We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,763 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,750: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location. Friendly staff. Spacious room. From valet to check-in everything was great. The bi-level room was nice and gave us nice space and didn't feel like a crammed standard hotel room. Would recommend. Only wish there was complimentary breakfast

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank ekul9
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We wanted to stop in Charleston on our roundtrip to Miami. We picked the Doubletree at the recommendation of a friend and we were NOT disappointed. The hotel is located right in the historic district, making it a close walk to everything. The room we had was large and clean, with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was fine each morning.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 779jeffs
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear 779jeffs, Thank you so very much for taking a chance on us and boy are we glad that we were able to live up to, if not exceeded your expectations. Please thank your friend for recommending us and we can't wait to see you the next time you are in Charleston. Best Wishes, Reggie Edwards More 

woodbridge, va
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The location of the doubletree is perfect. The market is right next door. Bulldog tours is across the street. There is no need to drive anywhere. There are lots of places to eat, shop and tour. The people at the front desk and the valet team are welcoming and always ready to help. I loved having water offered when we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kimo2846
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Kimo2846, We thank you for your recent review and recognition of our property and staff. We strive to ensure each and every guest is provided the best experience and it appears our efforts were successful during your visit. It is so rewarding to hear how each department made such an impact on you during your stay. We look forward... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is perfectly located for accessing everything in downtown. The beds were a little small but very comfortable. The rooms were clean and the water pressure was good. Parking is $30 at the hotel or $20 across the street. If you are going to be using your car often then the hotel parking is the better value.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse F
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Jesse F, We are so glad to hear that our Doubletree By Hilton was the" Perfect Location" for you during your stay in Charleston. We thank you for taking time to share your feedback and hope to have you stay with us again. Best Wishes, Reggie Edwards More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location, polite staff, but expected more for price paid. Every day had to call for something---one day no washcloths or handtowels, the next day bathroom tissue and coffee. There is no pool, no courtesy hotel vehicle for nearby things, the bar closes early. And counting tax and parking over 300 a night!! The room was comfortable, but nothing special,... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Recent Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us. We're so sorry to hear that you felt your stay was nothing special. The problems that occurred with housekeeping during your stay is not typical nor will it fall on deaf ears ! I will be going over your comments with the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hallway, room and bedding smelled of smoke----not a clean refreshing scent. Bathroom was extremely small. Could not really see ourselves spending another night there. The entire unit was small and certainly not what we expected from Hilton. Location was great, which is why we chose to stay there, but not the best experience. To our dismay, we were on the... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 738edithh
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear 738edithh, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us. we appreciate your honest input and we will use your comments as we constantly explore ways to best exceed our guest expectations...which we clearly did not during your stay. We hope to have a second opportunity to show you an improve quality of... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here in May of 2016 for the first time. This is a nice hotel in a great location. Easy walk to everything in the Historic District. Rooms were nice and roomy as were the bathrooms. Staff was very good. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank NCPirate82
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear NCPirate82, Many thanks to you for your recent posting! We love reading how much our guest enjoys our hotel and the convenience of our location. We are please you will be returning and we look forward to being able to assist you during you next visit. Best Wishes, Reggie Edwards More 

New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a great hotel in a perfect location in Charleston! Truly, every single staff member looked you in the eye and made you feel as if it was their pleasure to serve you!!! Truly! The valet was timely and very friendly!!! We came/went a couple times a day, and always asked if we needed any assistance/directions. The place is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JAMansfield
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear JAMansfield, On behalf of the entire Team, we would like to thank you for your very gracious 5 star review of our Staff and hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed the Superior service and attentiveness we provided you during your stay. I will be sharing your comments with them so they can hear how our "Southern Hospitality" impact... More 

Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had a very nice stay. The staff is very polite and professional. Great meeting rooms for business setting. Located in the heart of the historic district within walking distance of many attractions. (Carriage ride, ghost tour, and harbor ride)

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank bthomp021
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Bthomp021, Thank you very much for your very gracious review of our property and staff. Your comments referencing how polite and professional the staff is so appreciated. I will be sharing your comments with them, so they can hear your how well they efforts were received. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again, perhaps... More 

North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having been to Charleston several times, I have learned it's easiest (and less frustrating) to stay downtown, park your car, and use your feet as the primary means of travel. So for an overnight visit over the 4th of July holiday we did just that. While valet parking with unlimited in and outs was available for $30 per day, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee S
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Lee S, Thank you for your very gracious posting regarding our warm and friendly staff and even warmer climate. We are glad to hear that after you did your research you found our location to be the most convenient for your needs. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can hear your high praises and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

417 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (130)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
King Guest Room (25)
Viewed
King Two-Room Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Bi-Level Junior Suite (31)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Two-Room Suite (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,710 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#25 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Price Range: $159 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay