We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Governor's House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
The Governor\\
The Governor's House Inn
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Governor's House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

We loved our long weekend in Charleston. The property is beautiful, rooms well appointed, but the best is the service. Bryan and his team attended to our every need making reservations, recommending excursions, and ensuring the wine and cheese was plentiful. We will be returning and we are already looking forward to our next get away.

Helpful?
Thank Clara P
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind words! I have a great team and am very lucky. We are always happy to see a nice review. Can't wait to have you again. Angela Ward, GM More 

Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back!!! Great location and easy to walk where ever we wanted. Breakfast and coffee first thing then wine and cheese in the afternoons. Bryan the house manager was wonderful and we loved our time there! Jill and Bill

Helpful?
Thank drjill1
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we do hope to see you again. We have a great staff and with great guests like you two it is a winning combination. Plan to come back in the fall! Bryan More 

Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

Lovely property and wonderful, friendly staff. Very conveniently located near the heart of Old Charleston which meant we could walk to restaurants, stores, waterfront park and many historic and beautiful churches. Breakfast each day was delightful and the inn keeper on site, Brian was extremely helpful and hospitable at every turn. We'd definitely stay here again! Thanks again for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank buckshotprod
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. It's easy to be nice to such nice guests. Hope to see you again soon. Bryan More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

I had the pleasure of speaking with these wonderful people who accommodated all of my requests without complaint. Staff were very welcoming and knowledgeable about the grounds and the nightlife and other interesting things to do in Charleston. The house was in immaculate shape. The Christopher suite is where my Fiance and I had stayed, tragically only for one evening,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review! We are thrilled you were so happy with your stay and we are looking forward to your return. We hope next time you can extend your stay and we can recommend many other wonderful activities and sites! Warm Regards, Angela Ward, GM More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

We were substantially happy with our stay at the Governor's House Inn, but at nearly $400 a night, we thought it expensive for what it was. It's a very nice house, well equipped, with comfortable, large, high-ceilinged rooms. The furnishings are a mixture of genuine old pieces and reproductions (more of the latter than the former, especially in the bedroom).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travel1000Glen
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the praises and for the insight regarding cost, food choices etc.. We always appreciate our guests thoughts and preferences. We will take your suggestions into serious consideration. We hope you return soon and will happily cater to your needs! Warm Regards, Angela Ward, GM More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

A great B&B in the heart of Charleston. Host Brian was very friendly, breakfast was excellent and timely. We had a very nice room on the ground floor with our own private patio area. Easy parking and one block from King Street the major avenue for shopping and restaurants. B&B is the way to stay in Charleston- it extends the... More 

Helpful?
Thank John F
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here in May for 3 nights, this was part of a road trip from Washington DC to Amelia Island. It was actually the most expensive stay per night compared to all the other B&B's, also the other B&B's were Select Registry! The room was fine, breakfasts were good, we enjoyed chatting to other guests at the wine hour... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pompeysunrise
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Pompeysunrise, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Governors House Inn. I'm sorry your visit was less than optimal. Please come back for another visit and we will do everything we can to make it your very best time in Charleston. You mentioned that you were never too sure who was in charge. As the owner I can... More 

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Loved it! A cozy getaway. We spent our anniversary here. Not only was there attentive accommodations, but the entire Charleston historic district and shops are all within a third of a mile walk. Once we parked in their private parking space, we never needed our vehicle again until we left.

Helpful?
Thank brianmac10
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

The staff and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back soon! Warm Regards, Angela Ward, GM More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

As comfortable as it is beautiful, The Governor's House Inn is a must stay while in Charleston. Canopied by century old trees and verandas, its exterior is as gorgeous as the interior! We stayed in the Middleton Suite, which has a private veranda - on which we enjoyed breakfast in the morning and a glass of wine at sunset. Steps... More 

Helpful?
Thank MeganBSeattle
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for those kind words (and the chocolate). Our whole staff enjoys it when guests are as nice as you guys. Hope to see you in the fall! Bryan More 

Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

This is the 4th year I've stayed at the Governor's House Inn. The staff is welcoming and friendly, the room amenities (Gilcrest & Soames) are perfect, the rooms comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious. Some changes have been made that sadden me. The afternoon tea has been reduced. Gone are the delectable cakes, probably better for my waistline, but I do... More 

Helpful?
Thank teamfur
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for all of your feedback. WE MISS NEW TOO!! We love having you ladies it's always our pleasure and enjoy providing you a home away from home. We have since unlocked the ice machine so no one has to go without at any time of the day or night. We will also be sure and have sweet treats... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

277 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
The Laurens Room (30)
Viewed
The Middleton Suite (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,472 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#5 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,775 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Planters Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Governor's House Inn offers the rare pleasures, aristocratic comforts and romantic grandeur of a pre-revolutionary National Landmark. With magnificent drawing rooms, boudoir staterooms, and expansive veranda porches, it is no wonder that the former Governor's mansion was proclaimed the most glamorous of Charleston inns by Travel Holiday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Governor's House Inn

Address: 117 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2435
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $362 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governor's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Governor's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s House Hotel Charleston
Governors Inn Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay