We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Hotels.com$169*
View Deal
GreenLeadersSilver level
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$169*
$169*
$169*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

759 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 753: English reviews
Start your review of Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
 Click to rate
Greenwood, Arkansas
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent several days at the Courtyard in March and loved everything about it. The views were beautiful, the rooms were so spacious and clean, and the staff was the greatest! They didn't hesitate to help with shuttle access, recommendations of places to visit and things we just had to see while we were in town. What a wonderful trip!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KandyHarshaw
Montgomery, New York
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Most of the hotel and rooms have been recently renovated. The bedding is very comfortable, rooms new and clean. People are very friendly and the location is right on the river. Its a good half mile or so from the city. We loved the walk into the city each day. Room 445 was a bit small for three. Free parking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lou R
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Lou R, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to know you loved your comfortable room and that our location was ideal for your trip. It was a pleasure hosting you at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, and we hope you and your family will come and see us again soon. Mark Thomas General...

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice hotel which looks over the Ashley River. It has a shuttle into downtown Charleston. The driver was very helpful and accommodating. It is a bit too far to walk - we did it once and it took about 45 minutes. It has a lovely pool overlooking the water so it was a great place to chill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Liz J, Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront for your visit and for sharing a review. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our convenient location. We’re also pleased you were impressed with your comfortable room and the amenities we offer. It was a pleasure to have you as...

Inman, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful desk to sit in the evening and enjoy live music. The boats and the shoreline across the river was so relaxing. The rooms were large and very comfortable. If you want to be in the city of charleston with a shuttle to the historic district this is the place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celebratinganniv47
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Celebratinganniv47, Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are delighted you loved your spacious room along with the beautiful view of the river and marina. We appreciate you recommending us online and hope to see you again soon. Mark Thomas General Manager

Huntington, Indiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are wanting a tranquil, out of the hectic city, location, then this is the place for you! The outside space absolutely makes this hotel. Located along a marina, the pool, hot tub, as well as the 2 tier outdoor lounging and fabulous gas fireplace made our stay PERFECT! After a full day in Charleston with the bustle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Lori C, Thank you for reviewing your visit to the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We appreciate your comments about our convenient location minutes from downtown and the beautiful views of the river and marina. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mark Thomas General Manager

Brantford, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed two nights in Room 209 as we didn't want to pay more to look over the water front. Beautiful designed hotel with a swimming pool that overlooks the water front, room was clean and comfortable. Justin the bartender was very nice and telling us some things to do while in Charleston. Awesome suggestions from Justin with regards to local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JazzyButtons
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear JazzyButtons, Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront on your trip to Charleston. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and were pleased with your room and especially, the service you received from Justin. I’ll be sure to share your compliment. Thanks for sharing your experience online. We can’t wait to see you again. Mark...

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a few days there & this hotel is excellent. It has been through renovations so dont mind the few negative comments on that. To get even better at something it takes time & effort. Everybody there is very friendly, kind, accommodating & always have a nice word to say to you & greet you at any hours. From the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audreyoz77
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Audreyoz77, It's a pleasure to read your fantastic review about the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are so happy to know our staff made a wonderful impression on you and that you thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful view of the marina and all the amenities we offer. Thanks so much for your high recommendation, and we hope you will come back...

Nuangola, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was very clean and the beds very comfortable. We didn't mind staying a little bit out of the downtown and it was a good price. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RP2358
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear RP2358, It was a pleasure to have you as our guest at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and were especially impressed with our clean facilities and helpful associates. We appreciate your wonderful review and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Charleston. Mark Thomas General Manager

Madison, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was very friendly and very knowledgeable. The hotel was very clean. They were doing a renovation in the lobby so they served free breakfast. The one complaint I have is that the elevator was not working properly. Seemed like it was jumping all around. Its definitely a maintenance issue that should be addressed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loriep2008
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear loriep2008, Thank you for your remarks regarding your stay at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are so happy to know that you liked our friendly associates and complimentary breakfast offerings. However, we are sorry for the issue you had with our elevator and the inconvenience it caused. Please know that we have alerted our maintenance department, and we are...

Columbia, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reception staff were pleasant and happy to see us arrive. Our room was nice and clean, the beds were very comfy. However, the AC unit was annoyingly loud and made it difficult to sleep. Great shower and nice large towels. Breakfast was okay, they really need to consider offering half and half for coffee. No waffle maker, bummer. Selection was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irishwhiskers
00gc, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Irishwhiskers, Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is certainly disappointing to hear about your experience, as we truly take pride in our guest service efforts. We have shared your concerns with our team and have taken corrective action to ensure that this does not happen again. We hope that you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

405 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (212)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (163)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 61 in Charleston
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $189 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and other travelers.
17 questions
Ask a question
NW Louisiana
over a year ago
South Lyon, MI
Bangor, Maine, United States
10 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for room with balcony facing the deck below”
Celebratinganniv47, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Waterfront rooms have a nice view.”
JazzyButtons, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“3rd floor was high enough to see a great view, and not pick up the noise from the pool.”
Irishwhiskers, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Avoid room 412”
, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Go on the 4th floor facing the Bay”
749David, Mar 24, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$169* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com$169
TripAdvisor$169
Priceline$169
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates