We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Travelocity$169*
View Deal
GreenLeadersSilver level
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$169*
$169*
$169*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

759 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 753: English reviews
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed November 22, 2014

We stayed at this property recently, in a one bedroom suite. This is a good courtyard at a very good location, close to downtown (though not walkable), with a nice view of of the marina. The breakfast bar is average, but for $3/child, not a bad deal. As mentioned earlier, the one bedroom suite, with a pull out couch, was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AAF62
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear AAF62, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston. As you stated, our location is minutes away from downtown, and the hotel itself being right on the river, makes us the "hotel of choice" for many visitors to the area. It was great to...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed November 17, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in November. The outside of this hotel is very nice as are the common outdoor areas. There are some maintenance and housekeeping issues with the hotel - things I would not expect to find at any Marriott property. The bathroom needed some major work - the top of the toilet tank did not fit the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jtbrow
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear jtbrow, Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay at my hotel. I was pleased to read that the hotel’s look appealed to you. It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way and we sorry there were maintenance and housekeeping issues with your room. This is extremely concerning as we certainly fell short...

Jacksonville
Reviewed November 17, 2014

This Marriott Courtyard is a wonderful hotel at the Marina. The only drawback is it is just a little too far from just about everything except the Marina. In some ways, however, that is not a big problem. I stayed here for a combination business/fun trip. The hotel is a fully modern Marriott Courtyard, with a small restaurant (did not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2Jax
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Good Day 2Jax, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed and candid review for my hotel. I appreciate you staying at the Courtyard Charleston given that you had so many other choices in the area. I was pleased to read that your overall stay was a comfortable one and that our services, staff and amenities...

Coral Springs, Florida
Reviewed November 13, 2014

It's a great hotel, I booked on line $272. the average price is $390. a well kept hotel very comfortable, every amenity, huge common areas for guests Too cold to even look at the pool. I had a room with a view of the boats. It was a great location on the harbor, a few blocks from the sailing charter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 387indy
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Good Day 387indy, Thank you for staying at my hotel and sharing your wonderful comments regarding our facilities, and our staff's exceptional service that made your stay a pleasant one. I will share your gracious comments with my team to encourage them to continue doing what they do best every day. It was great to hear that, like so many...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary with a trip to Charleston and Savannah. Booked this hotel for two reasons: one I'm a Marriot Gild member and two the supposed distance to Charleston. We arrived and the front desk checked us in. We went to our room only to be told by the carpet cleaners that it wouldn't be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dadulac77
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Greetings from the Waterfront dadulac77 and Family, Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to historic Charleston. We were pleased to welcome you as our guest and are especially grateful for your business given the many hotel choices available to you. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit. Please accept my sincere apologies...

Deltona
Reviewed November 13, 2014

We loved this hotel. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was comfy. We especially enjoyed the help of Beth at the front desk. She gave us numerous tips to help us, as this was our first time in Charleston. She told us about the hotel shuttle to the waterfront, only $6 round trip each. She recommended 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James N
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear James N, I am so glad you enjoyed your first visit to Charleston and the stay at the Courtyard by Marriott. I appreciate the time you took to share your wonderful experience with other online reviewers. I was very pleased to hear that our spacious, clean and quiet room met your expectation and that we were able to make...

New Jersey
Reviewed November 11, 2014

Loved this hotel. Came for a wedding and had wanted a downtown hotel but they were booked. So glad! This hotel was beautiful. Comfortable room with every amenity. Huge public areas, nice pool and great location on harbor. Very helpful staff arranged for a tour for us. Shuttle service was a plus. Delicious very affordable breakfast in lovely restaurant. Definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marybee522
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Marybee522, Thank you for sharing your feedback with fellow online reviewers. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard Charleston. It was great to read that you were satisfied with your room, staff service, choice of food and facilities we have to offer. We strive to provide the best "Southern Hospitality" tradition to all our guests....

Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed November 10, 2014

My wife and I went to Charleston to tour the USS Laffey which is docked at Patriot's Point. My wife travels frequently for her job and builds up a lot of points with Marriott so when we travel for pleasure we always stay in a Marriott. This Courtyard by Marriott is a very clean and well kept hotel. It isn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gary C
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Gary C, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Courtyard Charleston. I was thrilled to hear how much you loved the beautiful river view, and like so many others, were satisfied with our clean facilities. It was a pleasure to read your wonderful comments about my staff, especially Jerry who helped in meeting your needs and...

Georgia
Reviewed November 5, 2014

Just returned from two very pleasant days in Charleston. Stayed at the Marriott Waterfront and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room on third floor, very nice, roomy . One of the great things about this hotel is staff and shuttle service to historic area of Charleston. This was great as parking downtown is almost impossible. Hope you're lucky enough to meet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HAWC
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear HAWC, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Courtyard Charleston. I was happy to hear that we were able to spoil you during your stay, and especially that Anthony , our shuttle driver went out of his way to help make your stay a memorable one. Please be assured I will pass on your comments and...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

I selected this hotel because it had a cheaper rate than the downtown hotels, but was just a short ride from downtown. I had a river view room, which also had a view of the pool. The room was clean, but to me smelled faintly of onions (I should add I have a very keen sense of smell). After some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Sarah P, Thank you for wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston. It is great to hear you loved your room with the beautiful river views, and like so many others, were satisfied with our facilities. We work hard to provide high levels of service . I will share your compliments with my team to let...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

405 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (212)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (163)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 61 in Charleston
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $189 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and other travelers.
17 questions
Ask a question
NW Louisiana
over a year ago
South Lyon, MI
Bangor, Maine, United States
10 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for room with balcony facing the deck below”
Celebratinganniv47, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Waterfront rooms have a nice view.”
JazzyButtons, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“3rd floor was high enough to see a great view, and not pick up the noise from the pool.”
Irishwhiskers, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Avoid room 412”
, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Go on the 4th floor facing the Bay”
749David, Mar 24, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Travelocity
$169* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com$169
TripAdvisor$169
Hotwire.com$169
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates