We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

699 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 693: English reviews
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I have always stayed on or around Meeting Street but wanted a change.....this Marriott has a WONDERFUL pool, beautiful views and easy drives to Isle of Palms, Folly Beach and historical Charleston. Love the coffee/tea bar, nice lounge area and convenient restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank slittle10
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing your recent visit to the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We appreciate your remarks about our convenient location minutes from downtown, and the beautiful views of the river and marina. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities as well. We hope that you and your family will stay with us again the next time you... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our party of 6, 4 adults and 2 kids stayed at the hotel for a two night vacation. Ursula was phenomenal and went above and beyond to find us great rooms. She was so warm and friendly. My boys loved the pool and we definitely stay there again on our next trip to Charleston.

Helpful?
Thank Aba L
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Our sincere thanks for reviewing your recent stay with family at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. I am thrilled to read that you truly enjoyed your visit. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to know that we have met your expectations. Thank you, especially for mentioning Ursula in... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I definitely recommend the Courtyard. It is clean,within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, city market, carriage rides, harbor cruise to Fort Sumpter. The staff was very friendly and helpful on places to visit. Very professional

Helpful?
Thank Holly G
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you so much for recommending us to future guests. We are delighted to read that you loved our convenient location and enjoyed the exceptional service from our staff. It is rewarding to see that your stay with us at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront earned us the highest rating. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you, and... More 

Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just returned from an annual boat trip from Conway, SC to Charleston, SC . We have stayed at this hotel in the past so of course, had to stay here again. Another great time. Hotel is clean and well kept. As hot as it is in South Carolina this time of year, the cooling towels as you walk into... More 

Helpful?
Thank ConwayGirlSC
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Welcome back! We are honored to have earned your repeat business and are so happy that we delivered another comfortable stay to you and your friends here at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We appreciate your wonderful comments about the special touch in our lobby and are glad you thoroughly enjoyed them. Thank you for your recognition of our efforts. Our... More 

Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First the good- the location for exploring Charleston is good, the staff is great and the beds are comfy. Now the not so good- the hotel feels tired. Our bathroom fixtures were very worn- the door had rust chips coming off the door, the sink and light fixtures had cracks, the sink stopper didn't work, and carpet needs replacing. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank gdsbcmp8
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for writing a review about your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the condition in which you found your guest room and our hotel to be in. We take these concerns seriously and place great emphasis on maintaining a clean, healthy and safe environment for all of our guests. I have addressed... More 

Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I felt a bit let down by a few parts of my experience, but the most frustrating was with the shuttle service. It is communicated that the shuttle service is at the top and bottom of each hour, but every time I tried to utilize the service, the shuttle was nowhere to be found. Uber was the way to go.... More 

Helpful?
Thank W H
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry to hear that our shuttle service and schedules soured your otherwise great experience here. We pride ourselves on offering exceptional service so I'm sorry that you did not experience us at our best. I have addressed your concerns... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped into this hotel with no reservations on a last minute trip. I will admit the Courtyard wasn't my first choice as I preferred a more contemporary property or something ranked higher in Charleston but everything was booked. However, I was quite pleased and satisfied with our experience. I thought it was a great location within walking distance to... More 

Helpful?
Thank A_girl_from_the_south
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks for staying at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, and for giving our hotel a great review. We are thrilled to read that our beautiful location was to your liking and that you loved your spacious accommodation. It is also pleasing to know that you enjoyed the great value we offer. We appreciate you being our guest and look forward to... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed during a medical procedure at MUSC. Facility very clean and hotel staff very accommodating. Discount for MUSC patients and free shuttle service to and from MUSC. Four instead of five stars because there isn't a full service restaurant or cafe for meals. Limited breakfast and dinner service. Which would be fine unless you are confined to hotel for medical... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront during the medical procedure and for the feedback provided. We are glad that your overall visit was pleasant. Thanks for being our guest, and we look forward to your next stay! We wish you a speedy recovery. Sincerely, Mark Thomas General Manager More 

Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First of all what a great city, we love Charleston... The people, the quality and variety of restaurants, the historic district, the overall vibe of this place is outstanding. We chose a hotel by Marriott because you know what to expect...most of the time...this hotel is tired, rooms need a whole lot of renovation. The overall appearance, from parking, elevators,... More 

Helpful?
Thank SFBeachgoer
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review of our hotel and our lovely city. We're sorry you were disappointed with your accommodations. We agree there are areas within the hotel which are beginning to show their age and are not quite up to our brand standards. We will share your feedback with... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a recent trip to Charleston we stayed at the Marriott Courtyard at the 35 Lockwood Dr. location. This hotel is not downtown but we had a rental car which only took us around 5 minutes to drive downtown. But the location of the hotel right on the water was worth it. The view of the harbor was beautiful. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank skitom
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are pleased you loved our convenient location which was perfect for your needs and that you were impressed with the view from your room. It is also great to read that you liked our on-site restaurant, outdoor pool and your well-equipped accommodation. We appreciate you recommending us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

356 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (170)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Partial Water View 2 Queen Larger Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Waterfront King Guest Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $168 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay