We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Elliott House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Elliott House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

766 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 760: English reviews
Start your review of Elliott House Inn
 Click to rate
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Elliott House had all the makings of a perfect B&B, but they failed in the details. The room was dark and could be improved with better lighting, the housekeeping was just 'ok'--they didn't replace dirty glasses or replace the ice bucket liner. Breakfast was prompt and of good choice, but when delivered to your room, there was no place...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMediaMaven
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you thought the service provided from the front desk and the location were excellent. We are terribly sorry that the rooms was not attended appropriately, and this issue is being resolved with our housekeeper. While we do not own or operate the...

Victor, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I visited Charleston to celebrate our February birthdays. We were very satisfied with the Elliot House Inn--I'd give it a 4.5 rating. I made the reservation by calling the desk and requesting a room on the 3rd floor--we were given Room 36, way at the back in the corner, so we had two windows. The view wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KGK220
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us. We are glad to see that you were able to take advantage of the wine and cheese reception, breakfast, and the great restaurants located near us. Room 36 is on the top floor, and it’s one of the larger rooms on the property. All the rooms have individual wall...

Florence
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A quaint small Inn tucked in on Queen street. Convenient, reasonable off street parking in city garage directly across street. Complimentary bikes were a nice touch and save you $7/hr per bike. The option of having breakfast delivered to your room at a specific time is a real treat. We loved our stay and will book again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 770dalel
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Wow! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are glad that you took the opportunity to explore the city, on our bicycles. Not having to leave your bed to have breakfast, is a real treat. We look forward to seeing you again, the next time you are in the area!

Norfolk
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall this is a nice place. Very clean and the service was great. The complimentary continental breakfast was very limited in options and not very good. The beds were terrible and we did not sleep very well. All the beds were replaced during our stay but this did not improve the quality of sleep. I expected more for the price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caleb Y
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed hospitality and the cleanliness of your room, while you were staying with us. Sorry, that you did not enjoy your breakfast options while you were with us. The menu is something small and light, to get you up and going. We do our best to provide breakfast options that a majority of guests will...

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We decided to run away from home for a few days on a spur of the moment trip. I didn't book a hotel until we were on the road. We were amazed by the history of Charleston and it was great to stay in the heart of it all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelalS2046FB
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay. We are glad that you were able to get out and explore our beautiful city. We hope to see you again, the next time you are in the area!

Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Since my best friend of 40 years and I do not live near each other we plan get togethers at various places in the US This last fall it was in Charleston SC The Elliott House was perfect for our visit It is centrally located, the staff was helpful and the room well appointed. We were a bit disappointed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meri-kathryn P
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. The location is perfect and ideal, when you are looking to explore Charleston. I’m glad that you mentioned how helpful the staff was during your stay with us. The courtyard rooms are the ones towards the...

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Elliott House is a very nice B&B in a perfect location. Parking across the street very convenient. Having 82 Queen restaurant as a room service option is exceptional! Courtyard and evening reception very nice. Only issue was more noise than expected.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rfc_avalon
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Elliott House Inn is located right in the center of Charleston. We are sandwiched between 82 Queen and Husk Restaurant, and as mentioned, we do get room service from 82 Queen. The only negative thing about the...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just off Charleston's beloved King Street, 78 Queen Street offers a lovely place to rest and enjoy the beautiful setting and sunshine of this historic town. The location is one of its prime attributes, but it also contributes to the significant cost of the accomodation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 886bethanyb
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. The location is perfect and ideal, when you are looking to explore Charleston. The price is competitive with all neighboring hotels. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again, the next time you...

Irmo, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Knowing it was "Restaurant Weekend" I wanted to stay in a location where I didn't have to drive the entire weekend. My wife and I decided this would be a good chance to get away from all the day to day activities which stress you out and cause that physical fatigue ruins your day. It took me a while, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hawkrocketzim
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Wow! We are truly blown away with how well you enjoyed your experience with us. We always enjoy reading about how well you were treated during your stay. We are glad that Neal was able to help you out during your stay. He does know a lot about the area, and the local history. Whenever he is available, he will...

Cullowhee, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Elliott House is a Friendly, centrally located hotel that captures the spirit of Charleston. It's traditional furnishings make you feel like you have stepped back in time. I would highly recommend these accommodations.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanda K
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

We are so excited that you keep coming back to stay with us, as you travel down the mountain. We always look forward to seeing familiar faces. As you mentioned, the location cannot be beat. The staff is friendly, and is more than happy to give a helping hand. We look forward to seeing you again, the next time you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

500 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)
Viewed
Traditional King (76)
Viewed
Traditional King with Patio (78)
Viewed
Traditional Queen (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 60 in Charleston
863 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 60 in Charleston
1,469 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#19 of 60 in Charleston
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $207 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Elliott House Inn staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
atlanta
over a year ago
11 months ago
Austin, Texas
over a year ago
Austin, Texas
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Elliott House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 36 was nice, but if you're short ask for a step stool to get into bed!”
 of 5 bubbles KGK220, 3 days ago | Read review
“Read my Review about the loud noise and stay in the Courtyard. Park your car in the garage an walk. Listen to the music it's free.”
 of 5 bubbles hawkrocketzim, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“A room to the court yard side”
 of 5 bubbles steenb135, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask about noise levels of rooms, maybe 2nd or 3rd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles gabbir2016, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ground floor by all means”
 of 5 bubbles williamp370, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question