We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
21 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$419
Priceline$419
Agoda.com$419
Hotels.com$419
eDreams$419
Travelocity$419
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1016)
Room & Suite (660)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 02/25/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from French Quarter Inn
Updated 02/25/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 73 hotels in Charleston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2020 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Regularly ranked among the city of Charleston's most luxurious retreats, the French Quarter Inn captivates guests with an experience similar to that of visiting the gracious home of a charming Southern friend. Our exquisitely designed Charleston hideaway will provide you with a taste of the Historic District's refined past. Our hotel offers modern touches, including a welcome champagne toast and spacious Italian marble bathrooms, this is your home away from home. Prepare to be pampered with such unexpected delights and inclusive amenities, such as our seven pillow menu and evening turndown service with a Charleston treat.
Read more
Room & Suite (660)660
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Car hire
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Wine / champagne
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
City View
Languages Spoken
English
3,763Reviews57Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,442
  • 254
  • 49
  • 14
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
THorne513 wrote a review Apr 11
Jacksonville, North Carolina6 contributions
This is our second stay with French Quarter Inn and it was just as special as our first. Every aspect of your stay is provided for with utmost attention from all of the staff. Cordial, professional and first class all the way.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Balcony Market view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Carroccia, General Manager at French Quarter Inn
Responded yesterday
Dear "THorne513", You are very kind to write this 5-star review; thank you for doing so! On behalf of the entire team, it was great to have you stay at our luxury boutique hotel as we are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We appreciate you as our repeated guest and thank you for your continued loyalty to French Quarter Inn. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincere regards, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
Jerry W wrote a review Sep 2020
Aiken, South Carolina81 contributions55 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We booked this hotel based on reviews. We assumed it would be very nice , but also thought that it would be different due to covid. We were wrong. This place is as beautiful as all the reviews stated. The staff is levels above other hotels on all counts. They are ultra professional and sincerely friendly. The first impression from the greeting of the valet gentlemen, through the front desk people is top notch. We got there way to early to be checked in, but they brought our luggage in, recommended a nearby restaurant for lunch, and arranged for a driver to get us to our dinner reservation. This was all before we even officially checked in. The deluxe corner terrace king room was gorgeous. Very comfortable and sparkling clean. We were very comfortable with the safety protocol they were following from masks to elevator policy, and how immaculate everything appeared. We assumed there would be a major cutback of amenities. They had to adapt the amenities and they did it wonderfully. They still had options for breakfast in your room, lobby, or outside terrace. Everything was wrapped and packaged to a great level of protection. The bathroom amenities were all high end and nicely presented. The shower is awesome. This hotel deserves every award and good review it has earned. The staff at all levels is fantastic. We won’t need reviews on our next trip to Charleston. We will call the French Quarter Inn. We hated having to go home. You will too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
9 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Carroccia, General Manager at French Quarter Inn
Responded Sep 7, 2020
Dear "Jerryw380" Greetings from Charleston and thank you for sharing this detailed 5-star review with the Tripadvisor community! We really appreciate all of your compliments about our cleanliness, covid19 safety protocols, luxurious inclusive amenities, and comfortable rooms. More importantly, thank you for noting the level of genuine friendliness and care you experienced from our staff - we are so fortunate to have team members who are dedicated to providing excellent service to all of our guests. We appreciate you as our valued guest and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our beautiful city! With sincere thanks, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
Departure782321 wrote a review Apr 5
Rockwall, Texas7 contributions3 helpful votes
So glad we chose this hotel for our stay. Everything that the other reviewers said about how nice, beautiful, and customer service is true. We will be only staying here when we come to Charleston. On the customer service side the ladies who did a brief turndown service for me....we didn’t want one we just arrived but brought us a extra pillow and blanket for us to Sarah who checked us in. Wonderful...wonderful customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Carroccia, General Manager at French Quarter Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear "Departure782321", Greetings from French Quarter Inn ! We are happy to hear that you were validated in your hotel choice, and that our luxury boutique property met and exceeded your expectations ! We appreciate your compliments about our attentive and personalized guest service, as this is what we strive for each and every day. From the entire team, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to see you again the next time you visit Charleston ! All the best, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
Virginia M wrote a review Apr 5
1 contribution
Beautiful, clean hotel with impeccable service and attention to detail! Beds were comfy and the bathroom was beautiful with good water temperature and pressure. We enjoyed the free breakfast in our room, as well as the cheese/wine and cookies/milk receptions. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief visit, and hopefully we will be able to return again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask about construction going on so you don't get a view of building work across the street....
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Carroccia, General Manager at French Quarter Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear "Grammargirl70", Thank you so much for writing these kind words about French Quarter Inn ! It is great to know that our dedicated service, our attention to detail, our cleanliness standards, and our inclusive amenities all made for a wonderful hotel experience. We hope to see you again soon and we wish you nothing but the best! Warm regards, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
magicmully wrote a review Apr 4
Clearwater, Florida40 contributions29 helpful votes
First off the location is great. The service is ok although the people are very friendly. Room was turned down 1 out of 3 nights, manager failed to respond when we asked to speak to him, staff walked into room unannounced and without knocking which led to a very embarrassing naked bathroom moment. We expected a higher standard for the price we paid. The food was repetitive. Whilst the concept of afternoon wine /snacks was great, serving the same meats and cheese for breakfast and afternoon wine by the 2nd day was boring and by the 3rd unacceptable. There was only so much salami and cubed cheese you can eat and I love both but... Once we returned home we reached out AGAIN to the manager who suggested letting him know the next time we are in Charleston. The mark of a good hotel is not when everything is great but what happens when something isnt great. There are lots of lovely options nearby...We recommend trying a different hotel for the $ you will pay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Carroccia, General Manager at French Quarter Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear "magicmully", Thank you for taking the time to provide us at French Quarter Inn with feedback from your recent stay. I am sorry for the inconveniences you experienced. It is not in line with our normally high standards, and for that I apologize. We do have a slightly different account of the events and for how we tried to remedy/make the situation right; that said we recognize we should've done better. Thank you for your time and we wish you all the best. Warmest regards, Carlo Carroccia General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$309 - $656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
french quarter hotel charleston, french quarter charleston, french quarter inn charleston sc
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about French Quarter Inn
Which popular attractions are close to French Quarter Inn?
Nearby attractions include Escape in 60 (0.05 miles), Nightly Spirits (0.06 miles), and The 34 West Theater Company (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at French Quarter Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at French Quarter Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at French Quarter Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at French Quarter Inn?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to French Quarter Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bitty & Beau's Coffee, Revival, and 167 Raw.
Is French Quarter Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Charleston.
Are any cleaning services offered at French Quarter Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does French Quarter Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to French Quarter Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Church (0.3 miles), Kahal Kadosh Beth Elohim (0.2 miles), and McLeod Plantation Historic Site (2.8 miles).
Does French Quarter Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.