We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Save
Share
345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
FindHotel
$116
$110
View Deal
SAVE $6
Booking.com
$116
$110
View Deal
SAVE $6
Free cancellation until 12/16/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$116
$110
View Deal
SAVE $6
Free cancellation until 12/15/20
Hampton.com$116
Priceline$110
Hurb$110
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (221)
360
Panoramas (29)
Room & Suite (222)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#42 of 68 hotels in Charleston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking garage
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Fax / photocopying
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
2,482Reviews63Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,253
  • 805
  • 282
  • 94
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Heather M wrote a review Oct 19
Danville, Pennsylvania5 contributions
I was excited to finally explore historic Charleston and happy to find such a reasonably priced hotel so close to the attractions. I saw some negative reviews online before booking but thought perhaps it was just a few isolated incidents; not so. There are so many issues with this aged hotel I doubt I can remember to list them all. I'm sure it was a beautiful sight 30 years ago but now it's so desperately in need of updating, repairs, and a thorough cleaning. I wouldn't mind the ambiance of an older hotel, in fact I would expect that in the historic district, but this hotel is, simply put, run down. We booked for one night with the option to extend for two. We checked in Oct 13, and had we not arrived so late at night, I would have immediately searched for a different hotel. The carpeting in the hallways is old and worn but, even worse, there are holes in the floor underneath the carpeting that you don't know about until you step in one. I stepped in the first one in the hallway leading to the first floor elevators and my husband stepped in the second one on our return trip from dinner. This is a safety hazard and could easily lead to a fall or twisted ankle. Upon opening the door to our room we were hit with an overpowering smell of mold and bleach, the windows were too dirty to see out of, the desk lamp didn't work, there was a large water leak stain on the ceiling that appeared to have black mold growing on it, the AC never effectively cooled the room, the air vents are noisy and dirty, the Wi-Fi is abysmally slow, and toiletries provided in-room are bare minimum compared to other Hampton locations. The only positives I can think of were the easy of check-in using the Hilton app and digital key option, and the proximity of the parking garage next to the hotel. Just be warned - the hotel lists the parking price as $25 but we were charged $27 to park for 12 hours. I belive the only way to get the hotel pricing is to check-in before parking and get a room key which you can then scan at the parking garage, but of course this defeats the point of a digital key and contactless check-in. The Hampton Inn Charleston could be beautiful again if they were willing to invest serious money into renovations and deep cleaning but, as is, I would suggest you look elsewhere for your Charleston accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Mark T wrote a review Oct 18
DuBois, Pennsylvania846 contributions47 helpful votes
Upon checkin, the staff was prompt and polite..it was a mere few minutes and I was on to our room. Once inside 326, it looked nice and clean. We turned on the AC and were greeted by a noisy unit. We hoped that getting the room cooled while we were out having a great evening nearby would reduce its noise level. Unfortunately, it was still noisy and we were extra tired. My family rested well, but I couldn’t because of the noise. Otherwise, the room would have been fantastic. If this message gets back to the hotel, please take a look at the AC unit and repair it. The next patron will then be more than happy! Thank you, for having us. I will stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Holley, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Responded yesterday
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hampton Inn Charleston Historic District! I am glad that our location was perfect for your visit to Charleston. We are centrally located and within walking distance to all the great Charleston attractions and restaurants! I apologize that the air conditioning unit was loud but I appreciate you letting us know so we can have maintenance take a look. Thank you once again for staying with us and I hope that you will come back and visit us again soon! Sincerely, Matt Holley
Read more
Jaxhusky wrote a review Oct 9
Jacksonville, Florida3 contributions1 helpful vote
We saw many good reviews but must agree with more recent reviews that cleanliness is lacking. Fixtures are old but can still be clean. Room Carpets, drapes, and hallways smelled like mildew. Filthy air handler and air filter was changed, but guests shouldn’t have to ask for this basic service. Manager should take recent reviews seriously instead of trying to apologize after A review, launder the drapes, clean the ac units and shampoo the carpets regularly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Holley, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Responded 1 week ago
Dear jaxhusky - Thank you very much for your honest review. Please rest assured we do take all reviews extremely serious as we are always looking to improve the guest experience. Our main goal is to ensure all our guests are happy so if you would like to reach out to me at Matt.Holley@Hilton.com or 843-414-1699 I would love the opportunity to discuss this more and make it right for you. Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn Charleston Historic District and I look forward to hearing from you! I hope that you will give the Hampton Inn Charleston Historic District another chance in the future to exceed your expectations! Sincerely, Matt Holley
Read more
A D wrote a review Oct 6
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina1 contribution
We recently stayed here while visiting our daughter. The check-in staff was very nice (thank you Aubrey!) and welcoming. The room was much better than expected considering the price for a stay in downtown Charleston. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We have already booked a return visit for November.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Holley, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Responded 1 week ago
Dear adM7995TU - Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hampton Inn Charleston Historic District! I am glad to see you had a great stay with us have already booked a return trip! The return trip is the biggest compliment that we can receive and it will be our pleasure to once again host you on your trip to Charleston! I will definitely extend your compliment to Aubrey so she knows that her efforts landed a lasting impression! Thank you once again for staying with us and everyone here at the Hampton Inn Charleston Historic District looks forward to your return trip! Sincerely, Matt Holley
Read more
dennis A wrote a review Oct 6
2 contributions1 helpful vote
For a Hilton property, this was the absolute worst, nothing more than a dump that is clearly lacking management. The staff was bitchy and unfriendly at check in, the room was not even closed, it was leaning and about 2 inches open. No sanitation sticker etc. Old and moldy. Stains on the walls and baseboards, Mold on the A/C outlet and a super loud fridge in a truly tiny room. The room was just gross and I didn't sleep a minute. How can you sleep when the fridge sounds like a tractor? Who does the maintenance in that place? The Room was old, worn and looked very tired. The courtyard access to the streets were locked and it felt like we were in a prison yard. Just very unprofessional. Parking isn't theirs and its $ 25. I dont like to write this review since I am a Hilton Honors member and usually like their product, but this was just an insult !!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay away from 443
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Holley, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Responded 1 week ago
Dear DennisaL6986RS, Thank you very much for your feedback on your experience with us. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. I will definitely address the issues that you have presented as that is not the normal for us. We try and exceed the expectations of all our guests and I am very sorry we did not accomplish this with you. If you would like to reach out to me at 843-414-1699 or Matt.Holley@Hilton.com I would like the opportunity to make this right for you. Once again thank you for your honest feedback as your experience is important. I do hope that you will give the Hampton Inn Charleston Historic another chance in the future to exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Matt Holley
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn charleston - historic district hotel charleston, hampton inn historic district, charleston hampton inn
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharlestonDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
171
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District?
Nearby attractions include Charleston Music Hall (0.05 miles), The Charleston Museum (0.07 miles), and Aiken-Rhett House (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District?
Conveniently located restaurants include Halls Chophouse, Jeni's Splendid Ice Creams, and Stella's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Charleston.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Church (0.9 miles), Kahal Kadosh Beth Elohim (0.5 miles), and McLeod Plantation Historic Site (2.8 miles).
Is Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.