We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kings Courtyard Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kings Courtyard Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 535: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Kings Courtyard Inn is a small inn on King Street in the center of the action. The building has incredible historic charm and feels like you have stepped back in time. The bathrooms are compact but functional (although it takes a long time for the warm water to get to the room). The rooms are slightly small but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MGIson
Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

this is in a great location, good parking, comfortable ,clean rooms, good social hour for wine and cheese , continental breakfast was very good, enjoyed our 3 day stay. highly recommend dinner at their sister restaurant, Circa 1886. Awesome!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HoopsterB
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay Kings Courtyard Inn. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of our central location, complimentary afternoon wine and cheese, and complimentary continental breakfast. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner at our sister property, Circa 1886. We appreciate your review and hope you will stay with us again on...

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean room, good location. It would be better if they just had a breakfast buffet so you could help yourself. Even if it was only continental. Waitress was rude at breakfast. Coffee was terrible. Had to ask for milk several times. We did like the wine and cheese at cocktail time. Close to everything in Historic Charleston.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bcarey2013
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

While we are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of our inn and the accommodations, we are very sorry to read your comments about the complimentary breakfast. Our staff is one of our greatest assets, and this experience does not reflect the high value we place on customer service and Southern hospitality. This issue has been addressed. We...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location doesn't get any better than this in Charleston! We arrived with our dog on Christmas afternoon and were greeted warmly by Cassie the concierge who turned out to be one of the best assets of the Inn. Our was spacious and clean and the quaint surroundings added to the charm. Breakfast service was friendly, if the cuisine was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to spend Christmas at the Kings Courtyard Inn. We are are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your interaction with our staff. Thank you for your compliments to our rooms, our complimentary amenities, and our location. We appreciate your review and look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Needham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is just ok - nothing fancy. The rooms are comfortable, but, need to renovated & upgraded. Breakfast service is medium priced, but, nothing special to eat. We would not stay there in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dzigan1
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback about your stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. We are very sorry that you displeased with your room. We aim to provide a well maintained historic property with the highest level of service, so we sincerely apologize that you were displeased with your experience. We appreciate your feedback about the complimentary breakfast service. We are...

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here over the Christmas holidays. Very convenient to many of the things we wanted to see. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are okay but could use some sprucing up. The social hour was really blah but the breakfast choices were good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathie C
Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived just in time for wine and cheese hour after long car ride. Room quaint but big enough for four people and two dogs. Great location near city market, shopping and great restaurants. Free continental breakfast delivered to room was added bonus and convenience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenlin2
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Kings Courtyard Inn. We are delighted to read that our wine and cheese reception served as the welcome after a long car ride. We love being able to provide a hotel that is pet friendly, and I’m so glad that this was beneficial to you. We appreciate your feedback and hope to...

Grove City, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wanted to stay in the Charleston historic district and found this charming historic Inn. Located right on King St. it is central to a lot of activities including shopping, great restaurants, horse drawn carriages and many historic sites. The hotel rates are reasonable, parking out back (extra $). The hotel offers a free one hour wine and cheese tasting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location was excellent, staff was helpful, price was reasonable. However, the furniture was old and dirty, the bedspread was stained, grout in bathroom was molded, and carpets were dirty. I believe this could be a boutique destination with a little paint, deep cleaning and updating.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnshirley27
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback about your stay. While we are glad to hear that you were pleased with the location, staff, and price, we are very sorry that you were disappointed in some aspects of your room. We are constantly working to make updates to the inn, so your comments are greatly appreciated as we strive to improve our...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location within walking distance to attractions, bars, and restaurants. Intimate and quiet. Old world feel w modern bathrooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. Loved the courtyard. Easy parking behind hotel. We loved it and will stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betsy M
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. Your comments about the ambiance, our staff, and our location are all appreciated. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back to the Kings Courtyard Inn soon. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

160 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#19 of 60 in Charleston
581 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
845 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
614 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Elliott House Inn
#30 of 60 in Charleston
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Price Range: $180 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kings Courtyard Inn staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Wilmington, North Carolina
11 months ago
Wilmington, North Carolina
over a year ago
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Moultrie, GA
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Kings Courtyard Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“As for a room overlooking King Street.”
 of 5 bubbles MGIson, 1 week ago | Read review
“No idea if other rooms are more modern”
 of 5 bubbles dzigan1, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 401 in back and easy in/out for dogs.”
 of 5 bubbles jenlin2, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Bring a noisemaker, just in case. This is a tip if you stay in any small hotel in downtown Charleston.”
 of 5 bubbles MrAndMrsBouronich, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed being on the top/3rd floor on the exterior of the hotel (King St.). It was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles R4726HOlaurap, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay