We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 725: English reviews
Yorktown, Virginia
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice sized room. A little more upscale from most Courtyard properties I've seen and stayed at. Location is in a good spot although the Hilton Garden Inn next door has taken a great part of their waterfront view. Many restaurants within walking distance. Lots of parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smblackwell1
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Greetings from the Waterfront smblackwell1, thank you for taking time to write about your experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know you found the hotel “more upscale from most Courtyard properties.” We work hard every day to maintain our hotel and your critique validates our ongoing efforts. Thank you for confirming what we do right. Travel Safe!

Piedmont, South Carolina
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I know that title is funny, but I didn't know how else to say it succinctly. The room that we stayed in faced the pool area, with a view out toward the Ashley River. The layout of the room was really functional and practical for any guest, business or personal, and we really enjoyed the stay. The only things that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Amy D & Family, thank you for posting so much information about your experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know you had a great stay. We are especially honored to have played a role in making your anniversary special. Please visit again soon. Travel Safe!

Matthews, North Carolina
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I was disappointed when we arrived ,because we booked with a travel website that did not tell the truth.Eddie the concierge was great he showed genuine,concern and gave us places we could go until we checked in.Ebony Manigault is a chef hearing my disappointment, she made our dinning exprience great.Sandvika Legave and Austin Battle sang happy birthday to me.The travel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank menette w
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Happy Birthday manette W! We feel honored to have played a role in making your 50th birthday “Great.” Thank for posting about your experience and our incredible staff. Please know your comments will not only be shared with Ebony, Eddie, Sandrika and Austin, but our entire team as well. You have made their day and each was awarded a WOW...

Hgih Point, North Carolina
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Close to downtown...can walk if you want. We had a poolside room with a view of the harbor. We had a king suite with a comfy king bed and pull out sofa. ..small space but worked fine. Outdoor area is awesome...there's a fire pit, Jacuzzi, pool, and outdoor lounging area. Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Maggie K
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Maggie K and Family, thank you for making our Courtyard a “Great Vacation Spot”. We sincerely appreciate the description and can’t thank you enough. Thank you as well for sharing with others that the “Outdoor area is awesome...there's a fire pit, Jacuzzi, pool, and outdoor lounging area.” Most of all, knowing you would return means we are doing things...

State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is one of the nicest Courtyards by Marriott I have ever stayed at and I've stayed at a few. A gorgeous view greets you every morning and the amenities are fantastic. You've got a workout room, a pool, a fire pit, lots of comfortable deck chairs and relaxing couches, a lovely restaurant, snack/kitchen, and the rooms are nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Pam S, thank you for selecting our hotel for your business trip to Charleston. We loved your comment about the “gorgeous view greets you every morning.” We are also glad you were able to enjoy our many amenities; “workout room, a pool, a fire pit, lots of comfortable deck chairs and relaxing couches, a lovely restaurant, snack/kitchen, and the...

Ravenswood, West Virginia, United States
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel has a great view of the harbor with a wonderful deck to sit on. Rooms are nice with good bed but like the rest of the hotel needs to be updated. Staff was super friendly and helpful in finding places to eat and how to get around the city. Shuttle to the downtown area was reasonable at $6,00 per...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ron S
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Greetings from the Waterfront Ron S. & Guest, thank you for visiting Charleston and selecting our hotel for your stay. We are pleased you found: “great view of the harbor with a wonderful deck”, “rooms…with good beds”, and the “shuttle to the downtown area…. reasonable” and convenient. Thank you very much for mentioning the “staff was super friendly and helpful...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Odd check-in/registration upstairs and down a walk way or use the elevator. Check-in was quick and painless. I requested a quiet room and was placed on the 2nd floor street side. For a person with insomnia, street side is not ideal. Requested to be moved and was told the hotel was sold out, so I really was not a happy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bacon864
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Greetings from the Waterfront Bacon864, thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent business trip Charleston. We were pleased to have you as our guest and are especially grateful for your business given the many hotel choices available to you. Thank you very much for taking time to report your experience at our hotel. Your tips and suggestions will...

Atlanta
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My first mistake was thinking that "Waterfront" meant "waterfront at, near or walkable to anything you would want to see in Charleston," instead of " isolated outpost overlooking a marina next to the Hilton Garden Inn. " The building itself has some exterior trappings consistent with a beachy kind of place, but the guts are pure Courtyard with a sort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TruthTraveler
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear TruthTraveler & Family, thank you for taking time to write about your experience at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the hotel falling short of your expectations. We are currently in the planning stages of a renovation and your comments will be shared with the design team. Thank you again. Travel Safe!

Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent one night so that we could explore downtown Charleston. The hotel property is beautiful with plenty of places to relax and look at the views of the river. The location is not in walking distance to downtown so the hotel offers a shuttle at the cost of $6 round-trip. The shuttle runs two times each hour. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ILroadies
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear ILroadies & family, thank you for choosing our hotel for your brief trip to Charleston. We wished you could have stayed longer but pleased you found the hotel “beautiful with plenty of places to relax and look at the views of the river” and the staff “extremely friendly and helpful”. We are also glad the M&M’s delighted you at...

Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are enjoying a getaway weekend in Charleston. Living in Savannah Ga and being a tour guide there I look for great service and a warm welcome from the staff at any hotel I am staying. I am proud to congratulate 3 employees who made our stay memorable. They are James, Ryann and Sandrika. Thanks guys for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Stuart K & family, thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay in Charleston. We thank you for selecting our hotel and more importantly for recognizing our employees. We are glad to know they made your stay “memorable”. Please know your comments will not only be shared with James, Ryann and Sandrika, but the entire...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

377 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (191)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Partial Water View 2 Queen Larger Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Waterfront King Guest Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 60 in Charleston
1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $139 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles carollM1870AC, 1 week ago | Read review
“Go somewhere else! Ask for a good room, might take a few times.”
 of 5 bubbles MJB1010, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a waterfront view on one of the upper floors; you can also request a balcony. They do have free internet.”
 of 5 bubbles 13philliph, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Get a balcony, if you can & top floor to avoid upstairs noise”
 of 5 bubbles scottk813, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“All appeared good”
 of 5 bubbles TMindala, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay