We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Governor's House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
The Governor\\
The Governor's House Inn
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 412: English reviews
Belleair Beach, Florida
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed over a weekend during a short getaway. We got the last room, which happened to be in the basement, an obvious addition to the regular guest rooms. My wife detected a slight damp smell as you might get in a basement but I couldn't pick it up. The room was very large and the bathroom also very large....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bfg1953
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently took a mother-daughter getaway weekend in Charleston and had the pleasure of staying at the Governor's House Inn. What a wonderful experience! The house itself was lovely, especially decorated for Christmas. Our room, the Barbados room, had a private entrance which was very convenient. The breakfasts were SO DELICIOUS and an excellent way to start each day of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Clinton, CT
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I recently spent a long weekend in Charleston and have to say that The Governor's House Inn was the perfect home base for everything we wanted to see and do. The location was ideal for long walks South of Broad and "getting lost" in the beautiful nooks and crannies of the city. We could walk to dinners,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeter2Kris
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words and very glad we exceeded you expectations! We do have a great staff. We try to start your day with a special meal, so glad you liked The Cinnamon French Toast, it's been a big hit. Hope you visit us again soon. Bryan

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved being within walking distance to the charming historic district in one direction and in the other direction to the waterfront for the sunsets. Gorgeous! Loved being in this beautiful, charming, historic home with all its quirks and uniqueness I would have been disappointed if they hadn't been there. The furnishings, the ambiance were so special and fitting for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and so happy your visit was a memorable one. It's not often you can stay in the former home of one of the signers of The Declaration of Independence. Glad you found the uniqueness of the inn to your liking. Hope you will return to stay with us soon. Bryan

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a last minute weekend get away to Charleston and thoroughly enjoyed the town and this charming inn. We had a cute room on the third floor. It was a bit of a hike up but well worth it. As was the fantastic breakfast which was really good and nice to talk with the other guests. The location of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank corinnaontheroad
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon. Bryan

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived in Charleston as first timers to the city. We were VERY pleasantly surprised that at the accommodations. The Governor's House Inn is perfectly located to walk to most of the interesting parts of the city, they have ample parking and truly historic place to rest after all day on the go. The staff is all exceptionally accommodating and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

So glad you had a great stay with us. It is easy to be nice when you are dealing with nice people. The entire staff tries to make each guest feel special and have a unique experience. Hope to see you again soon. Bryan

South Florida, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This B&B is gorgeous and very conveniently located o downtown.This was my husband and my first experience with a B&B and we were very impressed. We will absolutely stay in more. Charleston was so much fun and staying in such a lovely historical home made it all the more special. our room was huge, the bed was comfortable and luxurious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fireflysprite
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Bryan

Columbia, Maryland
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this B and B! We stayed in the Barbados Room for 3 nights. Although not a huge room, it represented the rooms of the history of the era the house was built. The bathroom was huge! The staff was welcoming and the room was well cleaned each night. Breakfast was very tasty and satisfying. Bryan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
ManagerGHI, Concierge at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for this most complimentary review. We try very hard to assist our guests with anything they may need and are happy you appreciate the rich history of this house as much as we do. We hope you stay with us when you visit Charleston again! Sincerely, Mac

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Friendly, helpful staff made staying here delightful. The room we rented was the smaller suite on the first floor (the only one on the floor). It was a good room for a honeymoon, just large enough for two people to stay comfortably for four days / four nights. Each morning breakfast is served - very well prepared, better than average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evandossey
ManagerGHI, General Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you for staying with us and writing this delightful review. We are so happy you decided to stay with us on such a wonderful occasion. Congratulations and may you have a lifetime of happiness. We look forward to your return visit! Warm Regards, Angela Ward, GM

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed October 22, 2016

The stay here was not a very pleasant experience. Our room was not clean, did not get clean up service until 5:00 p.m. The next day and only then because we requested it. Food was fair but not up to quality expected. We felt very overcharged for this stay. Should have been compensated for inconveniences in our suite. Would not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anetjarosr
ManagerGHI, Assistant Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing and telling us about your trip. I am sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay. There is no doubt that an error occurred when your room was not cleaned by our housekeepers on your second day here. It was a break down in the way we communicate between departments and I can assure you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

320 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (172)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
The Laurens Room (30)
Viewed
The Middleton Suite (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,567 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,566 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
2,908 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Governor's House Inn offers the rare pleasures, aristocratic comforts and romantic grandeur of a pre-revolutionary National Landmark. With magnificent drawing rooms, boudoir staterooms, and expansive veranda porches, it is no wonder that the former Governor's mansion was proclaimed the most glamorous of Charleston inns by Travel Holiday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Governor's House Inn

Address: 117 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2435
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $211 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governor's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Governor's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s House Hotel Charleston
Governors Inn Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Governor's House Inn staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Governor's House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The Barbados room was in the back of the house on the ground floor. It was quiet and had a private entrance and a large bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles W4791MNheatherb, 4 days ago | Read review
“The larger rooms are spacious and seemed to be cleaned better than the small rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles JLG_8, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“The Rutledge balcony faces east, so it gets direct sun early in the day. It's most enjoyable in the late afternoon/early evening.”
 of 5 bubbles CPintheSouth, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
“We were in the "Master Bedroom". Not really sure what the other rooms included.”
 of 5 bubbles 513robertv, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“Christopher Suite is the best. Quite secluded with a wet bar, refrigerator, table, nice bathroom!”
 of 5 bubbles 309kelsieb, Sep 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay