We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Elliott House Inn

Traveler (156)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (5)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#34 of 65 hotels in Charleston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
With its tranquil cobblestoned courtyard, original hardwood floors and breezy piazzas, the Elliott House Inn invites a historically rich Charleston experience. Once a private residence, our Queen Street inn effortlessly pairs the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the services of a boutique hotel. Encounter our romantic retreat in the heart of Charleston, delighting first-time visitors and charming return guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
63Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
92Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
975Reviews
247Photos
12Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 514
  • 236
  • 134
  • 64
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We did a priceline and booked this inn by chance. We loved, loved this inn. It is very charming and located great for the downtown area. There is a parking garage across the street and once we parked we didnt get in our car until we left! The staff at the inn were very
Read more
Response from GMofEHI, General Manager at The Elliott House Inn
Responded Nov 23, 2018
Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay. I am so glad that the staff was able to help you enjoy the area. The parking deck is directly across the street for twenty dollars per twenty-four hours. The majority of accommodations do not have parking in the city, so we are lucky have three parking facilities within a hundred yards of the property. The breakfast is small and light to get you up and going. We are surrounded by wonderful restaurants, if you are looking for a more full breakfast. The wine and cheese reception is a great way to meet others or to enjoy the natural wildlife of Charleston. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
The Elliott House Inn has Tastefully decorated rooms that are fairly good-sized. They include a TV, refrigerator and continental breakfast delivered to your room. There is also a wine-and-cheese get together in the courtyard every evening. When we booked our unit I asked for a
Read more
Response from GMofEHI, General Manager at The Elliott House Inn
Responded Nov 27, 2018
I’m glad that you enjoyed the property, the room and the wine and cheese reception. I’m sorry that the Gibbes Art Museum was holding a function, and that it truly disturbed your stay. We are not notified about events that go on at other properties around us. The Courtyard rooms are typically quieter, but we are in the middle of a busy city, so there will be noise no matter where you stay in the Inn. The noise ordinance on this side of Charleston is 11:00 PM, but in other sections of town, it extends to 2:00 AM. For future and potential guests, if city noise is going to be a major concern during your stay, downtown might not be ideal for a Friday or Saturday night. Many cities have ordinances that allow music and entertainment to go on much longer than 11:00 PM. Charleston is a small but compacted city, so it is nearly impossible not to hear your neighbors. Once again, I’m glad that you enjoyed all the amenities that we provide.
Read more
I booked 2 nights at the Elliott House several months in advance, at a high price, but was hoping for a special stay, based on the room descriptions. Unfortunately, this was not the case. Our first room was on the ground floor, was small and poorly laid out, with an old
Read more
Response from GMofEHI, General Manager at The Elliott House Inn
Responded Nov 27, 2018
While I’m sorry that you did not like your stay, I’m glad that we were able to move you to a more suitable room for your two-nights with us, since we were 95% occupied for the two-nights. While you did not like your first room, we do have returning guests that do like that room. If you did not like your stay with us, I wish you would have informed us during your stay, so we could have helped you find alternative accommodations. We are one of the more economically priced hotels/inns in Charleston’s Historic District, so I’m sorry that you feel like you paid too much for your stay. I hope that you will give us another try the next time you are in the area.
Read more
We had a room off the courtyard. It was quiet even though many people enjoyed the courtyard for eating, socializing. The room was very basic, king size bed. Tow nightstands, a small round table and two cushioned side chairs. Bathroom was small with a tub and shower. Breakfast
Read more
Response from GMofEHI, General Manager at The Elliott House Inn
Responded Nov 27, 2018
I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay. I’m glad that you found the location to be to your liking. I’m sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations. I hope you will give us another try in the future.
Read more
I really wanted to like this place but ultimately would not recommend it to anyone. I'll start with the highlights. The Inn is quaint. The outside space is lovely. Everything looked clean. The location is fabulous. The reasons for the not so good review: First, we checked in and
Read more
Response from GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn
Responded Nov 27, 2018
I want to start off by thanking you for writing about your recent stay. I’m sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but what saddens me the most is that you did not feel comfortable enough to tell us that you would like to see if we had other rooms to offer or if we could help you find alternative accommodations. For future and potential guests, we understand that we are not a perfect for all travelers, so we encourage you to tell the front office staff when we are not meeting your expectations. Simply put, this particular guest booked through a discount website, and paid for the least expensive room. We clearly mark on our website and all third-party sites that the Traditional Rooms are located next to the street. Charleston is a very busy season and we are surrounded by world-class restaurants, but with that, comes early morning pickups and deliveries. I would recommend anybody looking for a quieter location to book one of Courtyard Rooms, they are located toward the center and the back of the property. Now to address the issues with the room. The most important concern is the “mildew” smell. The building was built circa 1855-1861, if you are sensitive to smells, the Elliott House Inn may not be ideal for you. Currently, we have a guest staying in the same room for almost a week that speaks very highly of the room, décor and her stay. I understand that everybody has different opinions and expectations, but that is why it is important to engage with the staff instead of being in misery for three days. The soap and light and fit yogurt, instead of the Greek Yogurt, are simple mistakes that should have been caught. I will address this with the housekeeping staff. Once again, I’m just sadden by the fact that you did not feel comfortable enough to tell the staff, and that is truly our fault for not making you feel truly at ease. In conclusion, I’m sorry we did not make your experiences memorable for the right reasons. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future. For future guests, please tell the front office staff if you are not enjoying your stay.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$217 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
elliott house hotel charlestonelliott hotel charlestonthe elliott hotelelliott house inn
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing