We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Elliott House Inn

Save
Share
78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Agoda.com
$199
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/21
Elliott House Inn
$189
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$250
$150
View Deal
SAVE $100
Trip.com$250
Snaptravel$169
Lol.travel
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (214)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from The Elliott House Inn
Updated 01/12/21

About

#38 of 69 hotels in Charleston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
With its tranquil cobblestoned courtyard, original hardwood floors and breezy piazzas, the Elliott House Inn invites a historically rich Charleston experience. Once a private residence, our Queen Street inn effortlessly pairs the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the services of a boutique hotel. Encounter our romantic retreat in the heart of Charleston, delighting first-time visitors and charming return guests.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Patio
Walking tours
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
1,055Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 564
  • 245
  • 144
  • 70
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sandy B wrote a review Jan 15
Fletcher, NC245 contributions17 helpful votes
Our room was lovely and spacious but we could hear everything going on outside--a loud D.J. in a nearby restaurant late at night and trash pick-up on the street very early in the morning. The heat worked well in the bedroom but it did not extend to the bathroom. There was a nice coffee bar set up outside on the patio. However, it was not convenient to walk outside and downstairs in the morning, especially in the cold rain. However, there is a lovely covered patio with a nice fireplace and the manager was very nice and helpful. The best part is the location...walk out the door and you're in the heart of downtown!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Jill wrote a review Jan 9
6 contributions
+1
Beautiful, small hotel in a wonderful location in Charleston. Walking distance to everything. Excellent restaurants nearby. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The courtyard is charming with a lovely fireplace to lounge by. The staff were friendly and helpful. Shout out to Gwen, who was a delight to talk to and very helpful. Due to Covid19, they are not serving breakfast, but there are so many restaurants nearby. Also be aware that the rooms only have one bed in them. Also reasonably priced. Very happy with our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
LeighLeigh1966 wrote a review Jan 3
Plant City, Florida19 contributions10 helpful votes
I was really looking forward to our stay here. We visit Charleston often and like staying in the historic district. The location is great. However, the room and the grounds were not in good condition. For what we paid for this room I expected better. The room was not clean which is somewhat ironic since they tout the cleanliness of their rooms on their website. The bed was uncomfortable. The air conditioner was indequate. The humidity level was always high in the room making it uncomfortable and this was in December. I can’t imagine how miserable it would be in the summer. We had a little patio which would have been nice to use if it weren’t filthy. It could be a really great place if they would just maintain it better. It’s a beautiful historic building with a really cute courtyard. Unfortunately everything looks very dirty and dingy. They have done renovations over the years according to their website. I have to say though that the renovations were not done very well. I really hate to see historic buildings not properly renovated and maintained. It’s a shame. Again, this could be a great place if properly cared for.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from EHI Info, Guest Services / Front Office at The Elliott House Inn
Responded 1 week ago
I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. I wish you would have let us know during your stay how displeased you were, so we could have tried to find you other accommodations. For future guests, we do our best to ensure that each guest is satisfied with their stay. If you feel that we have not met your expectations, we will do our best to move you to another room or find you alternative locations that will enhance your Charleston experience. The last thing I would want is for us to be a damper on your time in Charleston. I'm glad that we were able to grant this particular guest a late checkout like they requested. I do hope that you give us another try the next time you are in Charleston. Kind regards, Neal Cook, AGM.
Read more
Sarah H wrote a review Dec 2020
Georgia19 contributions6 helpful votes
Location was very convenient for walking places at all times of day and being able to quickly run back to room if we needed anything. Room was clean and comfy. Can tell they are recently remodeled although some things were done cheaply like the wardrobe cabinets with the top molding falling off. Paid more for a courtyard room due to comments about the street noise, only to find the alleyway for the restaurant next door to be just as noisy. Historic single pane windows meant we could perfectly hear conversations and every time the trash was taken out. Annoying but luckily not too bad while sleeping. Due to COVID, they are not serving breakfast or the evening reception and this is not obvious when looking at their website.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Probably wasn't worth it to pay extra for the courtyard room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
gointonegril wrote a review Dec 2020
Virgiinia213 contributions66 helpful votes
We were there during the pandemic so our room wasn’t cleaned while were here; we were aware in advance and fine with it. I do feel a bath mat/towel would be good to have and maybe a couple of extra towels in the room for a 3 night stay. (I know I could have gone and asked but it wasn’t that big of a deal to us) The room was small but had everything we needed. Appears to have been recently updated. Nice to have a fridge in the room and coffee and hot chocolate offered in the courtyard in the mornings. The one night we had guests in the room next door we noticed the room wasn’t well soundproofed. (Hardwood floors and clicking heels don’t go together well.) The location can’t be beat..we parked and walked everywhere, even during a rainy time. This was our first visit to Charleston; will definitely be back and won’t hesitate to stay at Elliott House Inn again. ** upper floor, courtyard view (small, private balcony)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$185 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
elliott house hotel charleston, elliott hotel charleston, the elliott hotel, elliott house inn
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharlestonDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Elliott House Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Elliott House Inn?
Nearby attractions include Escape in 60 (0.3 miles), The 34 West Theater Company (0.3 miles), and Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Elliott House Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at The Elliott House Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Elliott House Inn?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Elliott House Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bitty & Beau's Coffee, Charleston Grill, and Peninsula Grill.
Is The Elliott House Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Charleston.
Are there any historical sites close to The Elliott House Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Church (0.2 miles), Kahal Kadosh Beth Elohim (0.3 miles), and McLeod Plantation Historic Site (2.6 miles).
Does The Elliott House Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Elliott House Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.