We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Market Pavilion Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Market Pavilion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,191: English reviews
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is very nice. From the rooftop bar, to the rooms, to the lounge area downstairs. Probably one of the nicer places in Charleston.. and very conveniently located near multiple shopping and food destinations- all within walking distance. The hotel is a bit more pricey than I usually spend, but worth it if you are looking for a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jules77788
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I usually stay at the Vendue when I visit Charleston, which I love. That said, I thought I should try somewhere new. When I drove my car up to the valet, no one was there and you couldn't pull over because parked cars lined the street. East Bay Street only has one lane in each direction so I couldn't block... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy92620
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is spotless and the staff goes out of their way to help in any way needed. It is hard to imagine there is a better hotel in town. Great room; Great roof top pool and bar; great staff; and the best location of any hotel in Charleston.

Helpful?
Thank William C
Golden Isles of Georgia, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is centrally located with an attentive and caring staff... the hotel and the rooftop bar are a great stop in Charleston. We have not samples the food at the hotel but we love the ambience of the rooftop bar and the lovely continental breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sixchanels
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The rooftop bar has the best food !!! And view you can see the best of downtown chareslton from up there not to mention the pool is gorgeous ! I highly recommend the burger great spot for anytime of the day

Helpful?
Thank Mariah H
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Located in historical Charleston. Beautiful place to have a meeting. Fabulous location. Conference room was comfortable and well equipped. Staff member came outside to welcome me and ask if they could assist in any way. Red carpet service. Thank you Market Pavilion Hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Tracie T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'm happy to report our business meeting was a success. The conference room reflected the sophisticated furnishings, utility, convenience you would expect when using a hotel's conference room. The staff assisted in keeping the halls quiet while directing attendees to the meeting. They refreshed our beverage table and assisted with moving chairs as the meeting broke out. The bathrooms are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tiff21any
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We would recommend The market Pavilion. Service was great. Check in easy. Location good. The pool and roof top bar were the highlight. Breakfast- just pastries and fruit -but right outside the door with coffee really nice. From the hotel you could walk to any of the main attractions.

Helpful?
Thank JPAsenior
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

JPAsenior - We thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We very much appreicate the kind reccomendation. I am gald you found the hotel and service to be great. It also helps by having the best location in Charleston. I am also pleased you enjoyed your time at the Pavilion Bar high atop the hotel. Thank... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a great one night stay at the Market Pavillion Hotel. We stayed on the Concierge floor which was fantastic. The complimentary beverages, happy hour and breakfast were all a very nice perk! Our room wasn't huge but very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable and just what you need after walking around Charleston all day. One of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Jennifer J - Thank you for sharing your comments and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. It is great you were able to stay on the concierge level of the hotel and receive the many benefits it offers. I do apologize about the staff at the poolside and be assured that I have reviewed and addressed this so... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Given its reported luxury status, I expected service and pampering. It was a disappointment. The desk personnel was not especially accommodating and the concierge, although professional, not overly helpful. The rooftop pool was more a crowded water feature, not a calm oasis. Complimentary morning coffee - I have had better at a Best Western. No evidence of a manager. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank kay f
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Kay F - I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us for the money you spent. I can assure you that this is not typical and we do not receive these type of complaints. Please know that I have addressed the staff about your concerns. As for the rooftop, I am not sure what time you came... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

397 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (184)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Concierge King Room (24)
Viewed
Luxury King Room (18)
Viewed
Luxury Two Queen Room (17)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (6)
Viewed
Terrace Suite (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,509 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,839 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,802 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,382 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Pavilion Bar
Pavilion Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $331 - $738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay