wonderful place to visit!

Helpful?
Thank jomillerwrites
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Charleston. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2016

It's cheap, yes. And reasonably close to downtown (though the neighborhood is not the best...walk in large groups at night). However, sometimes you pay in frustration. In the future, I'd rather pay for a nicer experience at a hotel and enjoy my trip than the alternative: be miserable at NotSo Hostel. My female friend and I were visiting Charleston for... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank JenniferCollins80
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your feedback. We are not able to control what the other guests are like, however we do provide clean, safe accommodations for travelers. If you wanted a more private experience, we have the annex location which works well for guests who are less interested in sharing space. Many guests rave about the wonderful neighborhood... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Very overrated and expensive for what it actually is: a hostel! We paid nearly 80 dollars for a private room that basically consists of four walls and a bed. Not even a bin or a plug to be found. Actually, there was an oscillating fan that we left on all night as it was so hot but it ended up... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Caro2k
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, there are plugs in every room and our price is the most affordable downtown by more than $100+. We understand that hostels are not for everyone. Many people rave about the location as we are right downtown in one of the best neighborhoods in the city. The same staff has been here for years working... More 

Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Overall a very good hostel experience. We stayed in the annex which is an old house near king street. It was easily walkable to some restaurants and bars and we brought our bikes which made it easy to access the area of downtown closer to the end of the peninsula. Area felt safe. Room was tiny (Goldman), but clean. Bathrooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank walkingincircles
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! So glad you enjoyed your stay at the annex and we hope to host you again on your next trip to Charleston. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2016

I stayed in a private room. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet (I stayed in the Carrissa room, and expected a little more noise since I was adjacent to the balcony and street, and was pleasantly surprised). It's not very clean (like, I definitely needed shower shoes), and "breakfast" was literally a loaf of bread and jam.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Carlyn F
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the location, we clean the rooms between each check out and in the future if something in your room is unsatisfactory, please let us know right away so we can fix it! We are also thinking of eliminating breakfast (Dave's Organic Bread, English Muffins, Organic Jams, Organic... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

637 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (536)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
The Aimee Room (14)
Viewed
The Andrew Adams Room (29)
Viewed
The Brazil Room (13)
Viewed
The Cyprus Room (18)
Viewed
The Dylan Room (13)
Viewed
The Goldman Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (340)
Viewed
The Kendall Room (28)
Viewed
The Kenya Room (19)
Viewed
The Kingsolver Room (17)
Viewed
The Taylor Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#27 of 60 in Charleston
1,013 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in lovely and historic downtown Charleston, the Notso Hostel provides safe, clean and simple accommodations. We offer camping, dorms, privates and more. Guests have access to kitchens, porches and common rooms with Internet and WIFI. Breakfast is included as are linens and parking. Come and have breakfast with travelers from all over the world and explore this beautiful Earth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Address: 156 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5220
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $62 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Charleston`s Notso Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Charleston's NotSo Hostel staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Charleston's NotSo Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stayed in the Cyprus Room. Seemed a little more quiet than the main house.”
 of 5 bubbles 794kelsiep, yesterday | Read review
“Air bnb next door should be good.”
 of 5 bubbles C6321HMjohnp, Jul 8, 2016 | Read review
“relax, deep breathe and enjoy”
 of 5 bubbles TravelingTnHillbilly, Apr 26, 2016 | Read review
“i think the rooms are all pretty much the samebut i prefer the rooms i side the main house as i like to go down for coffee in my pajamas....”
 of 5 bubbles 255mima, Apr 21, 2016 | Read review
“Staid in room in building 2 stairs, 6 rooms in backyard. A kitchen. A balcony with chairs to relax. great for couples.”
 of 5 bubbles K5504RKbrunop, Jan 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question