We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Stay Twice & Earn a Free Night
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$309
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/22/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Traveluro
$261
View deal
Hotels.com$309
Priceline$309
Lol.travel$362
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (912)
Room & Suite (403)
Dining (59)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 03/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 03/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#42 of 81 hotels in Charleston
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
3.9

Welcome to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, your Charleston “home away from home.” The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Nathaniel Russell House (0.3 mi) and Rainbow Row (0.3 mi), guests of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel can easily experience some of Charleston's most well known attractions.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge while staying at Mill House Charleston. In addition, Mills Charleston offers a pool and a lounge, which will help make your Charleston trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is parking available to guests.

While in Charleston, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Charleston Holiday Inn, including Fleet Landing Restaurant (0.4 mi), Husk Restaurant (0.0 mi), and FIG (0.3 mi).

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular history museums such as Old Slave Mart Museum, Fort Sumter National Monument, and Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon.

The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel puts the best of Charleston at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay Twice & Earn a Free Night
4900Reviews49Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,598
  • 1,364
  • 518
  • 264
  • 156
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
vtskiman wrote a review Aug 4
Wilmington, North Carolina15 contributions11 helpful votes
Thank God we were there on a Sunday, did not have to deal with construction noise. Restaurant and bar are closed. Customer service slow and cleanliness were above par. Very good location within walking distance to everything.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ronnie V wrote a review Jun 2022
Fayetteville, North Carolina1 contribution
Hotel's Favorite
The housing staff was excellent. The Barbados Room Service was excellent Nice destination hotel. The hotel provided a comfortable stay and was terrific in all aspects. I will recommend this hotel to anyone coming the area. The onsite restaurant was truly a dining experience loved it; really made us feel special. The Charleston area is such a beautiful picture rest place, I could consider living here permanently.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Not sure, to each his or her own.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at The Mills House Hotel
Responded Jul 3, 2022
Dear Ronnie, What an excellent review to read! Hearing that you enjoyed our friendly staff, cozy accommodations, prime location, and wonderful amenities has made our day! Earning your recommendation is the greatest compliment. Please return to The Mills House soon for another fantastic time. Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
Teressa A wrote a review Aug 2
1 contribution
Being remodeled and no notice when reserved or checked in. The last day on fourth floor construction workers used hotel key and entered room and invaded our privacy. Hunter the manager is unprofessional and should be with construction crew as has no training in service. Never stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay until remodeling finished. No restaurant at hotel as being remodeled also. Management...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Mills House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for offering feedback about your recent experience at our hotel. We're sorry you were disappointed with your stay during our renovation. Our team is working diligently to address any issues that arise from this refresh to our property, and we apologize if we were unaware of the situation you encountered. Given another opportunity, we hope you'll allow us to host you again for the visit you expected. Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
Kimberly F wrote a review Aug 2
1 contribution
The staff were helpful and our stay was enjoyable. The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations so not all of the usual amenities were available. The location is perfect and virtually everything is within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Mills House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kimberly, Many thanks for your positive rating of The Mills House! It's great that our proximity to local attractions was ideal for you. As you mentioned, we're excited to be undergoing renovations and regret that some amenities were unavailable for that reason. However, we're delighted that our gracious hospitality helped make your stay enjoyable. We appreciate your kind praise and hope you'll return! Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
Vee N wrote a review Aug 1
3 contributions
This hotel was definitely grand in it's day. The charm and attention to detail is amazing. The room and the pool were very nice. With that being said, it is in a state of disrepair and the biggest issue we had was with management and customer service. We called valet and guest services to retrieve our car with no answer. There was one person working the desk and there were several people waiting. The restaurant was closed and the coffee shop was expensive. Hopefully the service can be improved and I would rate this much higher.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Mills House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. While we are pleased our comfortable accommodations and refreshing pool were a positive part of your trip, we regret you were not completely satisfied. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with our service and we appreciate the suggestions on areas that we can look at for possible improvements. We certainly hope that we will be able to have another opportunity to provide you with an impressive experience in the future! Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
Cynthia L wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at the Mills House 50 years ago on our Honeymoon in Charleston. We had the Honeymoon Suite which over looked the four corners of law. Which is a beautiful view of the city. We requested the same view if possible. We didn't get the suite, not sure if they even have that now but we did get the same view. Right now they are renovating the hotel but everything was still very nice and clean. In our room we had everything we needed. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. I know it will even better and beautiful when they are through with the renovations.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Mills House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Cynthia, What an excellent review to read. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our friendly staff and clean, comfortable accommodations. It would be wonderful to see you again, so please come back to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel soon. Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
