We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

687 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 681: English reviews
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic location right on the water. Lots of covered seating for lounging and a great pool. The staff absolutely blew me out of the water. Charvin, Chantay, David and Taylor went above and beyond expectation. I asked them to store some flowers and a cake for a surprise I had planned later that evening. A few minutes later they pulled... More 

Helpful?
Thank landonstorey
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are happy to hear that our service and hospitality exceeded your expectations, and we were able to add wonderful memories to your first Anniversary. Your words of appreciation mean a lot to us! Thank you again, and we hope to have many more opportunities to welcome you back... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First, the common spaces are very nice. There are plenty of places to sit. The deck and pool area were very nice also and there are tables to sit outside. The staff is also very nice and accommodating which is a huge plus. They gave us recommendations for restaurants and called cabs for us when we asked. The view of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Me T
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay with us. I was pleased to hear you generally enjoyed your overall stay but apologize for the hiccups that you experienced. I am sorry that breakfast was not up to par and for the maintenance/cleanliness issues with your rooms. I truly appreciate your feedback and will share... More 

Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited Charleston for the first time and as a solo traveler. I stayed at this hotel for four nights and it was the perfect choice. The hotel is close to town, the staff was very friendly and they have a beautiful pool/deck area where you can relax, have a cocktail and enjoy the views of the harbor. I highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina S
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, and we are happy to hear that our location was perfect for your needs. We are delighted to read that we helped you to make your first stay at our hotel a memorable one by providing you with clean accommodation, helpful service and great facilities. We are glad we... More 

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our first time to Charleston, SC,and definitely not our last, there so much to see and we were there only for a short time. The reservations were made by the parents of the bride, and I could of chosen a better hotel to stay in. The lobby area was bright, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We wanted to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gregory K
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for comments. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We work hard to provide high levels of service, so we will share your compliments with our team to let them know their efforts are appreciated and noticed. We are also happy that you liked our property and our convenient... More 

Garden Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So this review is my first impression, given that we just arrived last night. We came for a wedding. I booked the biggest room they had, since my adult some was coming with us. First the view-we have a view of the VA hospital and traffic. Disappointing. The room itself is extremely dated with ripped carpeting. The bathroom smells. We... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy S
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Cindy, I sincerely apologize that you had a poor first impression at our hotel. I am especially sorry for the difficulty you had with your guest room. We truly care about each guest that enters our doors so I regret that we let you down. I have shared your concerns with my Management Staff in order to take appropriate... More 

Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the courtyard Charleston Waterfront for 2 nights. It is off the beaten path in the sense you cannot walk to the main town from the hotel but it is LOVELY. The outdoor sitting area and pool is clean and comfortable. We ate breakfast outdoors and we used the hotel shuttle ($6.00 Fee) to get... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CKelly305
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are pleased that you loved our convenient location and shuttle service which was perfect for your needs. It is also great to read that you were impressed with our well-kept pool area, breakfast offerings and our friendly associates as well. We also appreciate your observations regarding our... More 

Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

We were in town for a wedding, and most of the guests stayed at this hotel. Not walking distance to downtown Charleston, but it's a very quick drive. Can't beat it for the value, as the downtown hotels are a lot more expensive. Clean and inviting, we would stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank MelisaFla
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with fellow online reviewers. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront while attending a wedding. We are also glad our location catered to your needs, and that you found the services we offer to be of a great value. We appreciate your review and look forward to your... More 

Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We stayed here June 2016 for several nights to attend a family wedding. Other family members from out of town obtained rooms at the Courtyard too. The hotel staff were friendly, the room clean, quiet and up to date. A small frig, microwave and coffeemaker were in our room and worked well. The pool was warm, clean and faced the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bobette B
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront for your recent stay. We welcome many wedding groups who visit us because of Charleston's distinction as a wedding destination. We are glad you were impressed with the service provided by our welcoming associates, well-laid pool area and your well-equipped accommodation with a good harbor view. Thank you for your kind words.... More 

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

The hotel is waterfront and has good parking which isn't always a given in an older city like Charleston. The price was great compared to surrounding hotels. The location is a bit away from the main tourist core of King and Meeting street but the waterfront and view makes up for it. The room was very clean and comfortable and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank burrfish
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

On behalf of the staff at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, thank you for the wonderful remarks about your recent business visit. We are glad to hear that you were extremely pleased with your immaculate accommodation with a beautiful view, the exceptional service you received from our team, and the facilities we offer, especially the parking service which you felt is... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

We stayed at the Courtyard for 2 nights in June, 2016. We were very disappointed and surprised a Marriott property could be in such poor shape. The hotel main areas were dirty and in disrepair, our guest room was okay, but there were several blood smears on the bathroom floor. (about the size of a dime, but blood none the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Deborah, We appreciate you choosing our hotel and for sharing a review. I apologize that the condition of our hotel did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience this caused you. I have shared your concerns with my Management Team, and we are seeing where improvements can be made moving forward. Thank you for bringing this to our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

356 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (170)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Partial Water View 2 Queen Larger Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Waterfront King Guest Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#38 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $163 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay