We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Governor's House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Governor\\
The Governor's House Inn
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Governor's House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 418: English reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2016

We booked a last minute weekend get away to Charleston and thoroughly enjoyed the town and this charming inn. We had a cute room on the third floor. It was a bit of a hike up but well worth it. As was the fantastic breakfast which was really good and nice to talk with the other guests. The location of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank corinnaontheroad
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon. Bryan

Reviewed November 14, 2016

We arrived in Charleston as first timers to the city. We were VERY pleasantly surprised that at the accommodations. The Governor's House Inn is perfectly located to walk to most of the interesting parts of the city, they have ample parking and truly historic place to rest after all day on the go. The staff is all exceptionally accommodating and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

So glad you had a great stay with us. It is easy to be nice when you are dealing with nice people. The entire staff tries to make each guest feel special and have a unique experience. Hope to see you again soon. Bryan

South Florida, Florida
Reviewed November 13, 2016

This B&B is gorgeous and very conveniently located o downtown.This was my husband and my first experience with a B&B and we were very impressed. We will absolutely stay in more. Charleston was so much fun and staying in such a lovely historical home made it all the more special. our room was huge, the bed was comfortable and luxurious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fireflysprite
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Bryan

Columbia, Maryland
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this B and B! We stayed in the Barbados Room for 3 nights. Although not a huge room, it represented the rooms of the history of the era the house was built. The bathroom was huge! The staff was welcoming and the room was well cleaned each night. Breakfast was very tasty and satisfying. Bryan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
ManagerGHI, Concierge at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for this most complimentary review. We try very hard to assist our guests with anything they may need and are happy you appreciate the rich history of this house as much as we do. We hope you stay with us when you visit Charleston again! Sincerely, Mac

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Friendly, helpful staff made staying here delightful. The room we rented was the smaller suite on the first floor (the only one on the floor). It was a good room for a honeymoon, just large enough for two people to stay comfortably for four days / four nights. Each morning breakfast is served - very well prepared, better than average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evandossey
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you for staying with us and writing this delightful review. We are so happy you decided to stay with us on such a wonderful occasion. Congratulations and may you have a lifetime of happiness. We look forward to your return visit! Warm Regards, Angela Ward, GM

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed October 22, 2016

The stay here was not a very pleasant experience. Our room was not clean, did not get clean up service until 5:00 p.m. The next day and only then because we requested it. Food was fair but not up to quality expected. We felt very overcharged for this stay. Should have been compensated for inconveniences in our suite. Would not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anetjarosr
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing and telling us about your trip. I am sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay. There is no doubt that an error occurred when your room was not cleaned by our housekeepers on your second day here. It was a break down in the way we communicate between departments and I can assure you...

ny
Reviewed October 19, 2016

We stayed at a historic inn in Savannah and followed with a stay at The Governers House Inn. Unfortunately there was no comparison between the two inns at a similar price point. The Governor's Inn on entry smelt of a musty odor which was apparent on bedding too. The extra pillows in the Rutledge suite provided were stained (and consequently...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JLG_8
TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Governor's House Inn. Since we met during your stay and we had actual conversation during your visit I regret you didn't mention any of your concerns to me while you were our guest. We like to do everything we can to remedy situations at that moment in time rather than looking back...

Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Brian (the innkeeper) and the entire staff at The Governor's House Inn made our stay a truly exceptional experience. The Inn itself is beautiful and has a rich and interesting history (be sure to ask Brian... he is extremely knowledgeable). The breakfasts were varied... but all excellent. Charleston bills itself as a veritable foodies paradise, and The Governor's House upholds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gnfredricks
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for mentioning me in your review! It was a pleasure to speak with you about the home and our special city. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfasts and tea hour. Word of mouth is always a good thing and so appreciate that you will be spreading our good name to other travelers. We look forward...

Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed October 6, 2016

We loved our stay at the Governor's House Inn. We stayed in the Rutledge Suite with a private porch and king canopy bed. The large remodeled bath is very nice with stand alone shower and whirlpool tub (which we didn't use). Breakfast was always very nice, with options if you didn't care for their daily special. We meet some nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CPintheSouth
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Dearest Guest, We appreciate your very positive comments about our lovely property and staff. Please come back and stay with us again soon! Warm Regards, Angela GM

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 5, 2016

A fabulous historic guesthouse in a lovely part of Charleston, it was nice to stay in a period property which has been beautifully restored and provides luxury high quality accommodation. Enjoying a glass of chilled wine on the verandah in the evening was glorious. Highly recommended with friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivisguzzi
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Dearest Guest, Thank you so much for such a thoughtful review! It was wonderful having you and we're looking forward to your return! Warm Regards, Angela GM

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

319 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (172)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
The Laurens Room (30)
Viewed
The Middleton Suite (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,652 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
2,618 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,903 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Governor's House Inn offers the rare pleasures, aristocratic comforts and romantic grandeur of a pre-revolutionary National Landmark. With magnificent drawing rooms, boudoir staterooms, and expansive veranda porches, it is no wonder that the former Governor's mansion was proclaimed the most glamorous of Charleston inns by Travel Holiday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Governor's House Inn

Address: 117 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2435
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $212 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governor's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Governor's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s House Hotel Charleston
Governors Inn Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Governor's House Inn staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Governor's House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Top floor rooms have a few stairs to climb, but come with views of nearby historic church steeples”
 of 5 bubbles JTravelBuddy, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms in the back kitchen are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rtyke, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The Barbados room was in the back of the house on the ground floor. It was quiet and had a private entrance and a large bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles W4791MNheatherb, Dec 6, 2016 | Read review
“The larger rooms are spacious and seemed to be cleaned better than the small rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles JLG_8, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“The Rutledge balcony faces east, so it gets direct sun early in the day. It's most enjoyable in the late afternoon/early evening.”
 of 5 bubbles CPintheSouth, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question