Candice wrote a review Jul 2022
Virginia3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed at The Mills House recently celebrating our 30 year anniversary. The concierge upgraded our room free of charge to a poolside room which included an outdoor private sitting area that was exceptionally close to the pool area. We enjoyed the upgrade. The pool closes at 9pm so there was no issue with noise. Our room was a little small but comfortable. The original hotel was built in 1853, demolished and then rebuilt in 1968 so the history adds to the charm of the hotel. The bed and furnishings were comfortable. Unfortunately, the bathroom was trés petite so we had to take turns getting ready. In addition, the walls were not soundproof and I could literally hear our neighbors’ conversation while getting dressed in our bathroom. I stuffed a towel in the vent that joined our rooms and played music softly while using the bathroom. The cafe and fountain area were under construction so I was a little disappointed; HOWEVER, once it is completed, it will be fabulous. The Black Door Cafe located within The Mills House is convenient, and they make great lattes. The hospitality at The Mills House was outstanding to include the valet, concierge, housekeeping and support staff. The pink exterior with original black wrought iron details (salvaged from the 1853 hotel) added nostalgia that made our stay memorable. One of the best details, the location. We were literally steps away from amazing restaurants, cafes and galleries. We’ll definitely revisit!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Make reservations in advance as this hotel is popular. Great location and steps away from amazing...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Mills House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We’re so delighted to hear that you chose to celebrate your 30th anniversary with us! It’s an honor to be a part of this important day, and we hope your experience here made it extra special. Thank you so much for highlighting our comfortable accommodations, friendly team, and historic atmosphere. Your feedback regarding aspects of your stay that could have been even better is gratefully received and allows us to continually review and improve guest satisfaction. We wish you many more years of happiness and look forward to seeing you again soon! Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
jen wrote a review Jul 2022
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware2 contributions
Rooms and bed were comfortable. Staff was lovely Hotel was under renovations, not very noticeable Having a pool at the hotel was a nice break in the day to enjoy, although more umbrellas are needed at the pool. Although missed having a restaurant and bar in hotel, it will nice when done… Would stay when done again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Balcony room very nice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Mills House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you! It's reviews like yours that make our day so much brighter. We know how important an awesome staff and good breakfast are so it's a pleasure to hear we were able to help you start your day on the right track. We are thrilled you enjoyed so much about your stay at The Mills House and look forward to having you join us again once the renovations are done. Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
Mary Razz wrote a review Jul 2022
Edmonton, Canada41 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We are here in this beautiful pink historical hotel for 2 nights and absolutely loving it. The staff are super friendly and eager to assist in any way. The room is very clean and charmingly decorated. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations in the courtyard and restaurant but that did not affect our stay at all. There are so many top rated dining choices in the area. The pool area is very nice with an upscale feel (nice loungers and towels). I can’t wait to return to this hotel in the future after the renovations which will only enhance this beautiful gem.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There is parking lot adjacent to the hotel with a pedway leading to the hotel. $20 daily max.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Mills House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Our team endeavors to provide our guests with a quality stay and a full-fledged experience, so we're ecstatic to see that we could hit all of our marks! We're thrilled that you loved everything from your comfortable room to our relaxing pool area, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel in the future! Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
V.S wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location! UNDER CONSTRUCTION! We were not told when we made reservations. The manager wasn’t concerned and didn’t seem to care. Rooms/ bathrooms need updating ( probably getting done now.) hotel just added a cute cafe - great for grab n go breakfast, quick snack or a good cup of coffee. Nice size pool. Would recommend not doing valet parking $40.00 day boy choosing the public lot adjacent to the hotel $20.00 day. Staff is wonderful and helpful. All public areas are beautiful, the beds/ linens are compfy. Probably won’t be affected by construction because you will be out touring this beautiful city.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Park in public lot adjacent to hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Mills House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Vicki, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. Although we do our best to ensure that our current changes don't inconvenience our guests, we apologize if this wasn't the case this time around. We understand how frustrating this is, and we'll be sure to keep your comments in mind for the future. That being said, we're happy to know that our wonderful amenities impressed you during your visit. We hope to see you again in the future. Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$275 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mill house charleston sc, mills house hotel, holiday inn charleston, charleston holiday inn, mills charleston, mill house hotel charleston
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
216
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Mills House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Mills House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Nightly Spirits (0.3 miles), Escape in 60 (0.3 miles), and The 34 West Theater Company (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Mills House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Mills House Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Mills House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Mills House Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Mills House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bitty & Beau's Coffee, 82 Queen, and Charleston Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Mills House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Mills House Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Charleston.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Mills House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Mills House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Mills House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.