We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

699 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 693: English reviews
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I as well as two close friends had the pleasure of spending the weekend of May 16-19 at this hotel, and we could not have been more pleased with the staff, the service, the location or the accommodations. All were outstanding. We've visited Charleston previously but have always stayed outside the downtown area and have never ventured... More 

Helpful?
Thank Larry W
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Williams Family and Guests, thank you for taking time to write about your positive experience at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your business and are glad you, “ventured to this part of the city.” Thank you very much for commenting on the services our Concierge Eddie McBride. Eddie works very hard and is a true asset to our guests.... More 

walton on thames
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel in a basic room.The room itself was reasonably comfortable and a decent bathroom. The room had a fridge and microwave but no safe! You only had a tiny safe deposit box at the reception not big enough for a camera or laptop! How crazy is that ? I stayed in much cheaper motels... More 

Helpful?
Thank toothlady66
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear toothlady66 and Guest, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write about your visit. We appreciate your business and the candid assessment provided. Although many positive items were mentioned, we are taking action on our breakfast offerings and will share your suggestion for in-room safes with ownership. Thank you again for proposing areas of improvement. Without... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
243 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I usually stay at the Charleston Marriott but they were sold out so I gave this Courtyard a try. Having stayed at a number of courtyards recently, I understand the Courtyard business model. This hotel surprised me as I thought all US based Courtyards had switched to the Bistro model. The Bistro Model features a new lobby and a casual... More 

Helpful?
Thank theebdk
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear theebdk, thank you for selecting our hotel for your business trip to Charleston. We appreciate your assessment of our hotel and apologize we do offer the same amenities you have found at other Courtyards. Please know we are currently in the planning stages for our Bistro refresh and will begin renovations during the holidays. Hopefully you could try us... More 

Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Courtyard Marriott Charleston Waterfront. When we arrived we were upgraded to a water view room with a balcony. It was lovely sitting outside overlooking the marina and pool area. The staff was very helpful in giving us ideas of where to eat and what sites to see while in Charleston. Although... More 

Helpful?
Thank rmvanhaitsma
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear rmvanhaitsma and guest, thank you for taking time to write about your positive stay at our hotel. We were pleased to serve you and are glad you found it “lovely sitting outside overlooking the marina and pool area.” I am delighted to know the “staff was very helpful” because it confirms their caring attitude and our ongoing training efforts... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My girlfriend's and I stayed here for a couple of nights and had a wonderful stay! The staff was very friendly and accommodating! Like to give a shout out to Eddie McBride, he's the concierge! Eddie was very helpful and hooked us up with the Bulldog ghost tours! If you need recommendations for tours or places to go to eat,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Handolina
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Greetings from the Waterfront Handolina & Friends, Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to historic Charleston. We were pleased to have you as our guest and are especially grateful for your business given the many hotel choices available to you. Your positive experience is a direct result of our employees doing their best every day. It... More 

Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Why do they build hotels on the waterfront with windows that do not open? We got to Charleston Saturday morning and knew it was too early to check in so we went out to brunch. When we arrived at the hotel at 1:30 pm the front desk staff was not welcoming and basically told us to go away for an... More 

Helpful?
Thank sjkyo
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear sjkyo & Family, thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to historic Charleston. We were pleased to have you as our guest and are especially grateful for your business given the many hotel choices available to you. Thank you very much for taking time to report your experience. Please accept my sincere apologies. We work tirelessly... More 

Tamarac, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We were disappointed with the accomodations considering how much we paid per night. Room was big but found the bed to be very uncomfortable. The bathroom was very small and was difficult to close door once you were in it. The view however was quite lovely and our room featured a small balcony which was nice. Both days of our... More 

Helpful?
Thank sakuod59
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear sakuod59 & Family, thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to historic Charleston. Please accept my sincere apologizes that your stay did not meet your expectations. We work tirelessly to ensure a clean and well maintained property, with everything in good working order and you have aided in our efforts. Thank you again for your feedback. More 

J.C. TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in April. We loved it! We walked to parts of Charleston we had never seen and enjoyed that very much. And yes you can walk to Charleston. Staff was great, check in and check out so easy. We had a harbor view room and really enjoyed the sunsets. Would stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Beachlover50
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Greetings from the Waterfront Beachlover50, thank you for selecting our hotel for your visit to Charleston. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and most thankful that you “Would stay there again.” This confirms are hard work and we sincerely appreciate your feedback. Thank you as well for mentioning the “Staff was great.” Thanks for taking time to write about... More 

Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice sized room. A little more upscale from most Courtyard properties I've seen and stayed at. Location is in a good spot although the Hilton Garden Inn next door has taken a great part of their waterfront view. Many restaurants within walking distance. Lots of parking.

Helpful?
Thank smblackwell1
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Greetings from the Waterfront smblackwell1, thank you for taking time to write about your experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know you found the hotel “more upscale from most Courtyard properties.” We work hard every day to maintain our hotel and your critique validates our ongoing efforts. Thank you for confirming what we do right. Travel Safe! More 

Piedmont, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I know that title is funny, but I didn't know how else to say it succinctly. The room that we stayed in faced the pool area, with a view out toward the Ashley River. The layout of the room was really functional and practical for any guest, business or personal, and we really enjoyed the stay. The only things that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy D
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Amy D & Family, thank you for posting so much information about your experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know you had a great stay. We are especially honored to have played a role in making your anniversary special. Please visit again soon. Travel Safe! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

356 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (170)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Partial Water View 2 Queen Larger Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Waterfront King Guest Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $165 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay