We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Restoration

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Restoration
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 795: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a weekend with my boyfriend. I like modern hotels so I wasn't interested in the majority of the more southern looking options. Thought the room and hotel were really cool, funky, modern loft like design. LOVED the free breakfast basket delivered to your door (and where else is lox an option?) although they did bring 2 of... More 

Helpful?
Thank globalcitizen77
new york
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I checked in 9/24/16. We had great exceptions for this property. Upon arriving at the hotel no valet or bellman came out to help, I had to enter into the hotel and find the bell person along with the front desk staff having a conversation and paying no attention to us. After checking in we requested extra... More 

Helpful?
Thank maxthunder
Mike S, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. This is not typical of how we interact with our guests and I do apologize. It is always our goal to exceed expectations and it is hard to hear when we fail. I will personally address the issues that you have brought up and promise that we they... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Nothing but glowing things to say about this hotel. The location is perfect, the ambiance is perfect, the smells are perfect, and the service was stunning. My wife and I just finished a stay in Charleston for our honeymoon, and kind of took a guess on a hotel. We picked right. Breakfast was delivered in a picnic basket every morning,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason W
Mike S, Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We take a lot of pride in what we do and I think it really shows. Our breakfast baskets are always a fan favorite and the views form our rooftop restaurant, The Watch, are the best in town. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Mike Scavo More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cannot say enough good things about our stay at The Restoration! The service was unbelievable, rooms were great, very accommodating...... Not a bad thing to say. Have already recommended it to others and will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank CBF1106
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were blown away by our stay at The Restoration. The staff was phenomenal!....very professional but warm and friendly. The facility itself is fascinating and the room was so nice, we almost didn't want to go out and explore! Loved all the comforts of home (plus some!) and especially the lovely bathroom, full fridge and breakfast basket in the morning!... More 

Helpful?
Thank TourPro757
Mike S, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. It is always great to hear how much our guests enjoy Charleston and The Restoration. I am so happy to hear that we will be back in November and we look forward to seeing you. If you need some help planning your visit we are always happy to assist. I agree that sometimes... More 

Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I loved our stay at the Restoration. The staff was very responsive and accommodating. I called less than 24 hrs before our reservation and was concerned about the weather forecast of 100% rain for the entire 5 day duration of our stay, since most of our planned activities were going to be outside. They were willing to change our reservation.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were so happy to be in a such a superior boutique hotel! The pictures don't show the real beauty of this hotel! The location is walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. But the bar/restaurant in the hotel (The Watch) makes you not want to leave! I would highly recommend The Restoration to even the most discerning traveler! We... More 

Helpful?
Thank DennyDen4
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our room (4 nights) at the Restoration with its fine bedroom, sitting area and wonderful shower. We were, however, perplexed by 'the devil in the details' from a toilet that needed to be "jiggled" after every flush to nearly half of the outlets (and the USB connector) not functioning to having to "set expectations" with the staff after... More 

Helpful?
Thank samster396
Mike S, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We love to hear comments about our hotel. I am sorry that you had some issues arise while you stayed with us, but I can assure you that we do take the details very seriously and will look into your concerns. We do care about our guests and what is important to them is important... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a wonderful meal in the dining room but as a person who holds a degree in hospitality I was absolutely shocked at how rude the f&B manager was. All of the staff I encountered at the hotel from the valet, to our waitress was wonderful except this guy. Honestly do not understand how the General manager has not... More 

Helpful?
Thank ADean75
Mike S, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience at our Restaurant. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with the Food and Beverage Manager. It is always our goal to exceed expectations and I do not like to hear that we have fallen short. Please feel free to contact... More 

Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an exceptional time at The Restoration. The service was very personal. Chrissy at the front desk was especially welcoming. We took advantage of the whole array of assets: wine and cheese, reception, loaner bikes, nail bar, The Watch restaurant (amazing lobster roll), concierge recommendations, breakfast basket. We LOVED our one bedroom suite, which was a delightful upgrade surprise... More 

Helpful?
Thank GringaLinton
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

609 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (263)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (126)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (319)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Luxury One Bedroom Suite (87)
Viewed
Luxury One Bedroom Suite with Balcony (177)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,512 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,841 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Restoration

Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $333 - $802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay