We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Elliott House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Elliott House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

645 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 641: English reviews
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Elliott House was so centrally located and close to our touring. The lovely room, delicious breakfasts and helpful staff all added to a thoroughly satisfying experience. There are some first rate restaurants just a short walk from the Elliott.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rkraus330
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had an awesome time and will definitely stay at the Elliott House again. All employees were friendly and eager to help. Wine and cheese was delicious, as well as breakfast. We enjoyed meeting other guests. We will certainly tell friends about the Elliott House!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vicki66Oklahoma
Candler
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great place to stay with a great atmosphere. Very friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast was great and the evening cheese and atmosphere was awesome. We did not get into the Jacuzzi because it was too warm outside.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank davidsZ8333QV
High Point, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent a wonderful weekend in this great hotel. Matthew went to check us in with our Groupon and we had mistakenly cancelled a couple months ago without knowing. He was so understanding and found us the same room we had with Groupon. He was such a pleasure to work with and thank goodness for him. The room was beautiful... More 

Helpful?
Thank David R
Norwood, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Elliott House is centrally located within walking distance of most historical landmarks and close to the many great restaurants of Charleston. Matthew from the staff was very helpful with questions and very accommodating with all of our needs. Nice relaxed atmosphere with morning continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese included. Great rates as compared to some of the larger... More 

Helpful?
Thank MoMurphy
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I’m glad that you enjoyed your time here. I’m thoroughly excited, that Matthew was able to help you throughout your stay. Matthew, is a great asset for the Inn. In the Summer Months of Charleston, mosquitos are going to be an issue. We constantly get sprayed and exceed... More 

Glasgow
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cigarettes butts on the deck. The staff seemed unhappy. Exposed electrical wires in the room with ice maker. Cable did not work. You are paying for the location only. It is located in the middle of everything.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andrewrQ6347XX
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for addressing some of the issues that you had, during your recent stay with us. The cigarette butts on the back of the balcony should have been picked up, and we have talked to our staff to ensure that this will not happen again. The television not working, was addressed and fixed, sorry that you had to leave... More 

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was in poor working order. A shelf in the bathroom was broken and missing; there was no soap dish or shelf to hold shampoo; the toilet seat was broken; the air conditioner rattled loudly all night, and the security lights outside were so bright they kept us awake.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gesh M
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. First off, I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your time here. If a guest is ever upset with their stay, please come and talk to us during the stay, so that we have an opportunity to help. All of the rooms have individual AC units,... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room is too small and dark. The room has one window which you should keep window blinds close, because the window of another room was in front of ours. There aren't refrigerator and coffee machine in the room. But the huge plus of this hotel is the location, so you should choose what is more important for you -... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay with us. I am certainly glad that you enjoyed the location of the Inn. We are centrally located to most all of Charleston’s Historic sites. I’m sorry, that you felt that the room was too dark and small, for your enjoyment. All the rooms are smaller than typical hotel rooms, because... More 

Haddon Heights, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great overnight stay at the Elliot House. We stopped in Charleston on our way home from Florida to New Jersey. Wine and cheese reception was wonderful after a hot afternoon at Fort Sumter. Matt, who checked us in was both friendly and helpful. Ate dinner next door. The inn is perfectly located to explore. After a lovely breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Wow! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, while you were seeing the sites of Charleston. I’m so glad to see that Matthew was able to help you throughout your stay with us. The location cannot be beat, as we are located right in the middle of Charleston’s Historic District. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Elliott House is a cute, quaint, charming Hotel. We stayed in a Courtyard King room for just one night. The room wasn't huge, but not crowded either. It was comfortable, clean, and tastefully decorated. The front desk staff were wonderful, and very helpful with plans and what to do/ where to go. The location of the hotel is ideal,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Thewanderingdiva
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay. The staff is one of the best parts of staying at the Inn, they are full of information and are very helpful for guests to talk too as they are enjoying their stay. The food is something small and light, to get you up and going. We are glad that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

526 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)
Viewed
Traditional King (76)
Viewed
Traditional King with Patio (78)
Viewed
Traditional Queen (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#29 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $192 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay