We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kings Courtyard Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kings Courtyard Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

545 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Kings Courtyard Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 543: English reviews
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It goes without saying that this Inn is a perfect place to stay because it is so central to the historic area of Charleston and the value was excellent If you didn't have a car you would be able to do so much, although not go out to see a plantation or Angel Oak. The afternoon wine/cheese was an added...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our stay in the hotel was a good one. The location was perfect to take in all of downtown Charleston. We were able to walk King St, to the market, and to the Battery with ease. The breakfast and wine & cheese offerings were very nice to have. When we forgot to mark the desired time for breakfast delivery, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that you took advantage of walking to Charleston’s many nearby attractions and restaurants. We’re happy that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and wine & cheese hour. The inn is currently undergoing a large renovation project, including a complete redo of our guest bathrooms and lobby. We will keep your...

Fair Haven, New Jersey
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were very pleased with our room overlooking King Street. The staff was very helpful. We loved being a short walk from the Market and the places that we went for drinks and/or dinner: Anson, McCrady's, the Market Pavilion Hotel's rooftop bar. The free wine hour was enjoyable. The free continental breakfast is sufficient to start your day and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Junebug818
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Charleston is all about history and this Inn typifies that. located on kings Street with easy acess to the straw market and many resteraunts and much shopping.Having stayed at many hotels in Charleston, this has the flavor of really being in that far away time of the 18th century. The rooms are charming and the Inns public rooms and atriums...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank montiny
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the very kind words about your stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our property and its many historic and unique touches. We hope that you will visit again this spring and see Charleston in full, beautiful bloom. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Shallotte
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Excellent location, excellent service and very attractive decor. The breakfast and evening wine & cheese are a nice touch. Parking was convenient after we figured out where it was. The high bed was a little hard to get in and out, but now I can say I have slept in one. The value from Travelzoo was a great deal. Parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Z
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed there last week. I thought that it was a very charming hotel with beautiful high ceilings. It reminded me of a place that I stayed at in Uruguay many years ago. It's conveniently located in the heart of Charleston. The woman that works the front desk is very nice. They have a free continental breakfast. On the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry T
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We selected this Inn from a Travel Zoo deal for three nights. The entrance is barely marked and reception hidden through two rooms tucked out of the way and view. Parking was through a small unmarked alley, but was secure and close to the rear entrance, $12/day charged to the room allowed easy in /out use. The Inn is perfectly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you took advantage of our Travelzoo offer and enjoyed Charleston from our central location. Unfortunately, we do not receive guest email addresses from Travelzoo. This means we are unable to send our pre-arrival letter detailing where to park, how to easily access our hotel lobby and other amenities offered. I appreciate...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Learned about this on Travel Zoo and felt we received a good value. There was a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we checked in as we told them it was our anniversary. The room was clean and comfortable. But, the bed was so high I had to use a stool to get in. Also, a dust ruffle around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdmarSarasota
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on dec. 4.2013. I was expecting a grand hotel but I got a old hotel in lots of for repairs. There is no front desk , as I was walking around looking to check in a employee was nice enough to show me where. Parking is awful especialy at night. no signs anywhere. Rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nutman111
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your trip. I appreciate your feedback and am very sorry that you were displeased with your stay. Unfortunately, we do not receive guest email addresses from Travelzoo. This means we are unable to send our pre-arrival letter detailing where to park, how to easily access our hotel lobby and other amenities offered. I apologize that your...

Carcassonne, France
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great location on Kings Street but the cleaning staff needs to be trained much better. There was visible mold in the toilet that brushing would have removed. Dirt under the bed had to have been there for quite some time because it was thick. The wallpaper on the wall above the sink was peeling. One good thing was the great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarcassonneGuy
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and found our heat and air system to be effective for Charleston’s unpredictable fall weather. I appreciate your note about these housekeeping items. The issues you noted are not our standard. I sincerely apologize that your room was not in top condition....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

157 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (119)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#19 of 60 in Charleston
588 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 60 in Charleston
863 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
622 reviews
Elliott House Inn
#32 of 60 in Charleston
766 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Price Range: $202 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kings Courtyard Inn staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
New York, New York, United States
18 days ago
Wilmington, North Carolina
over a year ago
Wilmington, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Kings Courtyard Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We loved the spacious 2-room Parlor Suite.”
 of 5 bubbles THTX09, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“As for a room overlooking King Street.”
 of 5 bubbles MGIson, Jan 14, 2017 | Read review
“No idea if other rooms are more modern”
 of 5 bubbles dzigan1, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“Room 401 in back and easy in/out for dogs.”
 of 5 bubbles jenlin2, Dec 31, 2016 | Read review
“Bring a noisemaker, just in case. This is a tip if you stay in any small hotel in downtown Charleston.”
 of 5 bubbles MrAndMrsBouronich, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question