We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Lowest prices for your stay
$269
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/28/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com$269
Traveluro
Priceline
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (914)
Room & Suite (403)
Dining (59)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 03/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 03/03/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#42 of 81 hotels in Charleston
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
3.9

Welcome to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, your Charleston “home away from home.” The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Nathaniel Russell House (0.3 mi) and Rainbow Row (0.3 mi), guests of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel can easily experience some of Charleston's most well known attractions.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge while staying at Mill House Charleston. In addition, Mills Charleston offers a pool and a lounge, which will help make your Charleston trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is parking available to guests.

While in Charleston, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Charleston Holiday Inn, including Fleet Landing Restaurant (0.4 mi), Husk Restaurant (0.0 mi), and FIG (0.3 mi).

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular history museums such as Old Slave Mart Museum, Fort Sumter National Monument, and Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon.

The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel puts the best of Charleston at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish
4904Reviews49Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,599
  • 1,367
  • 518
  • 264
  • 157
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Katvag wrote a review Yesterday
Pawleys Island, South Carolina3 contributions1 helpful vote
The room was excellent however hotel is under renovation and also transition to other hotel chain Didn’t know this until reservation confirmed. It will be a premiere place in Charleston when completed I will give it another chance when do e
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Will_Traveler_2007 wrote a review Aug 17
Sunny Florida10 contributions9 helpful votes
Nice hotel in a great location! Stayed here to see a show at the historic Riviera Theater, which was a couple of blocks away. Walking distance to countless shops, restaurants, and beautiful homes and parks. Parking garage next door had reasonable overnight rate and direct access to the hotel. Even though it is in the midst of being renovated, we still enjoyed our stay. Nicely appointed room and common areas were very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking garage next door had direct access to the hotel and reasonable overnight rate.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
travelmore09 wrote a review Aug 17
Pennsylvania48 contributions28 helpful votes
The rooms were a bit tired, but the location of hotel in the quieter end of the city makes it a top contender for me. Breakfast was included, while not gourmet, was an easy way to start the day. More of a bus trip hotel than a party scene, but easy enough to walk to main attractions. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mmckay102254 wrote a review Aug 16
Buffalo, New York1 contribution
The beds were great. Construction right above us was loud. We weren’t aware the restaurant wasn’t available and the coffee shop was just ok. Able to walk to everything downtown and the pool was a plus in the august heat.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jacob F wrote a review Aug 12
1 contribution
First, the hotel fails to tell guests that the entire building is under construction. They say nothing when you book the rooms. Although 7 days before our stay they sent an email stating that the restaurant and bar are under construction, they never mentioned that entire floors of rooms are under construction and that they will be putting guests in rooms right underneath the construction. Second, their service is terrible. When I checked in, the hotel checked me into the wrong room which was a lower level room than I had booked. After waiting for an hour, they then switched me into a room that was not clean and smelled, which we had to stay in for the first night in. The next day they then switched me into another room underneath the active construction. We were not told about the construction before arriving, and then when we were told about the construction, we were told it would start at 9:00 am. It woke us up at 7:45 am each morning. Then on the last day the entire power shut off in the hotel, which forced us to walk down four flights of stairs with our bags. When I checked out, the person at the front desk told me someone would reach out to help make amends for this stay. No one ever reached out. I eventually called the hotel to deal with the situation. Joe Caoucal answered and was incredibly rude and made no effort to help this situation, stating that there was absolutely nothing he could do since I had already checked out. Following that conversation, I emailed the hotel and have heard nothing from them. This is unacceptable service. Although the hotel has a good location, there are other hotels nearby that will not be under construction and have better service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vtskiman wrote a review Aug 4
Wilmington, North Carolina15 contributions11 helpful votes
Thank God we were there on a Sunday, did not have to deal with construction noise. Restaurant and bar are closed. Customer service slow and cleanliness were above par. Very good location within walking distance to everything.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Teressa A wrote a review Aug 2
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Being remodeled and no notice when reserved or checked in. The last day on fourth floor construction workers used hotel key and entered room and invaded our privacy. Hunter the manager is unprofessional and should be with construction crew as has no training in service. Never stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay until remodeling finished. No restaurant at hotel as being remodeled also. Management...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Mills House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for offering feedback about your recent experience at our hotel. We're sorry you were disappointed with your stay during our renovation. Our team is working diligently to address any issues that arise from this refresh to our property, and we apologize if we were unaware of the situation you encountered. Given another opportunity, we hope you'll allow us to host you again for the visit you expected. Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kimberly F wrote a review Aug 2
1 contribution
The staff were helpful and our stay was enjoyable. The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations so not all of the usual amenities were available. The location is perfect and virtually everything is within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Mills House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Kimberly, Many thanks for your positive rating of The Mills House! It's great that our proximity to local attractions was ideal for you. As you mentioned, we're excited to be undergoing renovations and regret that some amenities were unavailable for that reason. However, we're delighted that our gracious hospitality helped make your stay enjoyable. We appreciate your kind praise and hope you'll return! Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vee N wrote a review Aug 1
3 contributions
This hotel was definitely grand in it's day. The charm and attention to detail is amazing. The room and the pool were very nice. With that being said, it is in a state of disrepair and the biggest issue we had was with management and customer service. We called valet and guest services to retrieve our car with no answer. There was one person working the desk and there were several people waiting. The restaurant was closed and the coffee shop was expensive. Hopefully the service can be improved and I would rate this much higher.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Mills House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. While we are pleased our comfortable accommodations and refreshing pool were a positive part of your trip, we regret you were not completely satisfied. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with our service and we appreciate the suggestions on areas that we can look at for possible improvements. We certainly hope that we will be able to have another opportunity to provide you with an impressive experience in the future! Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cynthia L wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at the Mills House 50 years ago on our Honeymoon in Charleston. We had the Honeymoon Suite which over looked the four corners of law. Which is a beautiful view of the city. We requested the same view if possible. We didn't get the suite, not sure if they even have that now but we did get the same view. Right now they are renovating the hotel but everything was still very nice and clean. In our room we had everything we needed. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. I know it will even better and beautiful when they are through with the renovations.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Mills House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Cynthia, What an excellent review to read. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our friendly staff and clean, comfortable accommodations. It would be wonderful to see you again, so please come back to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel soon. Best, Michael Linder General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$283 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mill house charleston sc, mills house hotel, holiday inn charleston, charleston holiday inn, mills charleston, mill house hotel charleston
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
216
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Mills House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Mills House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Nightly Spirits (0.3 miles), Escape in 60 (0.3 miles), and The 34 West Theater Company (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Mills House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Mills House Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Mills House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Mills House Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Mills House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bitty & Beau's Coffee, 82 Queen, and Charleston Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Mills House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Mills House Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Charleston.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Mills House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Mills House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Mills House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.