We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ashley Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ashley Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 306: English reviews
Start your review of Ashley Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We checked in on a day when they changed management, and what a grt transition! Jesse took great care with us and made us feel at home and Janelle was awesome! The new owners hit the jackpot w/ staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sid M
Auburn, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We chose Ashley Inn based on the location, pictures & the positive reviews of the breakfasts & accommodations.This was our first trip to Charleston, and we were anticipating some Southern hospitality & hoping to continue our very positive experience that we had in another B&B in historic Savannah.When we first arrived in the morn, our first impression was disappointing.The woman...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DjWellauer
Hingham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed 8 nights in Room #6; it's on the top floor, a bit of a hike, but worth it for the quiet. Air conditioning worked fine, and we were always comfortable. Ice machine available on the 2nd floor, and full wine/snacks available at 4 p.m. each day in dining area. Breakfast on the veranda (porch to northerners) was delightful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George W F
Uxbridge, Ontario
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I regretted staying at the Ashley Inn. A dripping tap kept us up all night and we couldn't shower in the morning because the faucet was broken. We wanted to start our day and not wait for maintenance who, we were told, would come by later. We decided to check out a day early and were told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn V
Ashley B, Manager at Ashley Inn, responded to this review

I have spoken with you personally regarding this matter and it unfortunate to hear your review. Our maintenance man is very timely and diligent in fixing any and all maintenance items; however, you chose to leave a day early without allowing us an opportunity to repair your request, which was a very simple one. We could've had the shower repaired...

Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

April 8-9, 2017 stay at the Ashley Inn: I gave the Ashley Inn 1 star, and that is 1 more than it should have gotten. This was not my first stay at a B&B so I have become accustomed to the way a great B&B experience should be. However, this was my husband’s first trip to Charleston and his first...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LAJ1969
Bangor, Maine
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Ashley Inn at the end of March. The people there were very nice, especially the breakfast crew. Breakfast was very nice, also, Even though the inn is on a busy street corner, I didn't mind the noise. It was very warm when we were there but the air conditioning was thoroughly adequate. We also liked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I and another couple stayed this past weekend at the Carriage House at the Ashley Inn (Friday & Saturday nights). Ultimately, our stay was issue-free and a decent value for what we received (Bridge Run weekend). There were some things that could/need to be changed to really provide a better experience for guests. The Carriage House is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sgunzen
North Palm Beach
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked our reservations nearly 8 months in advance and enjoyed our stay at this B&B ( a four day, three night stay). When we arrived, we were welcomed by staff and shown to our rooms and briefed on where things were located. My mother travelled with us and we had rooms 4 and 5, located on the second floor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
Scappoose, Oregon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wrote a review with 900 words describing how wonderful this place is and it never posted. So I'll just say briefly the help was incredible attentive- the food the best tasting breakfast ever- my room lovely and comfortable- the dining room and house tastefully decorated old fashioned and beautiful antiques- the location great for nearby excellent restaurants I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crasyaboutGreece
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have traveled to Charleston many times over the years but decided to stay closer to the downtown area this time. Ashley Inn is a beautiful home, well priced, however definitely needs some updating. First, Charleston is known for its beauty, especially its outside porches and gardens. This place has beautiful porches, however they were filthy and in the three...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 61 in Charleston
2,753 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
2,686 reviews
Indigo Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,732 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful historic inn (C. 1832) Located in the residential historic area of the city ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ashley Inn

Address: 201 Ashley Ave, Charleston, SC 29403-5810
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $196 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ashley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ashley Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We like top floors for the quiet; we loved Room #6”
GeorgeWF, 4 days ago | Read review
“I loved room #5!!!”
crasyaboutGreece, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Avoid entire hotel, but if you must go, avoid carriage house at all costs”
  • Carriage house bathroom - overall pic
  • Peeling paint in bath
  • Overall pic of bedroom in Carriage house
  • Filthy hanging door knob
  • peeling wallpaper, filthy baseboards
  • Tub grout - ew
  • more ew in tub
  • Filthy baseboards
vasclab1, Mar 19, 2017 | Read review
“room #2 looked to be the smallest but still would be enjoyable for single or couple travelers”
jonmcmu, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“accessibilty limited for upstairs rooms , noise of kitchen in downstair room.”
sandra3pa, Dec 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question