We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 725: English reviews
Georgia
Reviewed November 5, 2014

Just returned from two very pleasant days in Charleston. Stayed at the Marriott Waterfront and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room on third floor, very nice, roomy . One of the great things about this hotel is staff and shuttle service to historic area of Charleston. This was great as parking downtown is almost impossible. Hope you're lucky enough to meet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HAWC
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear HAWC, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Courtyard Charleston. I was happy to hear that we were able to spoil you during your stay, and especially that Anthony , our shuttle driver went out of his way to help make your stay a memorable one. Please be assured I will pass on your comments and...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

I selected this hotel because it had a cheaper rate than the downtown hotels, but was just a short ride from downtown. I had a river view room, which also had a view of the pool. The room was clean, but to me smelled faintly of onions (I should add I have a very keen sense of smell). After some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Sarah P, Thank you for wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston. It is great to hear you loved your room with the beautiful river views, and like so many others, were satisfied with our facilities. We work hard to provide high levels of service . I will share your compliments with my team to let...

GA
Reviewed November 1, 2014

We stayed here because we had a call a friend was in the hospital and this looked like one of the closer hotels to stay at (by the way, it's not across the street as it looks like on google maps). It was quite pricey for a courtyard, waterfront or not. We checked in and asked for an upgrade being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tooclean30187
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard Charleston and thank you for your valuable feedback. We strive to deliver a most enjoyable stay for all our guests and to have them leave with a lasting favorable impression. Obviously we fell short of this during your stay, and we hope you accept our sincerest apologies. We would...

Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed October 26, 2014

Parking at the hotel was good. We stayed for 2 nights and were very happy with the shuttle service to the downtown historic district. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful in recommending tours - bus tour, Fort Sumter, carriage tour and plantation tour. It was relaxing to go back to the hotel and be greeted by friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SGarlick
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Good Day SGarlick, Thank you for your wonderful feedback and rating regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston. We work hard to provide high levels of service. We take great pride in delivering excellent service, and comments like yours has validated our efforts. It is the goal of every member of our team to provide a stay that goes...

Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

After discovering a minor but irritating water leak on a much needed weekend away, I asked David the desk manager how he might help me make my sweet wife a little happier. Without hesitation he apologized and upgraded us to a nicer room which has a Fabulous View and a balcony! David's empathy, easy fix and great attitude made our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EZEddieC
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Good Day EZEddieC Thank you for your remarks regarding your stay at the Courtyard Charleston. I was happy to hear that we were able to spoil you during your stay, and especially David, the Front desk Manager went over and above your expectations and upgraded you with a better room. It is great to hear you loved your room with...

Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed October 26, 2014

Our room was big and beautiful. The view of the waterfront was lovely. The entire staff was super friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, we cut our stay short because it was SO HOT and the pool was closed. We were told that a guest removed a part of the pool. HUH? This hotel has a great location. It's close enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Jayne H, Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston. As you stated, Charleston has so much to offer from shopping to gourmet restaurants, to historic plantations to visit and relive the past. With our location minutes away from downtown, and the hotel itself being right on the...

Columbus
Reviewed October 21, 2014

My wife and I first stayed at this property in October of 2000. We remembered our fondness for the friendliness and helpfullness of the staff. In particular, we recalled meeting Eddie McBride who was providing conceirge services during our 2000 visit, Much to our surprise, we were able to meet up with Eddie again during our recent stay in October...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColumbusFuzzball
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear ColumbusFuzzball Thank you for your kind feedback and wonderful rating regarding your stay at the Courtyard Charleston. I was happy to hear that we were able to spoil you during your stay, and especially Eddie McBride went over and above your expectations. Please be assured I will pass on your comments and recognize Eddie McBride and Jerry at our...

philadelphia
Reviewed October 19, 2014

Found the hotel to need a complete renovation from stain carpets, worn bathtub to old bedding. Can hear your neighbors walking around above you as well as next door. Poor excuse for a Marriott. Spent two weeks traveling in the south and found much better hotels for half the cost...checked out the next morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda-phila
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear linda-phila, Thank you so much for sharing your recent review, please accept my sincere apology that we let you down during your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston. We pride ourselves on service excellence and it was disappointing that we fell short of delivering the service that you have come to expect with our brand. I have taken specific...

Centereach, New York
Reviewed October 8, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, clean and spacious. It is in a perfect location that is close enough to downtown without being right in the middle of everything. There is more then enough on-site parking and the location is very safe. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is free wi-fi and plenty of outlets to charge all of your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LIdivechick
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Lldivechick, Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Charleston for your recent stay and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was happy to read that you were overall satisfied with your stay. However I am sorry to hear that one of our associates soured your otherwise great experience here. I have already spoken with her directly...

Oyster
Reviewed October 5, 2014

I've stayed here three times in the last year ,and each time I enjoyed my visit. By far the best room was our double room with a pull out coach, and a huge balcony overlooking the water. The pool, hot tub, and fire pit were great. As were the staff, and the convenience to attractions. I also enjoyed the walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D M
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you D M for choosing the Courtyard Charleston for your stay once again. We understand what the Courtyard travelers expect: a clean hotel with exceptional, friendly service. I'm excited that we continue to meet your expectations and the best compliment a guest can give to a General Manager is to return for another stay. I hope you are a...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

377 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (191)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Partial Water View 2 Queen Larger Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Waterfront King Guest Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 60 in Charleston
1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $139 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles carollM1870AC, 1 week ago | Read review
“Go somewhere else! Ask for a good room, might take a few times.”
 of 5 bubbles MJB1010, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a waterfront view on one of the upper floors; you can also request a balcony. They do have free internet.”
 of 5 bubbles 13philliph, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Get a balcony, if you can & top floor to avoid upstairs noise”
 of 5 bubbles scottk813, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
“All appeared good”
 of 5 bubbles TMindala, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay